We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Huntsman of Brockenhurst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Huntsman of Brockenhurst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 354: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights mid week. Staff were extremely polite and friendly. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Restaurant gets very busy (even mid week) so make a reservation.Close to Brockenhurst Railway Station so very convenient if travelling by train. Brockenhurst village small but quaint. In easy travelling distance to Lymington, Lyndhurst and Christchurch and a number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie h
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Not booked but table prepared for us within minutes just after we got our drinks from the bar. Great atmosphere with attentive service throughout. Intimate table arrangments and trendy follwing a recent extensive refit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Huntsman of Brockenhurst on New Years Eve in the two bedroom family room. Overall the hotel was nice, the beds comfortable and staff friendly. However a toilet issue was most annoying. I believe this was because of a Sani-Flush system that was left exposed, was noisy and shook the floor. In fact it was so loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie11
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend as we were having a spa day nearby. Lovely hotel room with an extremely comfy bed & pillows, and a very nice shower! Although the bed was rather short in comparison to my 6"3 boyfriend - his feet and half his shins were hanging off the end! This didn't ruin his sleep though. We booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was taken here for a late Christmas present by my wife. The staff are very helpful and pleasant We was taken to our room by a member of staff which is a very nice touch as most hotels just tell you where to go. Also another nice touch is that they bring fresh milk to the room to use with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise with regards to the service your received in our restaurant and all your comments and feedback are appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time at the Huntsman. The food was lovely, good selection and value for money. Our only disappointment was that we were seated at the back of the restaurant in what appeared to be a room used for functions. There was a large party already in this room at a very large T shaped table, it looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 555lotty
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear your experience was not fully fulfilled. We take all the feedback very seriously and we will try to improve on it. I would really like to see you dining with us again. Many Thanks.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had lovely stay the rooms are modern and nicely decorated. We only stayed one night, but the breakfast was delicious. Our bedding had a few stains on it, which was a bit disappointing as it made the stay not so comfortable and we also had a few issues regulating the heating! The staff were really friendly and helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do apologise in regards to the bedding and heating. This will be brought to the attention of our housekeeping team, as we do take all feedback into consideration. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in the Mallard suite located in the main building. Check in was quick and efficient. The first noticeable thing was how cold the room was - the radiator was not on. We checked the rest of the suite which is a series of inter connecting rooms across the front of the building facing the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, Sorry if room was bit cold due to technical problems with cleaning heating system. Hope if you will be in area again you will pop in to spend great time with us.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this attractively refurbished restaurant at Sunday lunchtime. The menu isn't vast but offers something for everyone. Four of us ate and all enjoyed our meals and could see that other meals looked good too. Only criticism is the small car park necessitating roadside parking for us and many other diners. The staff were polite and friendly with a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nannaanna1
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased you had a great experience and enjoyed our Sunday Roasts. We look forward to your next visit.

Nottingham, UK
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Roe room which is in stable block at back of pub. Great modern decor of rooms and super clean, however really cold! Door to bedroom leads outside and needs some form of curtain to stop the icy December draft. The bathroom has no form of heating so was freezing, we left the shower running just to heat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uk_travel_girl
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback and we are delighted to let you know we are getting the issues you have raised dealt with. We would love to welcome you back and hope you have not been put off by the issues that let you down. We do hope we can welcome you back again.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.3 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
966 reviews
0.9 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,495 reviews
8.5 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,593 reviews
6.2 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Huntsman of Brockenhurst

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England (Formerly Rose and Crown)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Price Range: €104 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman of Brockenhurst 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Huntsman of Brockenhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Brockenhurst
The Huntsman Of Brockenhurst New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Huntsman of Brockenhurst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Huntsman of Brockenhurst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For people with mobility problems ask for a room in the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Mandy066, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to wake early get a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles MARTHACLEMATIS, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as far away from the extraction fan as possible”
 of 5 bubbles robertf378, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only viewed the room we stayed in”
 of 5 bubbles 340brucem, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the converted stable block and thought it was a good option.”
 of 5 bubbles Farnborough, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5