We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glewstone Court

TripAdvisorUS$95*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$95*
Great Deal
US$108*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Glewstone Court
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glewstone Court
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Beautiful place with great staff, amazing food and lovely rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and if we're looking at going anywhere near this area we wouldn't hesitate to book another stay here. A beautiful dinner followed by drinks in the bar/drawing room makes for a great night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karl_blowing
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Your review says everything about your stay, very succinctly, and we really appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed it. We do hope that we can welcome you again when you are near the area. Gary Homewood

manchester
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Spent two nights here on a short break. Great location with Hereford, Monmouth,Symonds Yat and Ross-on-Wye all very near. Lovely situation being surrounded by Apple orchards which were laden with fruit during our stay. A very warm welcome from Amy when we arrived and given the Byron room which was very spacious,light and comfortable. Plenty of storage space and two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dwilk
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thanks for this superb review with some nice details for other readers. It was great to see you really embrace and enjoy every aspect of the manor house and grounds, the restaurant, the team here and the beauty and opportunities in local area. Thank you also for the great feedback about the food and the appreciation of the local produce....

Aspen, Colorado
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We have stayed here many times before and enjoyed it this time with new owners. They have spruced it up and they did a fine job.....my only complaint is they toook away the tablecloths so the dining doesn't seem as "fine" as before.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david b
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your compliments about the refurbishments, it's greatly appreciated. It was a huge discussion about the tablecloths and we researched it a lot. We did not like the buttermilk, polyester tablecloths used previously and as the tables were exceptionally poor quality we decided instead to purchase new, oak tables, and opt for the route that...

Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Very enjoyable two night break. The public areas are very good but unfortunately the bedroom we had really needs an upgrade particularly the en-suite. We understand some works are due to be done to improve some of the rooms. The restaurant was excellent. We had dinner both nights, which is not our usual practice, because it was so good. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter37
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, (also for the one on our restaurant site), and it is a superb accolade for the Chef that you ate both nights when this is not your usual practice. You are correct, we do still have a couple of en-suites in need of upgrade. The room you stayed in is scheduled for an upgrade in...

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Wow! What a place ! We stayed in the Gainsborough suite it was amazing, beautiful room, beautiful views , excellent price for what you get . The staff are fantastic so friendly and welcoming, food excellent need I say much more apart from book now! I'm just about to book again can't wait.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mark_pearsall
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this superb review and feedback about every aspect of your stay. The suite is quite special with some stunning views and I am delighted with your comment about value for money. Really appreciate the compliments about food and service too. We have received your booking for 2017 and look forward to welcoming you again to...

Farnham
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had not been to the Wye Valley before and were pleasantly surprised by the dramatic scenery. The Hotel is in a tranquil spot with sweeping views and conveniently located for exploring the surrounding towns and tourist attractions. We stayed in the Gainsborough room which is more like a small apartment with its own landing separating the huge bedroom/llounge from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FarnhamJack
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review which gives a superb account of your stay with us in this beautiful part of the world. Your description of the Gainsborough suite provides an excellent insight for other potential guests considering opting for this grand Georgian room. I am delighted to hear, as will our Head Chef and her hardworking team, that you found...

Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed for a night when in the area on business. The room was fairly small, and the bathroom a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable. I ate in the restaurant and the food was really good and of a high standard. Service was warm and friendly. My stay represented good value for money. Will definitely use again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryn J
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Glewstone Court whilst on a business trip. We also appreciate the compliments especially about the food and perceived value for money. On your next visit you might like to try the Farquaad: also a small room and with no direct countryside view but newly refurbished to a high standard with underfloor heating,...

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Great evening spent at glewstone hotel My family and I had a fantastic dinner at glewstone over the weekend, the staff are pleasant, well mannered and efficient, food was to die for absolutely lovely presentation, fantastic flavours and very well balanced menu! The whole family enjoyed it from start to finish, will definitely be back and will recommend to friends...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky123abc
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

Thank you for your very complimentary review and both myself and the team of Chefs here are delighted to read your superb comments about every aspect of the food enjoyed by all the family. Very good to read too that you considered this supported by excellent service from the team here. We also appreciate you recommending us because, although close...

Ilminster
Reviewed 26 September 2016

very attractive old house. Dogs are welcome, which is rather disconcerting when your charming young waiter disappears during breakfast to collect a steaming bag given him by a dog owner to dispose of, before he returns to finish serving your breakfast!! Rooms are shabby-chic (perhaps more emphasis on the former) but that's fine for the country house atmosphere. What was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peandle
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

For the benefit of discerning TripAdvisor readers and to give a balanced view I will reciprocate with a ‘customer review’ and defend this obvious unfair and unfounded attack on our business, staff and reputation. You seemed to be very pleasant people when you arrived, until you discovered that we are a dog friendly hotel, (certain public areas but not the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We arrived at 7.45pm after a 3 hour drive and we were ready for good food! We were staying in the hotel and the proprietor had rang whilst we were on route to check our e.t.a. and asked if we wanted to dine. We did and were glad so. After a quick wash and brush up we were down in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShazEarlybank
GlewstoneCourt, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review

A really informative review which nicely portrays an evening at Glewstone Court. As it was a warm, pleasant evening, most guests ate early and were already relaxing by the time you arrived as you observed. However this did not at all detract from your enjoyment of everything about Glewstone Court. We appreciate your observations and compliments and hope to welcome...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.1 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
547 reviews
3.8 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
148 reviews
4.0 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,065 reviews
3.0 km away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
335 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glewstone Court is an iconic Country Manor House dating back to 1709 with Georgian and Regency features. You approach the property past an awesome 300 year old Cedar of Lebanon. Glewstone was a finalist for the Restaurant of the Year and Breakfast of the Year in "Flavours of Herefordshire", Our food is innovative and prepared from good, fresh local ingredients; organic and free-range whenever possible. It has a comfortable atmosphere that permeates the bedrooms, lounge bar and restaurants. Herefordshire is superb walking county and although the Hotel is a 'hidden gem', you're still only 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye. Alternatively, relax by the log fires, or on fine days, or laze in the garden with a glass of beer, wine or bubbly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glewstone Court

Address: Glewstone, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: €88 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glewstone Court 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Glewstone Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glewstone Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Glewstone Court Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glewstone Court staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Northridge, California, United States
9 months ago
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Glewstone Court staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the house overlook the apple orchard.”
roosda, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Gainsborough Room it was huge with a separate bathroom accessed by your own little hall and small staircase. The room overlooks the front garden with beautiful views over the distant landscape.”
619susiej, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Shelley room has an excellent view but not having seen the other rooms we cannot comment on them”
958garys958, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Shelley room was newly furbished and very comfortable with lovely views over the gardens and countryside. Very quiet and peaceful.”
lindsayb783, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a rear room which was very comfortable and the sounds of the countryside very relaxing.”
CooperTrooper55, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$95* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$108
Hotels.comUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates