We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,284: English reviews
Baildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You cannot fault the location, the views, the service and the decor. The wifi was poor in our particular room and that ordinarily would be my only criticism. We have been twice before in January and we shall return again next year without a doubt. My only other criticism is nothing to do with the hotel and something they can...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nick W
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear Nick W Thank you for your review and your kind words. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I have passed your feedback to our staff who will be delighted to read it. Here at Belsfield staff is our greatest asset and I am happy and proud that we have met and exceeded your...

jasethetravelagent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed this weekend and had a fabulous time here. Staff were pretty amazing and the hotel is excellently located and a pleasure to stay in.. Knocks socks off the Mcdonald hotel (as we took a look inside there too). Cant thank the staff enough, professional, polite and went out of their way to help with every need. Top notch!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasethetravelagent
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear jasethetravelagent It is lovely to read such a nice review! Thank you for your feedback - I am very happy to learn that we have met your expectations and you had a fantastic stay. I have passed your comment to our teams and I look forward to your next visit in very near future. Best regards Bartosz Kowalski Deputy...

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is an amazing hotel with a beautiful view. The toilet even cleans/drys you! The dinner is amazing and the decor is mind-blowing especially if you're a Laura Ashley fan as I am then this is your dream hotel. My only criticism is the hotel is quite warm, possibly due to all the chandeliers as they may contribute to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solomon-Stewarts
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear Solomon-Stewarts Thank you for leaving such a nice review. I am very happy to read that you had a great stay. The Belsfield hotel is decorated thoroughly by Laura Ashley and this together with superb location, great service and fantastic food - makes it perfect place for weekend break, special occasion or longer stay. Thank you once again I...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I made the mistake of going ahead with the booking at this hotel after reading a number of reviews that this place was disappointing. It is indeed a very pretty hotel that one would dream of having the furniture and linens in their home. But beyond that, The Belsfield feels as though it was once a luxurious hotel that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S C
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear S C Thank you for your review. I am happy to read all the nice feedback, our location and the views are truly breathtaking and all the furnishing put together by Laura Ashley designer to create unique and fantastic place to stay. I would like to apologize for the shortfalls that you seemed to experience during your stay. We...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Just returned home after spending two nights at this beautiful hotel. The location must be the best in Bowness-on Windermere with spectacular views from our lake view room and from the restaurants and sitting areas. If you leave the hotel through the back door to the car park you are literally in the centre of Bowness, which is a lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear Christina W Thank you for your nice review. We are very fortunate to have a fantastic location in Lake District and we are all working very hard to match it with great food and outstanding service. Your comments are very appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back in near future! Kindest regards Bartosz Kowalski Deputy General Manager

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely place and stunning views, Let down by the afternoon tea. The sandwiches and cakes came as separate courses a bit different to other afternoon teas i have had. Good selection of sandwiches and liked the chorizo sausage roll as a change from a sandwich. The 'Cake' desserts were disappointing, i love a Victoria sponge however the cake itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyag25
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear staceyag25 Thank you for your feedback. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your visit and please accept my apologies for the small shortfalls during your afternoon tea. We are making all the cakes and scones ourselves and I will discuss your comments with our head chef. We are known for outstanding Afternoon Tea and I...

Birmingham
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We had high hopes for a weekend at this hotel. The staff could not be more friendly and courteous. A small issue with our stunning room was attended to straight away. The hotel is really beautiful and the views are wonderful. The hotel is very convenient for boat trips and the local shops. One of the best hotel stays we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMMBirmingham
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear LMMBirmingham Thank you for your lovely review! I am very happy to read that your stay was enjoyable and thank your for the nice words about our staff. Here at Belsfield staff is our pride and I have passed your feedback to all our teams. Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel...

aldosmyhero
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

First thing I would like to make clear in this review is how friendly & attentive the staff are here. Nothing is to much trouble for them & I think the receptionist who checked us in was just as pleased to give us a free upgrade as we were to receive it. The front of house team equally, they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aldosmyhero
Bartosz_Kowalski, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review

Dear aldosmyhero Thank you for your review. Firstly please accept my apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. I will look into your feedback and oversee / improve in mentioned areas as necessary. I would like to thank you for your nice words about our staff. I have passed your comments to all or teams who will be delighted to...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Delay in posting this review because I have just realised that my original review in November 2016 did not load... Stayed two nights at the Belsfield Hotel, Bowness-On-Windermere in November 2016. Stunning hotel in a superb position overlooking Lake Windermere with fabulous uninterrupted views from the terrace across the extensive gardens. We were so very lucky to have glorious sunshine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REHamps
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed here over a weekend in August and had a very relaxing weekend. The hotel is located in this lovely hill overlooking the lake. (The only thing missing is a SPA to complement this relaxing setting) We booked the lake view room but I must admit that we felt that it was not very spacious but It's a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanessas569

821 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (760)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (380)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,728 reviews
1.2 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,427 reviews
2.7 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
0.4 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €155 - €291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay for a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles 6PARADISE, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles 875carlm, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for the lake view rooms - they are certainly worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles SimonLeedsEngland, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lake view room number 67.”
  • Great hot water.great bath. nice toiletries.
  • Comfy bed. Great view. Nice having a brew in the window watching the tourists at the lake.
  • Nice Bathroom
  • Beautiful view from room 67.very quiet too.
 of 5 bubbles andipants67, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Paying for a view is def worth it!”
  • Fab bed.
  • Lounge area
  • Our room view
  • Bedroom
  • View
 of 5 bubbles missb821, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5