We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harben House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harben House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
Start your review of Harben House Hotel
 Click to rate
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, my title says it all really. I can imagine that when it was built in the late 70s or early 80s (just my guess) it was fine, but it is clear that it has been just patched up and kept working during the passing years. Everything is just very dated in side, and the smell of old stained carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quercus27
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely Sunday carvery lunch. Great atmosphere, excellent food and good friendly service but not too intrusive. Also such great value. We will definitely be back again and will recommend to friends and family. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Many thanks for your kind comments in regards to our Sunday Carvery which we have just started offering. I will be sure to pass this on to my team. I do hope you come and visit us again soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is currently going through a refurbishment so you're basically staying on a building site. It's currently midday on a Sunday and I am trying to do some work in my room but there has been constant drilling and banging for the last hour. Relaxing. Had to move rooms at 1.30am this morning as a weird, unexplained noise started...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank archedeyebrow
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments in regards to your stay at Harben. As you very rightly mentioned we are undergoing a much overdue refurbishment which will alleviate the issue you have reported. We are envisaging to have all our rooms completed by the end of April. The refurbed rooms will all have larger feel to them with the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really small rooms, ants in the rooms and crawling all over the tables. Put me off the food as ants everywhere. Hotel was not very helpful. Don't waste your money at this hotel. I emailed the hotel and they didn't even reply back.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank manager c
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Harben. It is disappointing to read you had an issue with Ants during your stay. I have advised our pest control company of this, who have performed a site visit to treat any areas of concerns. Harben is currently undergoing a refurbishment which will involve opening...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely great staff. The experienced staff of a hotel under renovation where so super accommodating. My family room where given 2 rooms for the failure of hot water. Candles being lit by Chloe and allowing me 2 rooms with an amazing bath. No heating on the most coldest day the warmest welcome from Harben House Hotel was getting 2 heaters...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magicnails H
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you immensely for your kind words in regards to your stay with us at Harben. I must apologise though that there were issues with your heating. As you quite rightly pointed out we are undergoing a full refurbishment of our accommodation which has caused small pockets of the hotel being affected hit by air locks in the...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

A 2 night break which I had booked via Groupon . Cold food. Untrained and lacking in customer service skills staff. Unhelpful staff - would not provide a second blanket despite being cold on first night. Car park was free and easy to park though ! Place under renovation and in need of much staff training in my opinion ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chriswharton1970
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to thank you for your comments you have made. It’s very disappointing to read your comments in regards to the service an all I can do is apologise. I will be ensuring that our Manager’s will be rolling out additional customer service training...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Quite simply the worst hotel in terms of customer service I have ever experienced. My points for trip advisor use are ; 1. Yes I booked via groupon for a two night romantic break in a standard room , but how misleading the groupon advert is with a lovely stock photo depicting a pretty spacious room - not the telephone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellytots79
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to thank you for your comments and observations you have made. Feedback is a gift and it is one I will be sharing with my team. It’s very disappointing to read your comments in regards to the service you received throughout your stay...

Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for five nights, there was noise constantly from people running around on the top floor, the rooms are small and the beds are right up against the wall meaning there's only one way of getting into the beds, the shower was only just warm along with there being what looked like mould around the bath....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travel45p
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback with your recent stay with us at Harben House Hotel. I am disappointed to read that your stay was un-enjoyable. Harben is currently undergoing a full refurbishment which will alleviate the issues in regards to your bedroom. We are anticipating these works to be fully complete by Easter with some rooms due to...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Although this hotel is in the throes of obviously much needed refurbishment we had a cosy little room, Albeit better for one than for two clambering over each other on the bed against the wall. We had good meals in the restaurant and must congratulate the chef Steve on a The best Caesar salad ever tasted and Darren in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carole, Many thanks for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at Harben. In regards to your comment about clambering over each other. Within the refurbishment, this will include the removal of our radiators in all rooms due to the installation of air-condition. This frees up enough space to have the bed turned to allow access...

Reviewed 30 January 2017

We attended a conference 2 weekends ago with about 150 women. Some of the rooms were terrible, smelt of previous occupants. The carpets in most of the rooms are stained, the carpets in the hallways also dirty and stained. The food was bland and tasteless. most of the meals were recycled through our stay. The management need read reviews and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adeola K
Leigh G, Manager at Harben House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Adeola Thank you for leaving us some feedback regarding your recent stay at Harben House Hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise that you did not have a good experience during your recent stay. Regarding the condition of some corners of the hotel we are currently well on with a refurbishment and this has been planned to fix all...

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Pagnell
2.6 km away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#4 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
320 reviews
8.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.1 km away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
0.6 km away
Swan Revived Hotel
Swan Revived Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
203 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harben House is a great place to come and stay if you are either working or visiting the Milton Keynes area. Why not try one of our new Cosy bedrooms which are all open plan, if you are looking for something slightly more special then why not book a Classic or Executive bedroom. All bedrooms have a great extra comfy bed with great linen, large television with multiple channels, desk for late night working, free WIFI & free tea and coffee. If your feel peckish then the Newport Bar and Bistro offers a great choice of meals including firm favorites like Fish & Chips, Toad in the hole or why not go for our special Harben Burger. Dont forget we have FREE CAR PARKING which will save you up to £20.00 every night. So come and give Harben House a try I am sure you will love it............... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harben House Hotel

Address: Tickford Street, Milton Keynes MK16 9EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Newport Pagnell
Price Range: €34 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harben House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Harben House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Harben House Hotel Newport Pagnell
De Vere Harben Hotel
Harben House Hotel Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harben House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Telford, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
29 days ago
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Harben House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for refurbished cosy rooms at the moment!!! Small but nicely done,”
 of 5 bubbles 604caroleg, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 257donna, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the wifi does not work in all of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles SDB1970, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles john311056, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room closer to reception if possible.... You will be close to the gym, bar, entrance and lifts...”
 of 5 bubbles Elevate-Elevate, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5