We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lismore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lismore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Unhygienic. Carpets so old, they stink of the years of tobacco smoke. Junk in the hallway. Furniture and fittings from 70's/80's or older, and broken. The geezer who runs the place was rude when the room door slammed which shows bad maintenance since he should've adjust the door spring to close gently in the first place! And he charged £90...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank durianwool2
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

i have been waiting for this the fire place is over a 100 years old bit like you the carpet is a new carpet fitted 4 weeks ago the room was full decorated 6 weeks ago, I advised your mate not to stay in hotels like mine go to a travel lodge and he said we normally stay at travel...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

i was met by rude and blunt receptionist, only interested in getting payment for room at £70 excluding breakfast. Room very small, shower broken, light from out side flashing in room. Would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShazR50
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

The LED lights at the front of the hotel are only on untill 10.30 latest we do not include bfast in our internet price sorry if we didnt tickle your tummy on arrival, We take the payment on arrival as so many cards do not autherise but unlike the bigger hotel who charge you when you book and do not...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I've read some really bad reviews for this hotel but, bearing in mind the price, it is good value. The man who checked us in was welcoming. Our room was enormous and though the 4 poster bed creaked, it was beautifully made up, the linen smelled really fresh and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was tired agreed but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsC62
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Allocated a teensy tiny room on the front with a tiny window and no ensuite. Freezing cold. I found it quite expensive. Didn't bother me that its not in the town centre. Only stayed here because Im not familiar with Banbury hotels and remembered a friend had lived at the hotel back in 1995 (yes moons ago!) and only after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romagirl327
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

think you must be short sighted all our room are en-suite and the town centre is only 300 yards at the most away so not sure where you stayed not in my hotel that's for sure

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

There's a few things I could say about this place but here's the one you need to know, me and a work mate stayed here through our company thank god I wasn't paying anyway I the night before we were checking out I noticed a few marks on my stomach thought it was something I had done at work but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brendan L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Chalet 49, the front door step was loose / wobbley. The shower / toilet room extractor fan didn't work and the bedding was damp and the towels. Parking on site was very good but the walk in to the rear door via a passage way littered with cigarette butts and rubbish that seemed to of been over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob1557
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Ramp into disabled access room but could not move the wheelchair round the room. Plus you need to be able to walk up two steps to get to breakfast. Breakfast was ok but had to ask for more coffee. Send No notification of booking. So had to ring up to check my booking. Sorry I can't recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey C
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This hotel is okay for a short stop over ,but wouldn't stay longer it needs updating and it's cold ,we stayed in Oct and had to ask for the heating to be put on ,plus you have to pay extra for breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandysquire779
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

October can be warm and we did put the heating on and other guests said it was to hot. We advertise on all the web sits room only but you can book through booking.com laterooms or direct. Many guests don't take breakfast and on arrival we do ask if you would like breakfast yes its extra £5.00 if you book...

Spain
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We stayed for one night and were pleased that it was no longer. It was like Faulty Towers, but worse. The rooms were back in the 50's, with furniture that should have burnt. The front garden was a disgrace, with full ashtrays, flower beds untouched with a wonderful selection of weeds. The food at breakfast was okay, but the service...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Alan1766Spain
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on the 15/03/16 , I'm lucky enough that the company I work for paid for my stay because I would have paid the £77 they asked for, out dated room with 3 by 2 supporting the bed, shampoo stain on the inside of the bath ie not been cleaned, dinner was OK, beer was a bit over...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eoin K

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
0.8 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: €72 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
The Lismore Hotel Banbury, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 609brendap, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere, anywhere else!!”
 of 5 bubbles philippakaye2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles K4714QOlindam, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Move one - sleep in your car is better than paying for this piece of run-down relic.”
 of 5 bubbles durianwool2, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“dont get a single unless you're really on a budget - no ensuite and cold in winter. Mouldy socks under bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Romagirl327, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5