We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fowey Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Fowey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fowey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,207: English reviews
Finedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Have just spent three nights here and can't wait to return again. Everything about the hotel was wonderful, super staff, always friendly and polite and full of local knowledge. The rooms are very good with wonderful views across the estuary. The whole stay was a great treat. Well done to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan N, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. I am flattered at your lovely feedback you have left for us. It is very rewarding to read that we have looked after you so well. I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to the team. Please do let me know if we can...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Hi, Stayed at the Fowey Hotel from Good Friday to Easter Monday. We had a horrendous journey down from south-east London 8.5 hours but got there and sat in the bar to detox and admire the moon over the Estuary before going out to the town centre to eat. The Fowey hotel is pretty unique as is the whole setting....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KevinLewisham
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KevinLewisham, Thank you for your recant review of The Fowey Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. It would seem that you really enjoy all that Fowey and the surrounding area has to offer. Many of our guests park up and do not move their car for the entire stay, I cannot...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2015

For a perfect treat in a wonderful part of Cornwall this hotel is unbeatable. Our three nights there were idyllic; the food is superb and the staff are efficient, friendly and informative. The approach to the hotel by car does not do justice to its interior, all of which has been designed with wonderful attention to detail. Spend some time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie S
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sylvie S, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. What a lovely review it is too, I am delighted to read that you both had a pleasant break with us. I am truly flattered at your opening line of the review, it really gives the team something to gloat about. I will be sure to pass...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We have just spent a long weekend at the Fowey and I am so pleased to be able to say that we were delighted to spend four nights at the hotel. We have stayed here previously and the hotel at that time was sadly lacking in many areas. However, the changes here have been immense and much improved. Before the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Severiorum
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Severiorum, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. Your review from top to bottom is an absolute delight, it is great to read that we looked after you so well during your four night break with us. Being pet friendly is just one of the small elements of service that we are pleased to maintain, at...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

My wife & I booked a long weekend and were absolutely delighted with our experience. The location & views were fantastic and every staff member was really friendly and helpful. Cant wait to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBunts46
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DBunts46, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. I am delighted to read that you both had a lovely stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your great feedback to the team. Please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance with a future visit to Fowey. We look...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

Despite difficult access and lack of parking, it's worth a stay for the fantastic views across the harbour. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive, room was comfortable. As others have said, definitely pay for the sea views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnasher_12
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gnasher_12, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. All car parking is pre bookable on a first come, first serve basis. The team do very well with managing all bookings and guest expectations of the car park. We are working on a new...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

After booking into a hotel in Cornwall on the net which turned out to be absolutely awful,we rang The Fowey Hotel for accommodation. From the first phone call the reception staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. They really gave the impression that they wanted to turn our holiday around; and they did. We were offered two rooms,a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindanStokeOnTrent, Thank you for you recent review of The Fowey Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely break with us. It is great that the team genuinely managed to make your holiday around for you both. I will be sure to pass on your very flattering feedback to the team. We look forward to welcoming...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Make sure you pre book a parking space & check that its a single space !! we did but it not been allocated when we arrived, although the staff did everything to help it was a bit embarrassing when we were then given a space which had someone else's name on it who had arrived shortly after us, they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flossie1959
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flossie1959, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. I am disappointed to see that we didn't quite get it right for you during your break with us. Parking generally does not cause the team any issues, we are at present working through a few bugs on our software. I would like to sincerely apologise for causing...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one. Superb food and a stunning location. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Our second visit. Planning the third one now!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve R, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. It is lovely to read that you had a great stay with us. Even better that you are already planning your third trip! I am delighted that the team looked after you so well during your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your...

Reviewed 10 April 2015

Great hotel with beautiful views across the sea. Wonderful original lift and decor throughout. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we will defiantly stay there again . Nice bit of old fashion service .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newplacestosee
Christopher B, General Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Newplacestosee, Thank you for your recent review of The Fowey Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to the team. please do let me know if I can be of any assistance with a future visit to Fowey. We look forward to...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
590 reviews
34.4 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,413 reviews
10.3 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
771 reviews
33.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Fowey Hotel Restaurant
Fowey Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Price Range: €102 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fowey Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida
5 months ago
canada
5 months ago
South Wales
10 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Fowey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105, sea view is our favourite”
 of 5 bubbles johnbC9158FS, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If available, seaview rooms are worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles SomersetMedic, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book car park in advance and eat somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles KentRatchet, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room, the view is stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles bigal840, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles LordMayorCWorthy, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay