We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had made reservations at this hotel and on arrival found 3 coaches arriving at the same time. This was the second Crerar hotel in as many nights - the other being the Ben Wyvis in Strathpeffer. After an awful experience at the Ben Wyvis we hoped this one would be better. What a difference a day makes. No complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George D
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

fort-william
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at the craiglynne in grantown a lot of times over the years and happened to be looking to go away for my friends birthday last month when I seen they were having the Rod Stewart tribute night on we booked for two night (2couples) we can really say we had a brilliant night the dinner before the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gran210
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and the entertainment we had organised, I have pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel. Please keep in touch with us direct to find out about our up...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the whisky festival. Had dinner on the 1st night, really nice and staff very attentive. Breakfast good. Only problem I had was because I had my dog with me obviously only select rooms, the room I got was so small I had to put the chair in the wardrobe to make room for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback from our guests and hope to work upon it to improve our standards and service. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and all the staff here are very appreciative of your kind comments regarding the service. I must apologise that the room...

Balfron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having stayed in several Crerar Hotels I found this one above average. Fairly large hotel with imposing frontage set back from the main road with gardens and private road providing limited car parking but no real problem as a lot of users are bus parties. Rooms seem to vary but we were lucky and had no problems. The large dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a three night dinner bed and breakfast break in April. The room was quite large with a lovely big bathroom, all very clean and presentable. The food was of a very high standard, in particular my husband enjoyed the Finnan Haddie at breakfast. There was a good choice at dinner and breakfast and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janette s
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel, and the chef was delighted...

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in room 216, which was a single in area with a large double bed in it! Toilet very, very small no extracter so room ran with condensation! Toilet door did not close. Dinner below average, breakfast good.ø

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Glasgow01
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly I must apologise that you were unhappy with your choice of room, I can confirm that room 216 is a standard sized rooms which hold a king sized bed, unfortunately you did not mention anything at the time, as we would have been more...

Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Craiglynne Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey though we have passed the hotel many, many times and always noted we were keen to stay there in the wonderful area it is situated in. Circumstances meant it was a truly last-minute booking – the night before we went for a two night stay. I booked through easy-breaks,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larsonsmummy
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly let me apologise you were not happy with your choice...

Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are just back from a 4 night stay at the Craiglynne hotel. I must say we had a absolute blast at this hotel! the staff are really great and made our stay very stress free and relaxing, especially the reception team. They girls deserve a big mention, especially Jennifer and Louise, extremely helpful and very patient with tricky guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. We really do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Gemah

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at craiglynne, the staff were very attentive from the time we arrived until our departure. Our room was small but nice, the food also was lovely, great hotel with character. Good value and we will return. Don't listen to all the negative reviews try for yourself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaxmax59
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and we have passed your kind comments on to the staff here at the hotel. Once again...

scotland
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our 2 night break at this hotel. We find all crerar hotels are very good value. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Rooms are a bit dated but clean. Food was good. dog friendly hotel which was good for us. Would return again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daisyscotland12
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your break with us, and I have passed on your kind comments to the staff here at the hotel. Once again many thanks and...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
467 reviews
7.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: €74 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a decent room with a front view”
 of 5 bubbles ishbelcromore, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 115 as too close to the kitchens”
 of 5 bubbles martinrice1958, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the rear. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardinnes27, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5