We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windlestrae Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windlestrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 489: English reviews
Start your review of Windlestrae Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We attended a wedding here at the weekend what a wonderful setting on such anice day. Lovely laid out for service grounds perfect for pictures Excellent menu well presented friendly staff only drawback was the long wait between photographs and meal.Good value for money as we stayed over there are parts of the hotel that require some TLC to upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith S, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much and we are continuing to work hard and invest in upgrading and modernising areas of the hotel. On arrival we ask our Guests to provide us with a credit or debit card so that they...

edinburgh
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although we frequent this amazing hotel regularly we have just returned from a Wedding there. What a hidden gem for a Wedding! The staff could not have done any more than make this day first class. Super Kirsty led a dedicated team where nothing was too much trouble. Chloe was a fantastic barperson and Sindi, what can I say that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delboyandhoney
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear delboyandhoney, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had such a great time when you were with us at the recent wedding. I'll personally thank the staff you've mentioned for looking after you both so well. We're continuing to upgrade and improve the property and in the meantime we're focusing on our staff, service and...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from overnight stay here, disappointed in the overall state of the place, from the outside peeling paint, poor signage and general neglect, windows filthy and broken, bad first impression. Receptionist friendly enough but very little information given resulting in us having to ask a night porter later what time breakfast was served and embarrassingly he wasn't sure. Disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs44
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larrs44, Oh dear! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and will not be returning. I'd like to take this opportunity to correct a couple of inaccuracies from your feedback. All our windows were just cleaned by our external window cleaning contractor just last week so all our windows are currently sparkling. Breakfast times were confirmed to...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived at 1 o clock we were quickly booked in and we were offered to leave our bags but as we were going for our treatment at 2pm we went straight to pool area for a coffee and were offered to be taken at 1 30pm which was great as it gave us more time after our treatment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forrestmargaret
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear forrestmargaret, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed everything about your visit and all our team took such good care of you and your guests. We hope to see you back again soon. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I purchased a voucher as a Christmas gift for my mother and father in law. Their stay was booked several weeks in advance and was the date chosen was of significance to them as it was their wedding anniversary. They had a dinner reservation for 7.30pm in the restaurant. They placed their orders with a member of staff and were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeeseM
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LeeseM, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor highlighting your concerns to us regarding feedback you had received from your mother and father in law. I am sorry that they did not enjoy their dining experience with us on the occasion of their visit. As you can read from the majority of our reviews this is not a typical...

St. Andrews, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One night visit for a gig across the road at the Green. The room was ok, big, clean but lacking in character & in need of attention, flaking paint on the windowsill disused door with handle hanging off. I found the bed too hard, my husband thought it fine. Breakfast.... oh dear. I should have realised when it I read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annakucat
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annakucat, We are currently upgrading the resort at present. When we have busy weekends a lot of our guests can enter the restaurant at the same time which is usually around 9am. To assist with our guest experience we like to communicate this to our guests on arrival in our welcome letter and inform them that if they would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel room was nice and spacious. The pool was nice along with the jacuzzi and steam room. Wouldn't recommend going for something to eat though as it's a bit overpriced in the restaurant for what you get but other than that great place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlotte h
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlotte h, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Hopefully you'll dine with us on your next visit as we regularly receive positive feedback on the quality of our food and our portion sizes which provide great value for money. We hope to see you again soon. With best...

Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had previously stayed at the Green Hotel, and were impressed with the gigs being put on - Backstage. For us that's a perfect night out - a nice meal and then some live music. So I booked tickets for Free Again for my hubby for Christmas. Green Hotel was full but got a good price at Windlestrae. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaM
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FionaM, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for awarding us 4 stars on your experience. We'll aim to exceed this even further on your next visit to us and hope to see you again soon for a leisurely break or to see a band in our unique 'Backstage' gig venue. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, the good bits.... and these WERE good... We ate in two restaurants during our stay, and both were great! In the Windlestrae we had dinner in Monty's. We had mussels, bruschetta, risotto, and calzone pizza. All fabulous, well presented and good value. We sent compliments to the chef. The service was attentive, and the serving staff were inexperienced, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YolandaUk
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YolandaUk, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that our staff looked after you well and that you enjoyed the food so much. As we are currently working through improvements at the property we pride ourselves on the caring and attentive service we provide and the quality of our food, as you can see...

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the Windlestrae before and found it to be a good place for a short break. Unfortunately I cannot say the same this time. Firstly I have to mention the staff were very good and pleasant: the food we had was good and the accommodation was very spacious and comfortable. So what made our stay less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz B
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Baz B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that you did not have a great experience whilst you were with us. We are currently recruiting for several positions at the Green Hotel and Windlestrae and the article you are referring to relates to Crieff Hydro Hotel only. We did have some...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.3 km away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
720 reviews
0.6 km away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
338 reviews
11.0 km away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
719 reviews
18.0 km away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
10.8 km away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Price Range: €66 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms for disabled guests”
 of 5 bubbles delboyandhoney, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We faced on to a grass area we did not hear a thing lovely and quiet I think all rooms are the same”
 of 5 bubbles forrestmargaret, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles FionaM, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Green”
 of 5 bubbles 319George47, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had one to the rear with a view over the garden. This made it both quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles 63karenm, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5