We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Expedia.comUS$69*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$69*
US$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
 Click to rate
Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Disappointed to have no evening carvery, but the food we ordered was tasty and the dining room was quaint. They need more service staff (which added to a long wait for food). What I loved were the places nearby for walking and enjoying beauty. There is a nice hilltop viewing area, a walking area, and an interesting old grave of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elllend
lancs u.k
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed for one night, they didnt have a double room left but the twin room we had was nice and clean, my bed was comfortable but my husband said his was too soft. wi fi was good and free, breakfast was included and was help yourself and ample food which was frequently replenished. the staff were helpful and friendly. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodafan
Reading
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we first found the Highdown as a wedding venue the year before, we spoke to the manager at the time and we went ahead and booked it, as it was perfect. It had the ceremony room upstairs, the function room downstairs and a hotel on site for guests. When we went back after Christmas to go through plans, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stellad999
Highdown H, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely account of your wedding. I can not apologize enough for the rocky start that you had here at The Highdown, however it was a great pleasure to have helped you to enjoy your perfect day and begin your married life together. I wish you both all the happiness in your...

rustington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for a carvery in the evening.only to be told they don't do carverys in the evening.the service there is totally shocking there now.as they say you can't pay for the bill separate i said just order for me separate if I sit on a different table then.we guessed how bad it was as there were only 2 other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidRustington
Highdown H, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The offer of carvery in the evenings was withdrawn over 3 months ago and we now offer a evening menu, which would have been available when you visited. Unfortunately our till system will not allow seperate ordering against one table, however we could have split your bill at time of payment appropriately but i do...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A table of 10 and another other table of 3, oddly quiet for a Sat night!!! Great food and we all enjoyed it. Sadly - Very poor level of service First visit, very local, however wouldn't bother to go again due to the poor level service. 😞

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 666JEH
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

An excellent place to stay in quiet country location. Couldn't fault anything at all. Room beautiful Clean &comfortable staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. You can get evening meals and carvery in day. Gardens next to hotel was a hidden gem a must to visit. We will Definitely go back again for longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We parked for free and had a stroll up the hill, it was not too strenuous for our group aged between 2 and 72. We enjoyed the few information stops along with the dens. There is a cafe for food and ice creams, which was reasonably priced but the children were disappointed as the doggy ice cream looked better than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kafferleen
Highdown H, General Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for your review we really appreciate it when our guests take time to complete reviews. I am glad you enjoyed your walk and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Stratton Saint Margaret, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as we were visiting family. Very nice oldy worldy hotel.comfy beds and extra heating in room. We had afternoon tea in little cafe on site,fabulous cakes scones toasties and loads more huge helpings and cheaper than anywhere ive ever been great. Evening Food in hotel very tasty .nice staff. Will definitely stay again reasonable rates.Oh gardens are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonrichard1946
London,
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Christmas office party - where to start? Starters served before we had sat down. Informed management that we had not all arrived - food had to come out of the kitchen, even the soup which was then covered with a side plate. Starters not all cleared away before main course served. Things got worse, food was cold, meat if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 873kate
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We'd driven past the turn off for this hotel many times so we're keen to try it. At a reasonable price ( midweek) of £6.50 the carvery is average. Nothing special, nothing fancy. Just a decent lunch. The decor of the place is tired, air vents blocked etc etc Really this is a venue waiting to be bought by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
5.2 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
359 reviews
5.6 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
291 reviews
4.8 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
226 reviews
2.7 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Price Range: €70 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel”
IngridS238, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 if you are looking for a comfortable room at the back.”
travel1Lincolnshire, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look elsewhere there is a Premier inn down the road, I wish I had realised!”
  • Noticed the shower curtain when already in shower ugh! I didn't use it again.
  • Tired grotty tiles and shower curtain
  • Valance on spare singe bed, but not on sheets. So how long had it been there?
, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't have the single room if you want a window (skylight only)”
Deal_Kent_EnglandSoo, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a single they are windowless!”
Roomchecker007, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$69
Booking.comUS$69
Hotwire.comUS$69
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates