We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Angel Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 780: English reviews
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I am new to Trip Advisor hence the delayed review! My partner and I ate here last June on a day trip out in Bowness. We had 3 courses all very tasty- The lamb with Quinoa, Broad Beans and Peas especially.... Very Yummy!!!! The bill came to around £80 for 2... Not too sure whether this was reasonable or a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bexster_93
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bexter_93, welcome to the world of tripadvisor. Thank you for leaving us a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

cumbria
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at The Angel regularly for 10 years. The food is always freshly prepared, well presented and served with a smile. Tonight's meatball starter was lovely and a good sized portion. The mushroom risotto was equally tasty. Followed it up with the salted caramel chocolate brownie with chocolate sauce, vanilla ice cream and honeycomb. Highly recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elvisaaron
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoy the food so much that it brings back to The Angel year after year. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

cheshire, uk
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a Sunday night in the Angel Inn in Bowness at the beginning of March. The pub is lovely and welcoming with an open fire and comfy seating as well as a restaurant area. The rooms are comfortable, though there was a lot of door banging in the morning from other guests which was a bit annoying but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoppyCheshire
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and yes you are right, to book a room at The Angel Inn you can only do so through our own website angelbowness.com or over the phone 015394 44080. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Angel Inn with friends for her birthday. We booked in on Friday afternoon, the room, room 1, was large with a huge ensuite. I had asked for flowers in the room, which the hotel had arranged without an issue. We sat in the lounge area on Friday night near to the open fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenie1978
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry about the hot water we did investigate further and the problem has now been fixed. We are glad this did not dampen the rest of your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We called in at the Angel, and as usual it was busy but we were able to get a table to eat. We ordered 4 meals, which all came without a long wait, were well presented, and enjoyed by us all. The drinks were good too!!!! Always call in at the Angel when we are in Bowness, and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentpers0n
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you on your return visit very soon.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We first came have when it was called something else. We have been many times usually in March our Anniversary we have never been disappointed. We eat in the restaurant in the evening. My only moan is that the bathroom was tiny. The staff are brilliant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean lee l
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jean, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped of after a days walking with our dog. Pleasant atmosphere friendly greeting. Ordered a steak ale pie and five cheese board. Service was quick food was good. The only down side was there could have been few more crackers on the cheese board . Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable meal. Would go again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mike, we are very happy you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Awful experience. Owners are downright rude. Everything overpriced and poor quality. Toilets could do with a good clean. Will never visit again . Was looking forward to lovely lake district break in Bowness, hoping for a comfortable stay but utterly disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suehomeopath
TheAngelInnBowness, Owner at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Normally we thank people for their reviews but on this occasion we believe that this is not a genuine review. We have no record of this person staying and as the owner I can say that I am not rude and have in fact been on holiday so have not even had the chance to be. Our quality is of...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We came here for tea on a wet and windy Tuesday evening and were given a table straight away (the restaurant was probably quieter than normal due to the bad weather ). We sat in the main restaurant area as they provided table service here opposed to sitting in the bar area - it was decorated really nicely. We both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jess Thank you for take the time to write this review. We are very happy you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again soon.

Meols, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Set in a brilliant location just minutes from the lake and all restaurants and bars nearby. I've stayed in quite a few of the hotels in Windermere and this has to be the best in my opinion. Staff very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Rooms and furnishings finished to a very high standard. After walking all day you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alden50
TheAngelInnBowness, Front Office Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alden50, we are very happy you had such a great stay with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,774 reviews
0.5 km away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.4 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
1.4 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,444 reviews
1.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €76 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 is easily ( one flight of stairs) accessible and newly refurbished”
Cymru195, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try the Executive Suite - worth every penny!”
  • View from executive suite window
DM262014, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't let our "budget" rating put you off, the rates are low , particularly for the Lakes, but the quality is mid to high range”
866alanm, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 11, very quiet, nice view”
elainef322, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“food only visit”
lakes99, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5