We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Save
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I passed through ten days ago on a walking holiday - I have stopped there before. This is a very good country B&B in a most beautiful part of Cumbria. I was warmly greeted; the room was perfectly OK and the breakfast adequate. I think few people will be dissatisfied here. This is a working farm so please be prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AthosTA
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

A welcome sight at the end of a strenuous day on the Pennine Way, this was clean, comfortable and warm welcoming. I was the only guest and had a lovely ensuite room. The local pub, the Stag Inn has character and a great selection of ales. Breakfast was tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Dufton.

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Let's help put Brow Farm Dufton on the visiting map; Converted in 2003, a great place for a nap. With a choice of rooms this popular niche is comfortable and neat. We stayed two nights as we had various friends to meet. Spacious but not rambling with a dining area to suit; Midst the rolling hills of the Pennine Way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The room was very nice and clean and with a great view to the hills. My friend and I had forgotten to ask for a lunch to take on our hiking, but it was no problem for Wendy (host) who quickly made us a lovely lunch with sandwich, crisps and chocolate bars the next morning. Breakfast was very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Brow farm was fine for a one night stay. Greeting no problem, great food at the pub, room clean, breakfast fine. Dufton itself is a pretty little place and worth a visit. The Stag Inn is a good pub - check opening times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaacello
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We had a lovely clean and comfortable room with a bath, which is always good after a long day walking. The village pub doesn't serve food on a Monday, so Wendy very kindly gave us a lift to a pub in Appleby and picked us up later. Very good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoftSouthernJessies
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you. Glad you enjoy your time with us.

the moon
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Horrible, the bedding smelt, the mattress was very sunken, the room was covered in dust, and the toilet had not been cleaned. We let ourselves in as no one there when we arrived. I believe that this is the only B&B in Dufton beside the Youth Hostel which may explain the lack of any care taken. The cooked breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spacehopper9
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I do find your comments very rude and upsetting. Re: not being here when you arrived. I left a note on the door explaining I had to go and pick my son up from work (who isn't old enough to drive yet) and that I would be back by 5.45pm, which I was and I...

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Hair in sink, cobwebs in window, literally years of dust behind the beds, floor not cleaned. Front of draw fell apart when opened. Location lovely, can't complain about other things but the room made an impression. I wouldn't go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronshe
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

You have obviously been at another B&B as we cannot find a broken draw in any of the rooms.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We just stayed the one night. Someone was there to meet us and we were allowed to put out bags in the room early in the day before going on our walk. The room was clean and well presented with all the amenities we required. The view from the room was stunning. The room itself was warm, the bed comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanPP
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you and hopefully see you again some day :)

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Arrived after a long days walking to a less than warm welcome, a less than spotless room and left the following morning with a very mediocre packed lunch. Would plump for the Youth Hostel in the Village if staying in this area again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your room. At no point during your visit did you come to tell me you were not happy, like most people who like to complain about everything they wait till they get home and use trip advisor - which is very unfair on small businesses like ours. As for the "very mediocre...

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dufton, Appleby CA16 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Hotel Class:4 star — Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?