We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Dubai
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Positives: + good breakfast and service - although one of the waiters appeared to stressed when serving in the weekend when thee was a lot of people.  + great location 5 mins from that boat tours and 5-10 minutes from shopping and restaurant areas.. + helpful staff in general. + hotel offers some vouchers which you can use to obtain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayoub W
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We always like guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations We are a little confused at your comment re instructions on Booking.com, this only told us how old your children were,and how many . As our rooms are situated in the grounds of the...

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed here to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and could not have chosen better. From the four poster bed, balcony, swivel/ recline armchairs with footstool in our room, to the excellent food we felt truly spoiled. Breakfast was a feast with fresh fruit platters, yogurts cereals, seeds, and delights such as eggs benedict, royale and florentine, or a hefty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomirman
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay special stay, and how much you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We hope that you will come back and visit us again

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I loved my stay here. Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of cooked food (great sausages!) and particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit selection. Staff were very friendly. I was staying on my own and they made me feel very comfortable and welcome.The gardens were pretty and restaurant clean and welcoming. I had a very nice dinner one night. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arebis
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is always good to read that you enjoyed your stay. We were sorry that you trapped your finger in the door, the fire doors do have to have strong closers fitted to them. We have taken on board your comment about having something in the shower, which we are looking at for as you...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

This is a nice hotel, the rooms were clean and warm, the bedding and beds very comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast variety was excellent, but, we didn't realise on booking that some of the rooms are in separate blocks away from the house. This was OK except that we got wet from the rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review All of our rooms are within the grounds of the hotel and it does mean walking to the main house for meals We did have a strip of paper that needed to be repaired, which was done by our decorator which needed a special glue so it would adhere back in place. We do hope...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Five mins walk to Bowness so no need to use car.Room no 17 overlooked the garden and has a balcony.Food especially breakfast fantastic and highly recommended.Staff very friendly and cleaned the rooms to a high standard.Only complaint that decor in the bathroom looked a little tired.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 200john16
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to read that you thought the bathroom was a little tired, thank you for your review and your lovely comments on the food and staff

Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stopped here for a weekend in August 2015 and were very satisfied. We stopped in one of the garden chalets which we found very comfortable. Ours had en-suite facilities. Everything worked well in the room although possibly due to thunder and heavy rain we did suffer some TV drop-out. There is sufficient parking for residents only but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plankspanker100
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and for letting us know of your stay with us. We have passed on your comments to the staff and hope you can visit us again

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Lovely location , very quiet, peacefull , short walk to bowness , and the lake, only down fall was bar prices, a Black Russian and a double brandy 17.50. I think not, I would stay again but definetly would not use the bar, But on the positive side. There are some lovely bars in bowness itself that are well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaun S
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We do hope we will see you return to stay again, most of our spirits are £4.00 per shot, so this type of drink can add up to be expensive

Reviewed 19 August 2015

员工素质和对顾客的诚信很差。我们刚入住的房间门锁不能锁,卫生间的门竟然刚刚粉刷过,用手一擦都是白的,房间味道很大,卫生间也不能通风。房间面积也很小。我们提前半个多小时到达了酒店,酒店说要等到2点才能让我们check-in,因为房间还没有收拾好,我们就出去逛了逛吃了午饭,回来后就给我们准备了这么一个房间。我们就到前台和工作人员交涉,有两个接待人员,一个说她不知道这个房间刚刚粉刷,另一个听完我说房间味道大,还掉漆,就轻描淡写地说,是的,那个房间刚刷过,会有味道。然后我质问,你明明知道这个情况为什么没有提前告知我们,尤其是我妈妈对涂料会过敏,这种情况是置消费者的生命于危险中。这个员工就辩驳说,是因为前一个旅客把门弄坏了,我们也没办法。言下之意就是要我们给之前旅客的过失买单。经过交涉,酒店开始只是同意给我们调整一个晚上,说第二天门干了就要我们再换回去。之后又说如果不同意,第二天就只能换到别的酒店。我们为了这个旅行提前近两个月就订了这个酒店,他们对消费者的这种态度实在很不负责。最后我们说要把真实情况写在网上,不论最终结果如何。他们才在反复商量后给我们换了一个比较舒适的家庭房间。前前后后耗了2,3小时,对于湖区游览的心情也因此大打折扣。第二天,前台在早饭后悄悄喊住我们,给了一盒雀巢巧克力作为“补偿”,虽然我们一再拒绝。退房的时候我们最后还是将巧克力退还给她们了。我们去过那么多欧洲的国家,住过从青旅到五星的酒店,这种情况还是第一次见到,对于她们的态度和诚信我们表示极大的不满和遗憾! very poor staff quality and integrity. they checked-in us in a room which the room door cannot be locked, bathroom door just painted, the paint’s still wet and all the room was very smelly. We arrived half an hour in advance, the hotel told us that we needed to wait until 2:00 for check-in because the room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alessandra L
officebh, General Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay at the Burn How. We pride ourselves on our customer care. The customer is always our prime consideration. Looking after our guests is paramount. We tried our very best to be helpful and we did manage to change and upgrade your room for your entire visit at no...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

A wonderful 3 night stay from 07-10/08/2015.we arrived to a warm welcome,and taken to our room this was a good size with a large very comfortable bed.Our room also had a large bathroom with shower,our room was equipped with a kettle tea,coffee ext,hair dryer,trouser press,ironing board,alarm clock.the balcony over looked the rose garden this is surrounded by well kept pine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bill d
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How in the future, thank you for your lovely comments and the through description of the hotel

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Paid for a superior room and it was nice having the balcony. Bedroom decor lovely but the bathroom could do with updating for that price. Breakfast was excellent- both for variety and quality. All staff were really pleasant and helpful. Just a few minutes walk to the bats and restaurants so ideal location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments on the room

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
885 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,657 reviews
1.1 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,258 reviews
0.3 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €94 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for room called BAY”
 of 5 bubbles 390gl, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we were in 18 which had the most comfortable recliner chairs”
 of 5 bubbles keithmG8644HF, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles astrospike, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The old house is romantic; the cottages are better for families”
 of 5 bubbles Dukesnyder, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i would say room looking over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles barbaras406, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay