We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairfield Garden Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairfield Garden Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Garden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 294: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2013

From the moment we walk in nothing was to much trouble. Where we could park. Our room was lovely and clean. We had a welcome tray of tea biscuits proper mugs and even a teatowel. The bathroom was clean. We had plenty of space in our room, Breakfast were good, again nothing was to much trouble. Selections of cereals and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandie J
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

We are fortunate enough to have some rooms on the ground floor which helps those with mobility difficulties. If you need one just ask. On this occasion we were so pleased that the guest was not seriously ill, and though it turned out fine we were happy to do the right thing at the time. Tony

Bolton
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a welcoming stay over the weekend. Very clean room and comfortable, modern en-suite facilities. I would definitely recommend if anyone is staying in the Lakes. 200 yards down the road is the town of Bowness where there is plenty of restaurants and shops and Lake Windermere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jammie300
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind thoughts, we are very lucky to be so close to the centre of Bowness with all the restaurants and attractions it has to offer. Tony

Reviewed 13 April 2013

A wonderful stay with a great welcome by Tony and his staff. The confusion over booking was rectified straight away and we were upgraded to a 4 poster bedded room and the attic suite (2 couples)- very comfortable and warm. The breakfast was delicious-freshly prepared and a great variety according to taste. Definitely recommended-you will be well looked after!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keenarmo
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Great that we were able to sort things out. Even in the best places there are little slips, and it is so easy to put right when a guest cooperates, thank you. Tony.

redcar
Reviewed 8 April 2013

comfortable relaxing break. Very welcoming. Ground floor good as need to take dog out early. Good breakfast and service from Tony and staff. Dog not allowed into breakfast room but no complaints as sausage provided for him. Ideally situated in town and also dog walk..Dales way on end of road celia and adrian

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia E
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your compliments, we enjoy having friendly dogs, and hope they enjoy their stay with us too. Tony

Isle of Man
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Excellent place to stay and very good value for money. Tony and Liz were very welcoming. Standard room on the ground floor as we had a dog with us and we had our own entrance without having to go through Reception every time. Good room with nice view of the great garden. Fantastic breakfast and lovely to be able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxblack
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Wow, so glad that we were able to provide such an enjoyable stay for the customer. There is so much to see and do in the area, with or without a dog, and we love being part of it. Thanks.

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We were given an upgrade when we arrived to a room with 4 poster bed. Room not really big enough for 4 poster bed. Bathroom was nice but bath would have been very difficult for an elderly person to get into. Bedroom needed redecoration as wallpaper was coming off in places. Windows didn't look like they had been painted in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JanetD79
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

We are genuinely sad when we let down a customer, and would have liked to know they were not happy whilst they were here. We genuinely would like to know when that hapens so that we can try to put things right. We agree that any bath is difficult to get into for an elderley person, though quite often people...

Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Positive: Good, almost central location. On site car park Able to provide boiled eggs for breakfast (so many places dont!) Good service from Spanish waiter at breakfast Lovely garden Shower good (with the massage jets turned off) Plenty of hair/body washes Bathrobe & slippers in room Dvd player in room & dvds available to borrow Negative: We were offered an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sara w
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Ooh dear, we perhaps need to explain a little about upgrades as it can be a bit confusing. We make available Classic and Superior rooms on the booking sites, and have indeed offrered a free upgrade if the superior are available at the point of arrival. The customer in this case was offereed an upgrade to a Deluxe spa room...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just had 2 nights here on a living social deal which made it very good value for money and although it rained most of the time had a very nice stay. Tony met us on arrival, very friendly. Had the Penthouse which has seating area, double shower and spa bath, really nice room. Staff very friendly especially person who served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisE1757
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, we are quite lucky to have a great location close to the centre of the restauant area as well as the waterfront, but that little hill keeps us nice and quiet. We hope to see you back soon.

Medway
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just returned from a lovely break in the Lakes with my partner. We stayed in the Fairfield and enjoyed all aspects of this. The hosts were warm and friendly in particular Tony who went out of his way to ensure we were happy...he even cleared the snow from our windscreen in the morning... If you're looking for a quiet place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraMedway
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks to the guests for their kind words and we are glad they enjoyed their stay. Clearing the snow was a spur of the moment thing, I was out clearing the drive and it just seemed like a good idea. Hope to see you back. Tony

Manchester
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was our first experience of staying in a B&B guesthouse as appose to a hotel and it did not disappoint! Our experience was superb. We discovered the house after seeing a fantastic offer on Living Social so as a birthday treat we thought we'd give it a try. We were welcomed by Tony who was friendly and informative. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellintitch
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for such a glowing report, we do try our best to give our customers an enjoayable stay, and we really do appreciate it when they tell us it has all worked. We hope to see you back soon. Tony

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
549 reviews
0.2 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
675 reviews
0.3 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#23 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
0.5 km away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
524 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: €105 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairfield Garden Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe Rooms are the best”
Danniiw86, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only a small number of rooms but a range of options, check website for more info”
michaelb1950, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are taking a dog say so, not all rooms are suitable.”
Pamela8833, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe Room with spa bath and sleigh bed - perfect!”
CazzaBB, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was way too small for the room rate charged, not sure about any others”
stephentK1887EE, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates