We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,234: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

To my surprise this friendly, well designed and efficient hotel is the best I've stayed at for 'business' in the U.K. Terrific breakfast, good gym facilities and pool and the friendliest of staff. My room overlooked the river and had a view of the cathedral. It was clean and spacious. The dinner could have been better but the chef was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biblioswiss
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is in a good quiet location next to the river; short walk to the town centre. Rooms are large, modern, comfortable and pretty well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. A couple of simple improvements would have improved things. Given the room rate, I don't think a parking charge for residents is justifiable - not a fortune (£8/night) but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walkman121
United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location in Durham, just a 5 minute walk to the centre... we arrived early, but the rooms weren't ready until 2 so left our luggage in their luggage store. Room was very clean with everything you could need for a nights stay. Car parking is available for £8 per night. Only issue we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m2017s
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I visited this hotel a couple of years ago and did actually make a complaint to the hotel at the time. I visited the hotel for a conference and they didn't book everyone in for the second night. Despite being one of the lucky ones who was still booked in, my room was changed without me knowing. I went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Katie, We appreciate you writing your review. We are glad you liked the restaurant and enjoyed your meals while at the hotel. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay and for the disappointing service you received during your visit. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and giving us this opportunity to improve our...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This review relates specifically to the leisure facilities. The pool area and changing rooms are now in a state of disrepair. There are broken tiles, and stained ceilings and floors throughout. After a workout or swim, male visitors have the option of a cold shower (dial has been fitted incorrectly) in the only private cubicle or in the communal shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigphilw
CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We regret to hear you were disappointed with the cleanliness and condition of the leisure facilities, including the showers and changing rooms. We value your feedback and have passed your comments on to hotel management to review.

Derby, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights last weekend, and I was very happy with the experience. Check in (and out) was efficient, the room was spotless and comfortable, and the breakfast was really very good. Some nice touches: they must have noticed that I had used both tea bags in my room, so they gave me a few extra when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattfromDerby
Management response:

Dear MattfromDerby, Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you found our team to be friendly and helpful throughout your visit, and were able to deal with your queries and issues in a timely manner. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy the facilities we have available for...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good clean hotel with nice views if you have a room at the front. Housekeeping top up toiletries each day. Fridge in room but no bottled water which I would expect for the price. Breakfast is buffet style but hot food is a bit rubbery after sitting out a while. I opted for the smoked salmon and fresh fruit which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillianElsa
Management response:

Dear GillianElsa, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, unfortunately the hotel does not offer complimentary water within our standard rooms. I am pleased to hear you found something within our breakfast buffet suitable for you, however I am sorry to hear you did not find other items to our...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked an overnight stay in December. It's the second time we've stayed at this hotel. We stayed in business class the room was very spacious and comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful especiallt Bill the maintenance man who fixed our bathroom light. The pool facilities are very good and breakfast excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chalwhick
Management response:

Dear Chalwhick, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the team to be friendly and helpful throughout your visit, Thank you for the special mention to Bill our Engineer. Please be assured that your very positive feedback has been passed over to the team and personally to Bill....

Howden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight on business after it was recommended by colleagues. Whilst not the easiest hotel to find or access, once I had located the car park and guest entrance it was fine. Friendly staff and large comfortable rooms are a bonus. Pleasant views out over the river and easy pedestrian access into Durham centre all add to the package....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
Management response:

Dear jaspandsal, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found out location to be suitable for your needs while in Durham. I am sorry to hear you had difficulty finding the hotel, however very pleased to hear it was worth it once you arrived. I look forward to welcoming...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good hotel with good facilities (pool and sauna) and services. The staff at breakfast were very efficient and friendly and the breakfast food was excellent with plenty of choice. Easy access into Durham, but in a quiet area. Value for money for the price too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSD78
Management response:

Dear RSD78, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the team at breakfast to be friendly and helpful. I am very pleased to hear you found the hotel good value for money. Please be assured that your very positive feedback has been passed over to the team. I...

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.3 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,885 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.9 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometers away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant serves dinner with a variety of international and regional cuisines. Choose from sizzling steaks, British favorites or a great burger. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 450 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: €87 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham England
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel Durham staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Winsford, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view definitely preferable to the rear view over the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Walkman121, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor and river view, but expect to be charged for it!”
  • Broken shower
  • Broken tap and dirty sink
 of 5 bubbles Bigphilw, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I'd definitely ask for a room on the river side, for the view. But only if you don't mind a bit of traffic noise from the road outside.”
 of 5 bubbles MattfromDerby, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room front facing”
 of 5 bubbles GillianElsa, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Little expensive but loved it”
 of 5 bubbles AllysonC247, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay