We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Hotwire.comUS$170*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$176*
US$170*
Great Deal
US$176*
US$176*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,112: English reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed a night here and enjoyed it. Its luxurious without being stuffy or pretentious. Everyone of the staff were helpful and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable. The pool area is lovely to relax in and the gym, though small, has all it needs for a great workout. The food was excellent as well. It was a shame our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinf444
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Martinf444, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am more than delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and would stay again. The team here at The Mere have a strong vision for excelling in customer service, thank you for...

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Having stayed at the Mere on a number of occasions, me and my wife decided to have our wedding reception there. It was exceptional!!!! Firstly, Kim made the organising surprisingly easy and pain free with thoroughness we didn't think was possible. Alex, ensured the food was as amazing as ever and even agreed to purchase my favourite draught beer just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Darren H, Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review following on from the wedding reception you held with us. It is wonderful to see that you and your wife had a magical day and that we made it an experience to remember! I will personally make sure the whole team here at The Mere are...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Apparently the hotel air conditioning system struggles in the hot weather - so we spent an uncomfortably hot night. Pillows on the beds have the rigidity of shaving foam and so although they look quite supportive they most certainly are not! One of the ladies at the Reception to the hotel gym and spa area was so off-hand you would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A D
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear A D, Thank you for taking the time to review The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Here at The Mere we take our customer feedback very seriously and guest service is paramount. Our Guest opinions and feedback are very important to us and with this in mind, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please may...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

So I visited this spa in July for my hen party, I wanted a relaxing day and nothing crazy. There was a small group of us, The spa actually has 'a hen party package' for groups of four so it was perfect. We were greeted on arrival by a very polite lady called Laura, she sat us down to fill...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissGolds
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear MissGolds, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Spa day at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted that you chose to visit our Spa for your special occasion, I will pass on your great feedback to Laura who will be thrilled with your comments! Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward...

Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is lovely hotel offering good rooms,friendly staff and ideal location. Our only negative was that we booked with the view to playing golf there but the reality is that this is very much a members golf club and we were unable to book a tee time on either day we stayed. This is good for their members but don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trevor W, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I was so pleased to read of your relaxing and pleasant stay and we thank you for sharing your guest experience with us. Due to the popularity of Golf at The Mere we always recommended booking in advance to avoid...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We enjoyed a lovely spa day at the Mere resort.The facilities were very clean and modern and there were not too many people,meaning that we were able to use loungers and all other facilities without being crowded.The afternoon tea was of high quality and the individual treatment with a therapist was superb...thank you Heather for my facial.It was bliss!I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sproffitt00
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear sproffitt00, Thank you for your glowing review of your Spa day at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the health club and spa, the Spa has a prestigious 5 bubble rating from The Good Spa Guide and has been a finalist for 'Best Spa in The North' at their awards for...

Reviewed 1 August 2016

I booked the Mere for a business trip - was i disappointed? Absolutel not, from the minute i arrived the reception was quick informative and helpful.This was to be the standard throughout, the room was clean spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. We dined in Browns Scallops followed by fillet steak, this was incredible, cooked to perfection and washed down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon W
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Simon W, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted that from the minute you had arrived you had a fantastic stay, our 'Mere Welcome' is something we are very proud of so thank you for recognising it. Browns has been recognised as one of the top 100 restaurants in the...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have been to three annual golf events at the Mere and every time we have a great time. The hotel and gold teams are great at managing the events and the rooms and facilities are great. The golf course is long and tough, but we alway have a fantastic time. We haven't used the spa facilities, so can't comment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Off_down_under
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Off_down_under, We really appreciate your time in reviewing The Mere Golf Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to see that you have become a regular guest of ours and it truly is a pleasure having you all stay with us! Maybe when you re-visit us next year I would recommend a visit to the Spa to relax after a...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We needed to make a last minute trip to Knutsford for business so didn't have time to schedule a tee time so we didn't get on the course at all. The food was quite good and priced as you would expect. The decor/atmosphere of the hotel restaurants was a bit disappointing but the staff and service were great. They have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Angela H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Thank you for your compliments regarding the Mere Team, I know they will be so pleased to hear that their passion for excellent customer service has not gone unnoticed. Maybe next time if you visit I would recommend a visit...

Cheshire
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Visited here for a friends wedding & stayed over. Views are lovely and despite it being on a main road, very set back with the lake & golf course. Staff seemed very attentive and helpful. The food at the wedding was lovely, very nicely cooked and a good portion size as opposed to what you may get elsewhere. Bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJenniferD
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CheshireJenniferD, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am more than delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We believe that the views we have here are simply stunning, especially when the sun decides to visit us! I will pass on your...

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
935 reviews
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
26.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,475 reviews
35.8 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,049 reviews
39.3 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: €131 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Stafford, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
bourne
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the Chablis in the restaurant....its great . The Spa is heavenly”
221RichardB, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view as a lot simply have brick wall views of the other rooms.”
B4199FNstevep, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“I believe the rooms overlooking the Mere are fantastic in the Spring Time”
judithoap, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Lakeview have better positions”
Sarah1703, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the lake”
887paul, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$170* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$176
Booking.comUS$176
Expedia.comUS$170
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates