We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windlestrae Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windlestrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 495: English reviews
Start your review of Windlestrae Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful hotel situated in kinross , rooms were clean. Lovely bar with live sports facilities. If you are golf lover you can also enjoy playing that which is 2 min walk. Hotel got Clean swimming pool, jacuzzi , Gym etc. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yash T
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was my first single parent trip to a hotel with my son and I was slightly nervous but that soon disappeared upon arriving at the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds are beautiful and being able to nip into the woods next to the golf course was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahGisoldo
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a lovely stay overnight at Windlestrae Hotel, Kinross. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Nice friendly atmosphere in the bar. The leisure section was very clean with fantastic showers. The pool was a good temperature. The room we stayed in was perhaps slightly in need of updating and one of the flush buttons on the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstAmalfi
cumbernauld glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bit of a last minute decision to do a spa day for our birthday's my friends was today 11th and mine is on Saturday . Arrived at 12 and went straight for lunch which was delicious then we went for our treatments we both chose facials and back neck and shoulder massages treatments were great very relaxing atmosphere very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marys2010
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marys2010, I'm delighted to read your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'll share your feedback with our Beauty and Leisure Team as our team work extremely hard to look after all our guests and it's so appreciated when we read about it on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you...

East Coast Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a short break here in early April 2017. The hotel from the outside isn't much to look at but inside it is spotlessly clean in all public areas, it is bright and airy in all public areas and I could not fault it. The staff were all very attentive and polite while being friendly and knowledgeable. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippa S
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pippa S, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review our hotel and our staff. We know that things can go wrong from time to time and it's so appreciated when we get it right to read a review on TripAdvisor that reflects our normal standard of service. I'm thrilled to read your comments and...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Windlestrae and very disappointed with the hotel. Receptionist was friendly enough when we checked in but gave little information about the hotel and when checking out didnt even ask if we had enjoyed our stay! Outside of the hotel in need of repair and not very welcoming. Room ok, beds very uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank langcraig
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear langcraig, Thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I don't recall seeing any negative Guest feedback from any of our team or managers so please do let us know next time you are staying with us so you are still able to enjoy the rest of your stay. I'm sorry you had some service issues. Whilst we are upgrading...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a wedding here at the weekend what a wonderful setting on such anice day. Lovely laid out for service grounds perfect for pictures Excellent menu well presented friendly staff only drawback was the long wait between photographs and meal.Good value for money as we stayed over there are parts of the hotel that require some TLC to upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith S, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much and we are continuing to work hard and invest in upgrading and modernising areas of the hotel. On arrival we ask our Guests to provide us with a credit or debit card so that they...

edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although we frequent this amazing hotel regularly we have just returned from a Wedding there. What a hidden gem for a Wedding! The staff could not have done any more than make this day first class. Super Kirsty led a dedicated team where nothing was too much trouble. Chloe was a fantastic barperson and Sindi, what can I say that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delboyandhoney
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear delboyandhoney, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had such a great time when you were with us at the recent wedding. I'll personally thank the staff you've mentioned for looking after you both so well. We're continuing to upgrade and improve the property and in the meantime we're focusing on our staff, service and...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from overnight stay here, disappointed in the overall state of the place, from the outside peeling paint, poor signage and general neglect, windows filthy and broken, bad first impression. Receptionist friendly enough but very little information given resulting in us having to ask a night porter later what time breakfast was served and embarrassingly he wasn't sure. Disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorrs44
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larrs44, Oh dear! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and will not be returning. I'd like to take this opportunity to correct a couple of inaccuracies from your feedback. All our windows were just cleaned by our external window cleaning contractor just last week so all our windows are currently sparkling. Breakfast times were confirmed to...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

When we arrived at 1 o clock we were quickly booked in and we were offered to leave our bags but as we were going for our treatment at 2pm we went straight to pool area for a coffee and were offered to be taken at 1 30pm which was great as it gave us more time after our treatment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forrestmargaret
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear forrestmargaret, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed everything about your visit and all our team took such good care of you and your guests. We hope to see you back again soon. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 km away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
727 reviews
0.5 km away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
337 reviews
11.0 km away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
727 reviews
18.0 km away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
0.7 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Price Range: €66 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms for disabled guests”
delboyandhoney, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We faced on to a grass area we did not hear a thing lovely and quiet I think all rooms are the same”
forrestmargaret, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
FionaM, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Green”
319George47, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had one to the rear with a view over the garden. This made it both quiet and private.”
63karenm, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5