We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Traveller (814)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (108)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
3,282Reviews
1,134Photos
38Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,335
  • 950
  • 534
  • 269
  • 195
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I think its valuable to commend establishmments not just when excellent or poor but also based on how they resolve issues for their guests. We were dissapointed with the room allocation on arrival. We met with the manager the following morning who took on board our
Read more
Myself and a friend went to this hotel and spa for my birthday. We both had a facial which was amazing. The staff were lovely and were more than happy to do anything for you. It's got such a lovely feel to it and we found it had lots of character. The only complaint is having
Read more
We stayed over the weekend of the 12/13th January on a spa break for my girlfriends birthday. On arrival we were greeted by the surprising news that the hotel car park costs £20 per day! This was not mentioned when we booked and is well over priced. The hotel try to justify this
Read more
This was a special birthday celebration over Christmas Eve break. Staff were very attentive from the moment of arrival. Every aspect from the reception to room cleanliness to breakfast and fine dining experience was without complaint. It is a bit of a splurge, but well worth it.
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Eldialegre Wonderful to read you both had a great stay at the Old England & Spa. Sounds like you had a great experience and I know the team will be pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebration. Sorry we were unable to offer treatments on Christmas day but we have a great selection to chose from and you could also try the two bed treatment room if you wish when you return. We look forward to seeing you in 2019. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
We have been visiting this hotel with family for some time now, whenever we come we are always a big group, we have never had any major problems. I am not a fussy person or a problem maker. however on this occasion i feel that i should leave a review so that change can be made.
Read more
Response from General M, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 391shez Thank you for your review. I was very concerned to learn of the detail you highlighted and surprised as this is abnormal from our interest in always taking care of our guests through service and friendly hospitality as seen on many reviews through the years. I understand there was a genuine misunderstanding and knowing the person you mentioned he has always offered the best of service to guests staying at the hotel. Please be rest-assured that I will be following this up internally and thank you for your comments. Yours sincerely Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
The Suite at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
The Suite at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
The Executive Room at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
The Classic Room at the Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
PreviousNext
12345671
We only stayed overnight and was charged £20 so not sure if it is per day. Ensure your bill is correct when departing as it has taken nearly 4 weeks and Many phone calls to receive a credit from them.
2 votes
Show all answers
Take the turning from bowness towards Ambleside and there is a car park opposite the Beartrix potter museum for £15 for 3 days. It’s only a 10 Minuets walk from the hotel. Much better value than the rip off they charge.
1 vote
Show all answers
Can you use the spa for free pool and gym not treatments
Yes you can.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there any other parking apart from the £20 valet parking service you provide? Thanks.
There is a car park up the hill, approximately 5 mins walk from the hotel. It was full when we were there recently but I think you can reserve places on line, I believe it is about £15:00 for 3 days.
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this hotel have a steam room and sauna?
Yes, it has a steam room and sauna but no jacuzzi. Nice pool too!
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234568
"Lake view is right on the lake"
"Kings Suite for lake views"
"Go for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor towards the left hand side of the hotel if you want a lake view"
"Must book a lake view"
"If you want a lake view then do not book room 312"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$135 - US$347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel macdonald old england
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing