We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Manse Guesthouse

Save
Share
6 Clifton Road Silverlands, Buxton SK17 6QL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Old Manse Guesthouse
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our elegant Victorian stone built property is ideally situated in a leafy residential area. The quiet location ensures our guests a delightfully warm and peaceful stay. It is just a short walk from the historical town centre of Buxton, its Opera House & Pavilion Gardens. Ideal for exploring the Peak District National Park. Conference facilities available.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Complimentary instant cofffee
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
244Reviews1Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 33
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Relax39717101575 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We stayed at the Old Manse Guest over half term in October 2020. We enjoyed a lovely stay despite the weather being somewhat inclement. The comfort level is good and breakfast excellent. We would recommend a stay here to anyone. Alan & Diana
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Gordon, Owner at The Old Manse Guesthouse
Responded 18 Nov 2020
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are both so glad to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would love to welcome you back to The Old Manse in the future.
Read more
Dorothy J wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We had 2 nights at this conveniently placed guesthouse. The place was spotless, lovely room and excellent food. However, I felt that their interpretation of Covid rules were at the most not consistent and at the least just plain stupid. For example, the delicious breakfast was ruined because despite being a very windy day, the window was open and I was frozen! I understand the need for good ventilation, but a good airing before the commencement of breakfast on such a bad day and the large open doorway which led into the hallway, I felt would have provided adequate ventilation. If the heating had been turned higher this would have compensated for the window being open but it was barely warm. We had 2 lunches and 2 evening meals, with all establishments adhering to covid rules, but at no time did we feel cold. Another point is that we recently stayed in a hotel in Venice where there was no self service at all and I feel this system should be implemented here as you help yourself to cereals, juice, yoghurt, etc. In addition, instead of providing milk in small cartons, etc., you go to a small fridge and take out little bottles of the stuff. Surely it is far more safer to have individual milks replaced. Also, the visitors' book was there to sign with pen! Free sweets in baskets are available and again whilst it is a nice touch, I feel it is not a good idea in this present time. Rooms are not serviced because of Covid and this was not a problem. Hairdryers are on request but surely these could be placed in all rooms and disinfected after each stay. The owners have gone to great trouble to provide a safe environment and I applaud them. However, I do think that leaving extra teabags, coffee sachets, etc. outside your door was a little bit over the top as I have pointed out all their inconsistencies in managing Covid! This was a lovely atmospheric guesthouse (even the placemats matched the wallpaper!) and I have no hesitation in recommending this to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Gordon, Owner at The Old Manse Guesthouse
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Thanks for your review - though we do find it rather odd that your husband wrote his review, then deleted it once I had published my response and you then chose to write your very first review on this platform. It is also a pity that none of your concerns were raised with us at the time and that indeed, upon checkout, when asked, again, whether everything was to your satisfaction, we received a positive response from you. Unfortunately, there are occasions when this platform is used for a customer to vent their frustrations - had any of your concerns been raised with us at the time I would have happily shared with you our risk assessment document for our safe opening, and pointed out our Visit England certificate, displayed on the front door, certifying that we are adhering to all of the Government guidelines for our industry. Together, of course, with all of our other very positive and happy customers that have visited since our re-opening on 4th July this year. I have included my original response Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We always do appreciate our guests feedback as it helps us to inform our business. However, I do feel it necessary to respond to a couple of your comments to ensure fairness to all parties. When you were sent the booking confirmation details you were made aware of the arrival time and of course of the necessary additional measures put in place to enable our guests to have a comfortable and safe visit whilst staying with us. Part of this is in ensuring that rooms are cleaned and then left empty for a 24 hour period prior to new guests' occupation of that room. This would also have been the case for your room. Consequently we are adjusting our booking diary to accommodate this for our guests and therefore need to ensure that the rooms are not only thoroughly cleaned, but also thoroughly sanitised and then left for a full 24 hour period prior to their occupation. This means that, when you knocked on our door earlier than the advised time, we were busy preparing rooms for occupation for the following day. We are not able to offer advice and information whilst at the same time preparing rooms as we must ensure that this process is completed before 2pm so as to ensure a FULL 24 hours are given before guests due the next day are able to occupy their booked room. Whilst we can appreciate that, on your part, it may have just been advice that you were seeking, you must also appreciate the extra measures ( and time) put in place for you and for your room to ensure that you are as safe as possible during your stay with us. This information was made clear to you when we sent you our Covid guidelines, as we do with all of our bookings to ensure that guests are happy with the changes that we have needed to make to our business to adhere legally to Government advice for our industry. Secondly, your point about keeping the window open in the breakfast room during service is again, a Government guideline given to our industry and encouraged to be used to ventilate indoor spaces where possible. We open the sash window a few inches to ensure ventilation of the room during and after service.The door to the breakfast room is an internal one and therefore offers no additional ventilation at all and so we are somewhat surprised to learn that you felt our safety measures to be 'unnecessary'. We have worked hard since re-opening in July this year to ensure that we continue to offer all of our guests a safe and comfortable guest experience whilst staying with us, and have been thrilled at the number of positive comments and reviews received from our guests that explicitly say how safe and confident they feel with the implementation of our Covid 19 regulations whilst staying with us. We were somewhat surprised that you felt our concern for the safety of our guests was not necessary. We have to wholeheartedly disagree with you here - the safety of our guests is of paramount importance to us and always will be. If the advice we are given is to ensure that indoor spaces are well ventilated then we will continue to do this - to keep our customers as safe as we possibly can.
Read more
phill-newf wrote a review Sep 2020
Dereham, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellant breakfast with all diets catered for, rooms were clean and covid safe and well equipped. friendly owners who offered good advice on where to visit and where to eat locally. plenty of room on the road outside to park which was very quiet and safe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Gordon, Owner at The Old Manse Guesthouse
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Thanks for your very kind review of your recent stay with us. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are particularly grateful to you for your comments about being Covid safe as this is very important to us and we were glad to know that you felt the rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped. We would love to welcome you back to The Old Manse Guesthouse; you would be most warmly welcomed.
Read more
Joseph L wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom681 contributions135 helpful votes
the breakfast here is probably the best you will ever get in a b&b . the place is very clean, comfortable and covid aware and only a short walk to everywhere in buxton .there are a lot of stairs but Neil is a big strong chap who will whisk your luggage to your room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Gordon, Owner at The Old Manse Guesthouse
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Thanks so much for your wonderful review - we are always so pleased to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we were very touched by your kind comments about your breakfast. It's always lovely to hear that you enjoyed it.
Read more
Debs63_13 wrote a review Sep 2020
Rotherham, United Kingdom10 contributions
After having to change our March plans to stay here for September we both still felt a little apprehensive staying anywhere other than home due to the virus. All those worries were taken care off as soon as we entered this guest house. Guidelines were explained,right down to using anti bac before entering the dining room. Lis reassured us about her cleanliness and how she anti bacs continually even after customers have used the menus and condiments. The Old Manse was spotless even to my standards.The comfortable bed had nice bedding and soft white towels to use after the hot shower. The breakfast menu was one of the best ive seen,the full english we both had was hot,delicious and freshly cooked. There is also a superb buffet breakfast which includes cereal,yoghurt and a great choice of fresh fruit and juices. I hope this reassures anyone wishing to book here during these strange times. Lis and Neale have virtually thought of everything to keep themselves and others staying here safe.The guest house is on a very quiet road, infact we heard no noise at all.It's an easy walk into town and free parking was right on the door step. Thankyou for a relaxing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeth Gordon, Owner at The Old Manse Guesthouse
Responded 22 Sep 2020
Wow - thanks so much for such a wonderful review. We were both so glad to know how reassured you both felt having stayed with us recently. We have worked hard to ensure that our Covid 19 risk assessment and guidelines are adhered to in order to keep all of our guests as safe as we possibly can and we were thrilled to learn that you did indeed feel very safe whilst staying with us as we see it as a compliment that we are caring for the safety of all of our guests. We were also really pleased to know how much you appreciated and enjoyed your full breakfast service, as each order is cooked fresh, with our locally sourced ingredients. Your kind words of praise for us really do mean so much in these strange times - we wish you both well and would love to welcome you back to The Old Manse Guesthouse in the future; you would most certainly be very warmly welcomed.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Manse Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Buxton Museum and Art Gallery (0.3 km), St Ann's Well (0.5 km), and Cavendish Arcade Buxton (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Herb Garden Vegetarian bistro, Columbine Restaurant, and The Tradesman's Entrance Cafe.
Is The Old Manse Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Buxton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Manse Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thornbridge Hall Gardens (13.7 km), Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (15.8 km), and Eyam Plague Village Museum (15.7 km).