We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windermere Hydro Hotel

Hotels.comUS$165*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$208*
US$165*
US$208*
US$164*
US$208*
US$164*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Panoramas (53)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windermere Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 854: English reviews
runcorn
Reviewed 8 May 2016

hotel is in a very good location for the lakeside activities local restaurants and bars plentiful the staff are so pleasant very helpful and always ready to assist you in any way the manager is exceptional going that extra mile for all the residents.the bar staff also very good and the reception staff excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanandderek
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joanandderek Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. Myself and my staff enjoy going that extra mile to ensure that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Hydro. I hope that we will...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We visited here after reading good reviews but on arrival.were told we couldnt book in unti 3 even though we were asked what time we would arrive hotel was very quiet not a lot of staff about room was clean but thats about threadbare carpets throughout there is lots to choose from roundabout it would be a shame for this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine M
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine M Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that we were unable to provide you with an early check-in on this occasion. Since purchasing the hotel, we have identified a number of areas for improvement and are just finalising plans for a significant investment into the hotel including the full refurbishment of rooms and the front...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Booked the Hydro Hotel at Short Notice for a 2 night Birthday Surprise treat for my partner, Great location over looking the Lake, room quite good for price but might be best to check direct with hotel rather than go through online links due to having a £20 + charge added when going through to check out online, Had £...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve C
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve C Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and agree our view of the lake is wonderful and our location is perfect for visiting Bowness on foot. The refurbishment works have yet to be completed, I hope that you will visit us again when it...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Just arrived. Bed knackered, wall paper hanging off the walls... There isn't even a full toilet roll and even the bed lights don't match. I've complained and there are no other rooms available. In short avoid this place, unfortunately for me I'm here for two nights. Wish I'd looked here before I booked.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DanGrimshaw330
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DanGrimshaw330 I am sorry that your recent stay at The Hydro did not meet your expectations and rest assured your comments have been fully noted. Since purchasing the hotel, we have identified a number of areas for improvement and are just finalising plans for a significant investment into the hotel including the full refurbishment of rooms and the front...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were very happy with the location , the views of the lake, the cleanliness, decor and the size of the rooms. A special mention to the Indoor swimming pool and the sauna and gym which are open until 9pm. The only drawbacks are that the room walls, flooring and ceiling are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roma M
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roma M Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay and that you found time to use our leisure facilities. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed by the sound of voices and movement from the room above. I will look into...

Reviewed 2 May 2016

Had afternoon Tea in the bar area with friends. The sofas and chairs were in places threadbare and didn't look particularly clean. The Italian man who served us was very friendly and polite. The afternoon tea had finger sandwiches, cakes and scones along with tea and coffee. Nothing else to say really. Not spectacular and only just value with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine S
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine S Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit for afternoon tea. I am sorry that your visit was spoilt by the weather and note your comments regarding the seating in the bar area. A refurbishment of the public areas will be commencing very soon. I hope you will visit us again in the future...

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed at the Windermere hydro for the weekend with friends. I love this hotel the location is fantastic and the view of the lake and surrounding hills are breathtaking. We had a lake view room which is a must ! Our room was lovely with a big corner bath and a good shower. The bed was really big and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen63heath
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karen63heath Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and agree that the views from the hotel are breathtaking. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Joe

Nr Lancaster
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Lovely afternoon tea on a horrible cold wet day. Clotted cream with scones , 2 sorts of jam, little pastries and beautiful cakes. 3 sorts of tasty sandwiches. Lovely staff looked after us. A pot of tea each .Rain turned to snow and then sunshine so we could enjoy the view too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth G
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth G Thank you for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed visiting for afternoon tea and hope that you will visit us again very soon. Best wishes Joe

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed with a group of friends last weekend. The hotel is a little tired and could do with some modernising. Having said all of that, bearing in mind we were paying £30 a head, you can't really expect too much. The staff were very good and the rooms were clean. They were even good enough to allow me to move...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bendowsett
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bendowsett Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. I hope that you will visit again very soon. Best wishes Joe

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Fortunately only staying here for one night and then moving on to the Lakeside hotel. This place is in a bad state I'm afraid to say. It's shabby and run down. Our room smells like it's either had years of people smoking in it or it was once used as a hospice. Everything in here just feels dirty and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel G
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel G I am sorry that your recent stay at The Hydro did not meet your expectations and rest assured your comments have been fully noted. I take all reviews seriously and would like to discuss your experience with you please contact me at joe@thehydro.co.uk or telephone me on 015394 44455. Best wishes Joe

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Accessible Room (20)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Tower Suite (36)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
321 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,800 reviews
0.5 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
557 reviews
1.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €80 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Windermere Hydro Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure the room is actually fit for purpose before booking, a given usually but sadly but not here.”
yorkshiretea, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Be aware that your experience could be affected by the renovations”
SLBooth, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 177? Is a must!”
ralphh895, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a lake view for that special moment.”
  • Sorry about the rain!
JohnCaryl, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don.t go off the photo s.”
hopo75, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$165* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$164
Hotwire.comUS$164
HotelQuicklyUS$208
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates