We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Post Office

Expedia.comUS$62*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$62*
Great Deal
US$63*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Post Office
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Post Office
 Click to rate
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in numerous guest houses and B&B's and this establishment is one of the worst. Very basic room , scruffy decor , threadbare carpet , no wi-fi , TV didn't work , it's more like a hostel .. stay elsewhere unless you're not fussy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safc6inarow
351thomasw, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Did you report the WIFI issue and the TV to staff? Were these issues dealt with? On the carpet none of the rooms have carpet so are you talking about the general areas? We are looking to upgrade this soon.

Reviewed 5 March 2017

book 5 rooms for 1 night thought we got a bargain £35 {how wrong we were } do not stay here unless like us u book late avoid room 12a at all cost found hair under my pillow must have been previous guest so slept on top shower warm then cold not good / stains everywhere on carpets kettle lead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philfasbolton
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We'd just arrived in Halifax and called in for a drink and not for the hotel side of it. What an excellent choice of drinks especially for real ale enthusiasts. The barmaid was helpful when we asked about Halifax and our way around the town. Would certainly call again if passing through

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Went to a wedding reception back in November function room was nice and set up very well. staff friendly thumbs up to the the new land lady Sarah for a massive improved pub and for making everyone welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewboi
kent
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I paid £27 and got a tiny room with a sloping roof. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a t.v. As said by a previous report, this is a building with small rooms and not a hotel. Sadly there was no breakfast. There was however free parking behind the building and it is VERY well located for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabatinitennis
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is a pub with rooms rather than a traditional hotel and is situated at the edge of the vibrant town centre which has quite lively night life. Small car park (free) behind the property. The pub is midway between the railway station and the bus station. Clean and fairly comfortable bedroom with limited facilities but plenty of hot water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lancstraveller2000
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Disabled access room?! There is no way a wheelchair could be manouevred around this room. The large chest of drawers behind the bathroom door (see picture) prevented it opening any further.Carparking left a lot to be desired with locals constantly dble parking and blocking you in.Supposed to be free wifi but no password provided,doorstop to room entrance does not provide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Hampton
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Spent a Saturday night here in a single room when the establishment was fully booked. Room in attic clean and warm, bed linen nice and fresh, had a TV and basin, soap gel towel provided, hot & cold water, velux window in roof for ventilation, didn't need owt else! Good clean kitchen to prepare your own food, never like paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamptonbeaver
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The OPO is situated in the centre of Halifax - handy for trains,buses and shops. Access to the bedrooms are by a rear door off the car par, which is a bit impersonal! i booked single occupancy of a double room, which was a good idea having seen the size of the single rooms. The room was clean and tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pidge54
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Well I stayed at the old post office in Halifax this month the staff was really nice and helpful the room I was given was nice and warm lots of room and very clean I would stay here again was perfect for the price every thing was great I would recommend this place to all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellywaterworth

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.3 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
365 reviews
3.9 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 55 Winding Road, Halifax HX1 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: €38 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Halifax, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Post Office staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“22 is near the kitchen, 17 next to a toilet, convenient but can be noisy!”
Hamptonbeaver, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 5 if there is a function on.”
Pidge54, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“dont go here!”
987kyleh, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Not able to”
happyeater262, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a bathroom....only a sink in some rooms! :(”
AGourmetvegetarian, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$62* /night
View Deal
Toprooms.comUS$63
TravelocityUS$63
Hotwire.comUS$63
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates