We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,009: English reviews
Mold
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I attended our office Christmas party. The function room was nicely laid out and tables well set. Having selected my choices from the menu in advance I was pleased to see a nut wellington offered as the vegetarian option. This was a refreshing change and I was pleased that the chef had chosen an alternative to the meat offering, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldlyWelshman
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This place epitomises 5 star, stayed over last night whilst attending a charity ball. The rooms are beautifully decorated and as you would expect fitted out to the highest standards. The hotel was tastefully decorated for Xmas and looked fantastic. The food at both our function and breakfast was lovely and completed our stay. All of which confirms why we'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnfromMiddleton
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Amazingly well decorated for Xmas - full size reindeer and carriage suspended from the ceiling. Super efficient check in, out and breakfast. Breakfast was particularly brilliant, great coffee, excellent sausage and bacon! Great welcome by all staff, and excellent room service. Golf course looks amazing and the golf packages look excellent for next time. 5* all round with the exception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave L
Birmingham, uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A friend and I booked the "spa and shopping" stay. We arrived at the spa for around 11am, and had our treatments booked for around 12:30. There was a nice welcome, but they were quite busy and one of us was told the wrong place to wait for our treatment. We decided to have a drink and a quick bite... More 

Helpful?
Thank alr837
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear alr837, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us at the Mere, as it is used as a training tool to continually improve and develop our services. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you look forward to returning... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with friends for a birthday celebration. Stunning entrance and Xmas decorations. Room was very dark and needed every light on in broad daylight. It was supposed to be " Mere view" but you had to strain your neck out of the window to see it! Dinner menu had no vegetarian option for main course and when we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank oscalf47
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Oscalf47, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us at the Mere, as it is used as a training tool to continually improve and develop our services. Obviously it concerns me to hear that you felt we let you down during your recent birthday celebrations with... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were given a room with 2 beds pushed together that kept dipping in the middle. There was a powercut and no main restaurant available. Pipe noise in one of the rooms all night. When mentioned to reception they just brushed it off. Emailed the manager and its been 20 days and we have not heard a single comment back.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dmoz86
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Deardmoz86, Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us at the Mere, and I am sorry that you feel we let you down during your recent time with us. If you could please contact the hotel and ask to speak to our Guest Relations... More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Arriving later than expected due to a traffic jam on the way. We were able to check straight in. We found our room on the ground floor. It was very spacious, lovely decor and little touches. The merekat on the bed is sweet. You can use the spa up until your time of departure on your second day. The spa... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goosey G
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Goosey G, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us at the Mere, and it's always a pleasure to hear that we exceeded expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming back in the coming months! Until then enjoy the holiday season and don't forget to like... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night on a package booked through the hotel website. The hotel was lovely and the facilities great, including the pool and spa. We had dinner in Browns and the food was good and service very friendly. Same at breakfast the following morning. The hotel had been decorated fantastically for Christmas and my 5 year old thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil G
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Phil G, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. Guest feedback is very important to us at the Mere, as it allows us to continually improve and develop our brand. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort and the amazing facilities that we have to offer.... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely resort The Mere is. Our room was spacious and very tasteful, it had French Doors leading to a patio with table and chairs (for a warmer day!) and the Golfcourse and views to the lakes just beyond. The Spa was wonderful, so relaxing, just what we needed. We didn't have any treatments on this occasion but just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole L
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carole L, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback and it is also a wonderful boost in encouragement for the rest of the Mere Team! Hopefully you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort in the very... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an overnight stay, with friends, at The Mere. Excellent spa facilities, friendly and helpful staff and gorgeous food all add together to make for a great weekend. The only negative was we were charged over £200 as deposit and were not informed that this would happen and it was not refunded until a week later!

Helpful?
Thank middo39
Gary J, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Middo39, Thank you for taking the time to rate the Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and hopefully you will return to do it all again soon! With regards to the hold of £200, unfortunately this is something that is beyond our control, the release of... More 

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.6 km away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
858 reviews
2.1 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
26.4 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,288 reviews
32.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
21.5 km away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range: €133 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Warington
Stafford, United Kingdom
3 months ago
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles alr837, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get put in the basement i.e. the room doesn't start with 0”
 of 5 bubbles PhilG487, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a lower ground room.”
 of 5 bubbles 777carolel, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check your room deposit when checking in and out.”
 of 5 bubbles middo39, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth the extra for a junior suite!”
 of 5 bubbles fydell, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay