We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel & Blue Pig

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Angel & Blue Pig
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Angel & Blue Pig
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We ate here early evening and really enjoyed the food, friendliness of the staff and quirky ambience of the surroundings. I enjoyed the chicken dish presented in its baking parchment to retain the flavour, some customers with large appetites might think the portion quite small, but on the plus side there was room for dessert! My niece had a burger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizW58
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "LizW58" Thank you for the great review and coming to dine with us recently, it really means a lot to the team! Our roasted chicken and vegetables dish was introduced a few months ago and has since gone down a treat and our burgers have and will be always a mainstay of the pub menu! We hope to see...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We often go into The angel and Blue Pig when we visit family in the area ,for a drink or a meal, which we've always enjoyed. Sunday lunch was no exception and we had a lovely meal served by friendly helpful staff. However, I unfortunately left my handbag and carried on back home to London. I called to enquire if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antheadiamandis
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "antheadiamandis" Ah it really was our pleasure to help you with your bag, it was the least we could do. I am glad it got back to you safely. Also, thank you for the kind comments regarding your food and service, the team all do try so very hard to please! See you the next time you are down....

Pershore
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were greeted on entering by a very charming man and shown a selection of tables. Shortly afterwards we would not have had this choice. It appears to be a very popular lunch venue. We were looked after by the same member of staff throughout. We were impressed by both the price and choices for lunch. Our food was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosiePershore
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Rosie Pershore" Thank you ever so much for the nice comments and review in general. We really appreciate you dining with us and hope to see you in again some time soon! Regards, Matt E - GM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

They have really upped their game since the last time we stayed. Then the room was slightly grubby, but no complaints this time. Good food, clean room, friendly staff. I will probably stay here again the next time we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradBourne07
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "BradBourne07" Great review and very kind words so thank you! We all work hard to constantly evolve so I am glad this has been noticed. See you again soon, regards Matt E - GM

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Went here for dinner, Two of us enjoyed our meal having chosen the chicken and the salmon dish. The other two had the fish pie which was not worth 14.99. There was very little fish in it and tasted bland. They thought the potatoes was probably powered. Two other people in the restaurant were complaining about the fish pie one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingercat78
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "gingercat78" Thank you for dining with us recently and for the positive comments about your meals. Your friends fish pie situation disappoints me and this has been quickly investigated to ensure our recipe for a delicious tasting pie is adhered to. I assume by you saying "powered" you mean powdered? Which isn't the case at all. We buy in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We didn't stay at the Inn,but had a few meals and drinks there. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Food was delicious and a varied menu at reasonable prices.Good selection of drinks.I liked the House whiskey and my friend the choice of beers. Good dining areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendan b
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Brendan b" Thanks so much for the review and also dining with us! I will pass on the kind comments to the team. See you in again soon we hope! Matt E - GM

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The building was old so floors not even. BUT attar from that, a very friendly place to stay. Some very nice touches. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very enjoyable stay, ample, car parking. Would stop again. Very handy to have a very pleasant meal and a drink down stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Peter C" Thank you very much for you review and kind words. I really appreciate you telling people about our friendly staff as they all work so hard to put us in the best light. See you back soon we hope! Regards, Matt E - GM

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Whilst having a pleasant welcoming atmosphere and a small garden area at the rear in which to enjoy the bank holiday sunshine, the Angel and Blue Pig disappoints in one key area! Having visited this pub several times and really enjoyed their delicious espresso martini, I decided to treat my friend to one. I was most surprised and disappointed to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SJH1153
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "SJH1153" I can only apologize for the short measures in your espresso martini. The bar tender in question has since moved on. It wasn't a duty manager, they are quite clearly identified with different attire. Out of kindness, please accept my offer of another espresso martini made by myself, on the house the next time you are passing. Kind...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Booked for 2 nights but only stayed for one as it was very hot weather and we had a room right at the top of the hotel , beautifully decorated with a huge bathroom,but was much too hot for comfort. We were lent a fan but this really had no effect on the heat. We had the windows open as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FTC27
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "FTC27" Whilst we are thankful for your stay and kind comments on food and staff, I apologize for the heat you experienced recently. I too agree it has been unusually hot and muggy at night and this being a listed 16th century building, we would be unable to adapt the building too much due to planning constraints. However, we...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed for one night with my Husband. We were taken to our king bedroom which was located at the rear of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. The room was incredible hot, paint chipped of the walls in the bedroom and bathroom and the carpet didn't meet the skirting board. I did wonder if we had been given a room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Sue M" Can I start with apologizing for what seems like a most un-enjoyable time with us, really this kind of thing is not very common at all. Your room is due for a minor refurbishment of the paint you describe as this was last done about 4 years ago however we haven't had this level of negative feedback...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.4 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lymington
1,408 reviews
0.8 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.5 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
618 reviews
7.5 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
935 reviews
13.3 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of picturesque Lymington, the Angel and Blue Pig dates back to the 13th century when it was a coaching inn. With a homely and welcoming pub atmosphere and featuring 14 newly re-furbished en-suite hotel rooms, "The Angel" is the perfect place to visit. Conveniently situated in the on the coastal boarder of the New Forest National Park,it sits in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the South of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel & Blue Pig

Address: 108 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: €98 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Angel & Blue Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Lymington
The Angel & Blue Pig Lymington, New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Andover, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room overlooked the high street - Christmas lights were lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 389suet, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are well appointed and clean,if u stay Fri night ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the market sets up very early...”
 of 5 bubbles blondfish, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back of hotel are smaller but quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Ems920, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 49robind, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So long as you are reasonably fit, ask for the top floor rooms overlooking the street.”
 of 5 bubbles JRD32, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay