We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kirkwall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kirkwall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kirkwall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

An old family run hotel that has faded grandeur. A bit squeaky, floors and doors, but spacious and warm with a comfortable bed, flat screen WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom a bit dated with shower only but good hot water and towels.The bar acts as an overflow from the dining room so we went next door to Skippers, part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CommodoreChris
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

After reading trip advisor reviews, I was a little anxious about my stay here, but I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and this was a very reasonable 3* hotel which was in a perfect location for exploring Kirkwall and around the island. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I had some of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank L0ndonSally
UK
Reviewed 3 September 2015

This hotel really should be a lot better. The lift to my room was very old and once I got to the door of my room there was a large crack all the way down as if someone had went at it with an axe. Tape was applied to the back of the door so people couldn't look in. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jock06
Inverness
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

For a hotel that prides itself on being the highlight of Kirkwall this was very disappointing. Terrible single room- disappointingly institutional style room with single bed, drab decor, overlooking taxi rank which was noisy. Bathroom a disgrace. No shower. Window sealed shut so no ventilation. Grubby bath. Unappealing paint and no attempt to make it even remotely homely. £80/ night!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ScruffyBadger
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed two nights - talk about Fawlty Towers. No water in the cold taps and very hot water in the hot water tap. Needless to say when you had a shower, all soaped up and nothing to wash the soap away. The toilet, another thing, if there was no water to clean your teeth, you guessed it...no flushing! Complained...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank farpavilions
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Farpiviions This is a really unfair post,let me address your issues, we did have a water problem ( indeed no water getting to the entire 2nd floor showers but they were able to flush toilets),as soon as we were alerted to it( around 7am) we called our plumber who for your information has been working on the restructuring and...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Booked into Kirkwall hotel as a last resort (everywhere else booked up). We were pleasantly surprised - it is an old hotel and some areas are a bit tired but the staff were very helpful and our room was spotless. We were in a large double on the second floor overlooking the harbour - a great spot to watch life...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank June M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed for three nights in a double room on the top floor at the side of the building. It's in a great location overlooking the harbour and is a fairly typical traditional Scottish hotel - tartan carpet, grand dining room and bar. The room was fine, and the service was good - all the staff were lovely. However, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ValMcDonald
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This was my first trip to the Orkney Islands which combined business wifh a couple of days holiday. Hotel was great - room spotless and the staff were very friendly. We ate in the restaurant one evening and I cannot recommend this enough - the seafood salad was wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Small single bed room on 2nd floor very disappointing . Firstly was a stain on carpet probable from spilt coffee , the ancient basic bath ( no shower attachment ) had not had been cleaned from previous occupant and although the duvet looked beautifully white crisp cotton the bottom sheet was crumpled obviously had been slept on . Very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Evelyn P
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel on 2 previous occasions. My experience has been mixed. My previous stay has been in the better rooms in the main part of the hotel. On this occasion I had a clean but tired room towards the back of the building in what felt like an annex/extension. The room is somewhat noisy, dark and dingy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ASingingScot

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.2 km away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
321 reviews
0.0 km away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
109 reviews
0.7 km away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
133 reviews
17.1 km away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
283 reviews
18.4 km away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Kirkwall Hotel Restaurant
Kirkwall Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Price Range: €94 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kirkwall Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kirkwall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room overlooking harbour”
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles KazSteve, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible, avoid the rooms 'looking' onto the centre well of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyb714, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles 179sued, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room and book up meals before arriving.”
 of 5 bubbles shefford52, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“sea view rooms definitely worth it”
 of 5 bubbles E8768PAlindab, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5