We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Hotels.comUS$77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We live locally, so can't comment on the rooms. However we do eat here on a regular basis as the prices are reasonable and the food well prepared. We particularly like the fish and chips and the soup of the day, which has never disappointed. It's dog friendly and also has a lovely safe enclosed garden. We recently held our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad you have enjoyed dining with us for 22 years! Our waiting and kitchen staff are so happy to hear your feedback with regards to the food and service you have received over the years and during your son's birthday party recently. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Well, on the outside it looks great and parts of it are inside, but I have stayed here a few times, over the years, and its rooms are really on adequate and often too noisy, if you face the road or are above the bar. So my suggestion is always say, ''Quiet room, away from bar and road and NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our historic building but we are disappointed to hear that some elements of your stay were unsatisfactory. Should you stay with us again we will do our utmost to allocate you a room located at the rear of the property, well away from any street or bar noise....

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The young hard working team made our weekend. This classic building is charming. Our group dinner was well presented. The wine served was excellent and good value. We had a room on the top floor, which would have been difficult for those lacking mobility, but the hotel has ground floor rooms for guests who need them

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing comments. We are proud of our historic building and we are glad that you enjoyed its charms during your recent stay with us. I’m also happy to hear that you were impressed with the food, wine and service in our restaurant. Thank you for highlighting our ground-floor rooms which are more easily accessible for guests...

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

we spent four nights at the lodge in Banbury we had a very pleasant stay the lodge is situated in a prime spot a 100 yard walk and you are in the town the food in the lodge was very good a nice selection cooked and presented well the only complaint our room although spotlessly clean could have done with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weller544
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your lovely feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your food and room and the Cromwell Lodge’s location whilst here with us on your short break. We are disappointed that you found your room’s décor not to be up to standard and we will use this feedback to inform our ongoing maintenance plan

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Nice hotel... although it is extremely dated, the rooms are all on a slant, Its pot look on the type of room you.... if you are near the kitche be prepared for 11pm music and a 6am musical wake up from the chefs. ALthough most fo the staff are nice.... they are shockingly untrained; An Example... I had to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R S
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this useful feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your breakfast, at the Cromwell Lodge hotel. I apologise that you were disturbed by noise during your stay – this point has been raised to our kitchen staff and we will be paying closer attention to noise levels...

Hockley, Essex
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Typical Olde English Inns standard run by Greene King . The breakfasts were of good quality and generous proportions with a varied menu of continental and traditional. Typical pub fayre for dinner but again , well cooked and generous. The Lodge is on the opposite side of the road to the start of the main town centre with plenty to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Cromwell Lodge and sharing your comments with us. It is encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the service that our staff provided for you. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future and continue to offer the great service that we are so proud of.

Lutterworth
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Hotel building dates back to 17th century so floorboards creak, floors aren't always level and walls aren't straight. Hotel is full of character but is somewhat tired and in need of a lick of paint and lots of TLC. Rather too much painted woodchip for my liking. Silly basic errors - had to ask for a second bath towel, bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedrolutterworth
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to the Cromwell Lodge. We also love the charm and character of our hotel but I am sorry to hear that some of the aspects of your room fell below your expectations. We endeavour to carry out required maintenance promptly so I appreciate you bringing these points to our attention

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

There were some really good things about this hotel. It is a very old characterful building with an attractive garden. The charming manager tried very hard to make our stay perfect. Our evening meal was better than good. The location is very convenient, and the room rates and food prices are excellent. There is a free car park behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maisielane
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our location, staff and garden. We are very proud of all of these aspects of the hotel. However, we are very sorry that your experience of our rooms was less than perfect. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel and hope we can welcome you back...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Single room of which the hotel has only one. Great location for reaching the village of Cropredy where the 3 day music festival is held. Stay was for 5 nights. If coming to festival book well ahead. Dining room at breakfast time very understaffed lovely people and as a consequence service was very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard h
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are very pleased you had a pleasant stay and happy that we were able to add to your festival experience. We really appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast service and hope to ensure that we take your feedback on board. All feedback is invaluable to us to ensure that we are always meeting the standards of you, the customer....

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

On the 1st august, after 2 and a half years of planning, myself and my, now, wife had a blessing and a sit down meal with our guests followed by an evening reception with disco buffet and karaoke at the Cromwell lodge hotel. Well i dont really have enough words to express how amazing the venue and staff were. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased we were able to help ensure that your wedding day was as perfect as possible. We will pass on your comments regarding the service and food to our staff and we all look forward to seeing you, your wife and friends very soon

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
423 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: €68 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different place to stay!”
  • Noisy outside but also inside - creaking floors and banging doors
  • The Great Rift Valley
  • Really shabby everywhere
  • A good indication of the general standards
Hunny_Munster, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded to a superior room as it was our anniversary and had room 3, it was very spacious”
558helenb, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
margaretandmikes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room!”
del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
Booking.comUS$77
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates