We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (416)
360
Panoramas (61)
Room & Suite (243)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Royal Hotel
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 8 in Ross-on-Wye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal charming hotel in Ross-on-Wye does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Royal Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out In The Footsteps Battlefield Tours (1.5 mi) while visiting Ross-on-Wye, The Royal Hotel is a short distance away.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and The Royal Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service. In addition, guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ross-on-Wye burritos restaurant such as Mandy Moo's, which is a short distance from The Royal Hotel.

If you’re looking for something to do, Wilton Castle (0.5 mi), St Mary The Virgin Church (0.1 mi), and The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of The Royal Hotel.

The Royal Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ross-on-Wye.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Fishing
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1639Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 824
  • 546
  • 177
  • 53
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Martin wrote a review 11 May
18 contributions14 helpful votes
We stopped here for a couple of days, with a bit of walking on the agenda. Some beautiful scenery around the river Wye. We went for a big room on the top floor and it was worth a little extra, the view is superb ! The food and drink were reasonably priced and good for a chain pub/hotel. The breakfast service was excellent and breakfast staff were absolutely on it. We liked Ross on Wye generally, though suspect it might not be everyone’s cup of tea. I’m pretty sure we’ll use this hotel in future, if we are down this way again ! Almost forgot, the terrace is awesome for outdoor food n drinks if the weather is good !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ross on Wye is hilly ! I don’t think there is a lift in the pub, but could be wrong.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at The Royal Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest. So lovely to read your review. Ross is a great town with so much to see and do nearby. We are lucky to command such a great location with stunning views. That you felt so well looked after and comfortable is really rewarding. Looking forward to welcoming you again when next this way. Many thanks. Sally & Matthew.
Read more
Elaine P wrote a review 4 May
Barry, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Nothing not to like about The Royal - lovely people, good food and great location. Will definitely visit again - highly recommended to stay or go for a meal. You will not be disappointed ☺️ Ideally sited to visit Monmouth, Hereford and of course Ross-on-Wye!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at The Royal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are lucky to have such a great location and a team full of lovely people. Please visit again soon. Sally & Matt.
Read more
Bill A wrote a review 4 May
Chorley, England, United Kingdom24 contributions1 helpful vote
The first thing to mention is how friendly ALL the staff were and helpful they couldn't do enough for you. This Hotel was well patronised for food and drink on Friday, Saturday and Sunday of our stay, which is a always good sign. All the food was well prepared and cheerfully served. the bar dining room stairs and our bedroom was well kept and very clean. The views over the River Wye is exceptional from the bar and our room. Giles deserves a special mention for his attentiveness, friendliness and helpfulness, he is an asset to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Go for river views and of note there is no lift
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at The Royal Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Bill. It was so lovely to read your fabulous feedback. To know that you were pleased with every aspect of your stay is very reassuring. Giles is a gem and I will ensure your feedback is shared with him. Please visit us again soon. Sally & Matthew.
Read more
christineshawyer wrote a review Apr 2022
Caerphilly, United Kingdom25 contributions25 helpful votes
Another splendid stay at this establishment. Lovely to see all the supportive staff who I have got to know over the years. Friendly atmosphere, great food and accommodation as usual. Nothing is too much trouble.. Many people I met this time return year after year as I do. This is a gem with excellent views over the river Wye. I intend to come back. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Fee parking,easy access to visit places of interest by car.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at The Royal Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Christine. So lovely to see you again. So happy that you felt as welcomed as ever by the team here and enjoyed all your dining occasions with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks. Sally & Matthew.
Read more
Rachael F wrote a review Apr 2022
Hereford7 contributions1 helpful vote
Ordered the chilli nachos and the chilli was still frozen. I went inside to make the staff aware, and they did bring out new ones. The girl that bought the fresh, unfrozen ones out was polite but there was no apology and noone checked back to see if the food was okay. I felt like if I had made a fuss then they would have made the effort but as I was polite about an awful situation that they didn't care. Really disappointed as it's a lovely place with a great view outside which we visit regularly. It would have taken a couple of minutes for a manager to pop over apologies and check all was okay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at The Royal Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Having checked with the team I believe my assistant manager did apologise as soon as our error was realised and that she ensured a replacement was delivered with top priority. KJ who brought the new nachos ensured that you were happy before she departed. I apologise that a further check was not provided and I have reminded the team that this should be standard practice to ensure awful situations like yours are not repeated.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal hotel ross on wye, royal ross on wye
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireRoss-on-Wye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Truffles Delicatessen (0.1 km), St Mary The Virgin Church (0.1 km), and Made in Ross (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include No 3 Restaurant, Leonard's at 39, and Avellino Italian restaurant.
Is The Royal Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ross-on-Wye.
Does The Royal Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Goodrich Castle (5.3 km).
Does The Royal Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Royal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.