We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lismore Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lismore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Somerset
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

As my usual Holuday Inn Express is closed for works, I hunted high and low for a room in a hotel. This was possibly my only choice. However, this will be the last time I ever stay here. It's a proper dump. The whole place was run down, it was expensive for what it was. The room stank, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank TomSomerset
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely disgusting, from severe mould around the windows and doors to mildew on the shower and bath and everything in between. No lightbulb in the light, table lamp not working either awful smelling. I ended up checking out and sleeping in my van because I could not breathe in the room. Told the manager who came to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michael R
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thats why you would not show me what you found, i have taken pictures little mildew by the bottom hing on the door that was it lamb you need to touch it and it will turn on the room was very warm maybe over warm for many a guest. You didnt sleep in your van, i will not say...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

First stay in Banbury chose the lismore hotel but regret paying for a nights stay and should of travelled home the room was cold damp dirty , rubbish all around the entrance would not be recommending To anyone

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kerryann S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Me and my partner booked to stay here on the way back home from our trip. The website showed a nice looking hotel and we agreed to give it a go. When we arrived we were greeted by a very abrupt man who I felt didn't want to be there and give a good service to the general public. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HLP867
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

My maid was still working and she checked the room, bedding, carpets, bathroom tiles, curtains, we could not find anything wrong. Yes we did have a slight flood and could not give you the room allocated so I put you in a big nice room,I have no idea why you didn't want to stay and to put this on 6...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Wanted, a cheap and comfortable room near to the M40 for an overnight stay, no meals required. We picked the Lismore and chose a chalet since they had the better reports on TA. Only because we had seen pictures of the car park did we realise that you approach this establishment from the rear. The main building looks a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 99ray
skitpon
Reviewed 28 November 2014

I stay in hotels all over the uk almost every week, i always try and stay indie-pendant rather than using the same old corporate hotel boxes. This has its own dangers as sometimes you can land some pretty grim places, you can also land some real gems. This place had a wonderful bed with that was really comfortable, as well...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Dave E
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed here over night had 2 chalet rooms,one was ok the other was so small... double bed pushed up to the wall so had to climb over hubby to get out of bed, uncomfortable night..Paid for breakfast that took 20 minutes to arrive and the pot of tea after 3 enquiries to where it was finally arrived after we had...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Maxine H
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Morrison do a express breakfast, 15 mins is not long to wait to get a freshly cooked breakfast.You have a choice from the other things we have .We don't put your cooked breakfast on top of your cereal bowl, the waitress does speak English but struggles with the speed what people talk at and the dialects we have. many thanks...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2014

A complete fabrication of the truth on the website. If I was the owner of this property, I cannot call it a hotel, I would be ashamed. My room was beyond shabby, 2 single beds, uncomfortable, linen was clean , I checked !!, . A filthy carpet. Holes on the wall where a head board had been removed, the other...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank C O
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

The head board had come from the wall the week before and was put back on, The screw has chipped the paint no bigger than my little finger tip not a big whole. The carpet is absolutely fine dark red with the price of Wales feathers in the pattern.The head board Pattern is a creamy colour with flecks of black...

Reviewed 3 September 2014

I've only just started working in Banbury and it's nearly a 200 mile round trip to go home so the aim was to find a hotel for regular stays. My first impressions from the front were ok, although I struggled to find the car park and when I did there were so many large vans and lorries that parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shert01
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

hi its nice to read a true review. The side entrance we cannot change it the house next door is to close planning issue. I agree the doors can slam but the doors are over 100 years old imperial size and very heavy, and sold wood. To cover for fire the closers must be tight or the doors will fail,...

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a duration of one night in a 'chalet' during the week, the 'chalet' was beyond small, we were instantly hit by an awful old musty smell as we opened the door it got no better the carpets and floors were beyond dirt, the whole room was tatty/old and in need of a deep clean. The bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Charlotte C
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly our pictures on the internet of the chalet rooms are what they are. They are the first room to sell however if you like a room in the hotel you should book one. Yes I was watching F1 replay in the bar as the bar is open all day I did come to you and greeted you before you...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.0 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
232 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.8 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: €79 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
The Lismore Hotel Banbury, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips to give but will not book again.”
leeboyw, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are very quiet.”
609brendap, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere, anywhere else!!”
philippakaye2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any good rooms”
K4714QOlindam, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Move one - sleep in your car is better than paying for this piece of run-down relic.”
durianwool2, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$98
Booking.comUS$104
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates