We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

678 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 678: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a weekend at The Kings Arms in Christchurch which we really enjoyed. The hotel is right in the middle of the town so easy to walk around the area. We were visiting family & friends some of which joined us for Sunday Lunch which was excellent. All the staff without exception were friendly & helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went for Sunday lunch, very pleasant surroundings,excellent staff, food very good, not large portions but came away feeling content. 3 course meal for £30, includes pre meal bloody Mary, unfortunately staff were not allowed to substitute,so if you don't like bloody Mary,you don't have a replacement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, its always a pleasure to receive such great feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Six of us went for lunch for the £30 for 3 courses and a Bloody Mary per couple deal. Restaurant was very busy, food was excellent, service very good. Only negative points were the strange choice of cocktail, at least half us did not like tomato juice but no substitution could be made. The most annoying point was that when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 282MrsD
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your lunch. I apologise that you were charged extra for gravy as this should not have happened, please be assured this has been addressed and if you would like to drop me an e-mail with your card details at nicolas.roulier@harbourhotels.co.uk I would be...

stafford,staffs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay for my birthday 8th January 2017. Staff amazing. Restaurant went out of their way to accommodate us with dishes not on the menu. Even baking my husband a fruit tarte for dessert. Also being offered an additional room nxt to ours in case we were disturbed by a private party taking place in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiddoStafford_staffs
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback, I am very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to passing your much appreciated comments onto the team. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely friendly unpretentious restaurant, lots of candles, mixed aged group. Excellent attentive service nice hot plates and first class food. In future I would personally go in to book our table phone messages are not always transferred to the bookings list. Also if you have disabled guests, speak to the hotel manager ahead of time to make certain a parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianah H
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love this hotel and very glad we found it in august spent two nights here this week we was saved a rear car park space for disabled given a gorgeous kings room at the front must say the traffic noise didnt cause a problem beds were so comfy .food is gorgeous tasty well presented the game pie was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa l
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you chose us to celebrate your 25th anniversary. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments onto the team. We all look forward to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice hotel very clean warm and comfortable Room was excellent housekeeping very good lovely warm clean towels every day all staff very friendly and helpful Breakfast was good but could be improved by adding cereal which isn't musilli based (not everyone likes this type of cereal) We booked the New Years Eve dinner in the restaurant was disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug +sheila J
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall but sad to hear you did not enjoy the New Years Eve dinner as we have had lots of great comments. However I have passed your comments onto the Executive Chef. We hope this has not deterred you from returning to visit us and we see you...

New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Christmas day luncheon....really lovely ambiance, buzzing atmosphere,the food was excellent in both quality and presentation particularly liked the artichoke soup and grilled fennel,service brilliant .....very accommodating on menu changes for 2 of us who did not want lobster dish......great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rapseeney
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas lunch with us. We hope you see you again soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I go here regularly for cocktails, the bar runs two happy hours,so cocktails are £5 each. The bar staff are very attentive and the cocktails are always lovely, the king storm is my favourite, I would always reccomend going here for drinks. However, I have recently eaten here twice, once with family and once with friends I ordered chicken liver...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaliyah R
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoy coming to us for your cocktails but sad to hear you have not enjoyed your meals with us. We take all constructive feedback seriously to make this does not happen to any future guests. Please let me know when you are next coming in for cocktails as I would...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here over the Christmas Holidays. The car park is round the back of the hotel and took a while to find. The gates are operated from reception, don't bother using the intercom as they didn't answer it on any of the occasions we used it. We had to ring reception for them to open it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ib1810466717
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I can only apologise for the negative experiences you received during your stay. I arrived as the new General Manager at The Kings in December and having read your review and observed these issues myself I am confident to...

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.2 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
625 reviews
4.7 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
3.4 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
282 reviews
6.7 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kings Arms Restaurant
The Kings Arms Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Price Range: €96 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have a wonderful outlook but could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Lotus19, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms face onto busy road, so can hear traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles ianf30, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the back if traffic noise disturbs you.”
 of 5 bubbles 136jennyf, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Probably want a room facing to the back of the hotel, for the quietest stay.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If there is a wedding or some other function happening, ask for a room as far away as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles deltahero, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay