We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Storrs Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Storrs Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 560: English reviews
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night sleepover between Christmas and new year. Checked in at 2:00pm but room wasn't ready ! when we eventually got in the room it was lovely with a lake view. Room did not have any information about the coffee machine haha and hotels restaurants so we went into bowness to eat. Breakfast next morning was taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itellthetruth81
StuartL8, Operations Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear Itellthetruth81, Thank you for your 5 star review. It was a pleasure to welcome you between Christmas and New Year. I have shared your review with the Team who are equally delighted with your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best Wishes, Stuart.

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff were a delight, room was huge and grand and the gardens to die for. Drinks were a bit expensive but as you can justify it when your sat out in the gardens watching as the sun sets over the lake, glorious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mentalmick
StuartL8, Operations Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear Mentalmick, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read that you found the staff to be a 'delight' and 'the gardens to die for'. We hope to see you soon. Best Wishes, Stuart.

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very impressed with the building and its location, however we were not so impressed with our stay at this hotel. We occupied room 35 which had a lake view. The room was in desperate need of refurbishment which was disappointing given the price. Dinner at £52 per head was off the wall and so were the bar prices....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steve G
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear Steve G Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay. We are currently refurbishing room 35. I am sorry that you felt our food and drink prices were too high, our prices are competitive for the local market against similar hotels and restaurants. I am sorry...

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely warm and elegant hotel. Set in lovely grounds on edge of the lake with beautiful views. Well decorated throughout with lovely Lounges and sitting rooms with log fires. The bedroom was well furnished with lovely thick bath towels, robes and and slippers. Coffee machine and tea making facilities. There was a comfy bar which did food as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 665renata
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear 665renata Thank you for your five star review of which I have shared with the team. I have taken your comments seriously concerning our food offering and are currently reviewing our menus. We look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs. Best Wishes Stuart Ward General Manager

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a stay and had a wonderful stay We were warmly greeted and settled into an oversized chair in front of a blazing wood fire whilst my wife checked us in, there were fires in all the public rooms and Christmas trees reaching up to the high ceilings We were in Room 5, a huge room with high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I was pleased to read that Stuart and the team looked after you well during your stay and that you enjoyed our food offering. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Stuart Ward General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning hotel in stunning location, beautiful room with superb decor and facilities, couldn't get my son out of the bath due to the TV. The staff and management were lovely, the 10 course taster menu in the hotel restaurant was fantastic, with great attention to detail and a top class breakfast. We loved our stay at this classy hotel, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stives67
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear Stives67 Thank you for your fantastic review and awarding us five stars. I was pleased to read that you found the team "lovely" and food was "fantastic" We look forward to welcoming you back in 2017 when you can try our new rooms. Best Wishes Stuart Ward General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning hotel in a fantastic location - right on the lake We stayed in the bridal suite which was exquisite with a stunning view of the lake from the window Bathroom was excellent could even watch tv in the bath Shower was amazing We had the 10 course taster menu with wine - fantastic experience The staff were all great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilacunningham
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear sheilacunningham Thank you for you wonderful review and your kind comments about the team and our food offering. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2017. Best Wishes Stuart Ward General Manager

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned home yesterday after a delightful stay at Storrs Hall, we will return!! When we arrived we were greeted pleasantly and quickly shown to our room. We stayed in room 6, wow!!!! Breathtakingly beautiful with views to die for,overlooking the lawn, bandstand and lake, what more could you want? A bathroom that was out of this world and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnahow
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear donnahow Thank you for your five star review it was a pleasure to welcome you to Storrs and the team and I were delighted to look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm Regards Stuart Ward General Manager

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was our third in as many years, this time in midwinter. Log fires burning and Christmas decorations added to the already wonderful atmosphere Storrs Hall has. The hotel continues to upgrade their rooms to a superb standard of comfort and style. Dinner tasting course was excellent but something went sadly wrong with breakfast albeit quickly and kindly corrected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TigerMoth747
StuartL8, Operations Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear TigerMoth747, Thank you for returning to Storrs for the 3rd time in as many years. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that your breakfast issue was remedied quickly. Best Wishes for the New Year. Stuart.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would first like to say that my partner and I stayed here in 2014, and immediately fell in love with the place. We loved the place so much that last year I brought my partner here to propose. As this hotel has brought many happy memories for us, we wanted to come back this year. Unfortunately our stay this...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MrDBuckley
Stuart W, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review

Dear MrDBuckley Thank you for your detailed review, I am little concern with some of the comments as on Sunday when you stayed with us. We didn’t have any building work or builders onsite. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations and understand the team on duty did all they could to ensure your had an enjoyable stay....

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.9 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,697 reviews
4.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,279 reviews
1.5 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
907 reviews
4.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €109 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Storrs Hall staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Merseyside
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Storrs Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room with a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles Itellthetruth81, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles Mentalmick, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room when booking”
 of 5 bubbles 996steveg, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms were worth it. Lot of stairs and no lift but large easy staircases.”
 of 5 bubbles 665renata, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bridal suite”
 of 5 bubbles sheilacunningham, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay