We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Durham City Centre

PremierInn.comUS$90*
View Deal
#2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Durham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,481: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is close to the station and right in the heart of Durham City so is perfect for sightseeing. The room was clean and comfortable and all staff l encountered were friendly and pleasant. Reliable and trusty, just what you would expect from a Premier Inn. Good value for money too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mishy75
bicester, oxfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here to visit Sedgefield Racecourse. It was a great location to tour the city. Although it might seem inaccessible to disabled users on Google Earth, there are lifts available to take you up to street level. The Hotel was pleasant and friendly with rooms accommodated with the norm. We ate there on the first night but the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ginmonkey
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel staff was excellent from check in to check out. I had never heard of Premier Inn's until this visit to the UK, but found the facility to be all that I needed for the short time I was in Durham.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samuel S
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very clean & friendly hotel close to the city centre. Although the car park isn't part of the hotel, discount is available at the reception. Just a few minutes walk to the market square & 10-15 minutes walk to the cathedral.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated in the city centre near to bars, restaurants & shops. Very good standard of accommodation as with all premier inns, always immaculately clean. Public car park just out the back but this comes at an additional cost.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jan s
wrexham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for 2 nights over a weekend we had room 308 which overlooked nightclub as many people have commented on . Fri night was ok but was very noisy on sat night we complained and got refund on sat nights stay which was fair enough not a lot the hotel can do about the noise . Just a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nipsWrexham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored Durham. The staff are very helpful and very friendly, nothing was to much trouble. The room was very clean, warm and cosy. The bed was so comfortable. It was also very quite. We had breakfast which was very good with lots to choose from. The hotel is situated about a 10...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janebS7814VV
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Durham on a Saturday night in April 2017. The hotel is easy to access, close to the city centre and there is nearby charged parking. Check in was quick and easy, and we had a couple of drinks in the small bar. The room was typical Premier Inn, extremely comfy bed, reasonably sized bathroom with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneGraeme
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being a regular user of this company we found this one to be dated and tired looking. Our initial reception for our pre booked 3 night stay was rather cool and clinical but the request for a high floor room was met but unfortunately was located on the side adjacent to a very popular retail outlet consisting of bars and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esky60
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's such a shame your stay fell below the usual standard you've experienced with Premier Inn and you decided to end your stay sooner than planned. As we always want our guests to enjoy all aspects of their stay it's very disappointing you had issues with your key card...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is typical Premier Inn.The food is good, a small bar to relax in and rooms up to standard. HOWEVER,the nightclub nearby fired up at 10:30pm and kept me awake till 3am when it shut!! Not such a good night sleep guaranteed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
Accessible Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
8.4 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,010 reviews
4.3 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: €79 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn
Premier Inn Durham City Centre England
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Durham City Centre staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Durham City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quite, our friends had a room on the first floor and we had one on the second floor and they were both very quite.”
janebS7814VV, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were room 227, didn't get disturbed by local nightclub”
JaneGraeme, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look for Upper floors overlooking river”
473DavidC, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to back of hotel. Apparently there is a nightclub near by so some rooms may be noisey. We did not experience this.”
mullenanne, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms ar rear, particularly 2nd floor, can be incredibly noisy at night if there are any events on at the venue that backs on to the hotel.”
MACreadie26, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
PremierInn.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
Elvoline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates