We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for a 2 night break here last week as part of a touring holiday In all honesty I can not fault the hotel in anyway.Our room was clean ,spacious and well decorated .We did dinner bed and breakfast.The food was excellent .The dining room ran like clockwork,the staff were first class helpful,courteous and all seemed to have a happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donald M
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked this hotel as a late deal on a DB&B basis. From the outside this hotel looked as if it had seen better days, being from the Victorian era. The bedroom had high ceilings and was in a reasonable condition, the ensuite was quite big but the shower unit had black mould round the edge of the tray. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander201369
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t up to our normal standards, I have checked back our complaints/feedback log and I have noticed that Room 53 was reported at the time in regards to the black mould around the shower, I am shocked and...

Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2014

All staff without exception were polite, friendly, helpful and courteous. Food was plentiful and excellent. Service in dining room was friendly, efficient and attentive. Lounge areas were bright, spacious, airy and had a very calm and relaxing ambience.Hotel room was lovely,bright and spacious. There is a nice walk round a nature reserve right across the road from the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam20002014
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope we...

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was an anniversary treat and it turned out to be very disappointing. Having requested a room with not too many stairs due to my mobility problems we were given a room on the ground floor . However people looked in all the time when a net or voile would have solved the problem. It was like living in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddy D
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve and monitor our standards and service. Firstly, please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t...

UK
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location for a touring holiday, looks great from the outside and the public areas are fine. Our bedroom was on the second floor front, quite compact, small bathroom- no bath! I feel the hotel is understaffed- the bar is not open until 5 pm. The staff are very friendly/ helpful, but obviously have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reed4design
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you had to search for a member of staff to serve on the bar, this shouldn’t be an issue what so ever at all,...

Panjim, India
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We Stayed here 2 nights in late 2013. From the outside it looked fabulous, and the reception area and lobby were fine.We had booked a superior double room but were given a small room which i from no angle can rate as a $150 a night room. For starters the shower had no hot water. and it was chilling cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aniket88
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us last year ,however as you had stayed with us in 2013 I can’t comment on any of the issues raised in your review. Once again many thanks for your feedback and I am only...

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived early and the room was not quite ready, but we were offered coffee or a drink and the receptionist saw we were disabled and changed our room to the McCallum (room 1), only five steps to climb, Excellent room , king size bed, bay window looking out over the gardens. The staff were very helpful. Dinner was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your kind comments about our hotel and our staff and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for two nights in june and found hotel and room okay but found room dissapointing overlooking rear of kitchen and noise from staff standing outside kitchen whilst they were having a smoke at just over seven in morning made us very early risers. The wash hand basic had large cracks which was sealed with gaffer tape on underside, come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billymcewan
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve and monitor our standards and service. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were disturbed...

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our 2 nights in this quite expensive hotel. From the outside it looked lovely, and the public rooms were fine. But we had booked a superior double room which was anything but. For a start the shower (no bath) was unusable - there was no temperature control and the water was scalding. The double bed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sheri_and_Mike
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I must apologise that you were unhappy with your room. We did admit at the time that we had got this completely wrong and we did offer you a refund of £40.00 and you accepted, the £40.00 refund covers more than the charge for a...

Reviewed 28 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here in April. The building is impressive, beautiful to look at and the lobby and entrance is lovely. Our room was very small, the sink was in the bedroom as the bathroom was too small for it and the shower was absolutely rubbish. Breakfast was lovely but the village itself has little options to grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mouseworm
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us must apologise that the room size and the shower wasn’t to your liking, I have checked back out complaints and feedback log and I couldn’t find anything noted, I am...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
467 reviews
7.1 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: €74 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a decent room with a front view”
 of 5 bubbles ishbelcromore, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 115 as too close to the kitchens”
 of 5 bubbles martinrice1958, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the rear. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardinnes27, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5