We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Roseleigh
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
BOOK DIRECTLY through our website and you will always get the BEST SERVICE and Terms & Conditions. YOU ALSO get first choice to book LAKE VIEW rooms subject to availability The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Wi-Fi Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to nine cars plus free street parking nearby , and caters for different dietary requirements.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
588Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 502
  • 66
  • 16
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Liz M wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
Had a lovely stay here, made to feel very welcome and owners very helpful with directions and recommendations. Breakfast was excellent, all very covid safe. Bed very comfy and lovely shower. All very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Liz Many thanks for your positive feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again soon back in Buxton and The Peak District. With best regards Gerard , Maggi and The Team
Read more
Elaine wrote a review Oct 2020
Kettering, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
My partner brought me to Buxton for a birthday trip, and we stayed at Roseleigh for 4 nights. The location is fantastic, with views of the park, and I can’t fault the room at all. Comfortable bed, amazing shower (I am sad our house doesn’t have a shower like that). Breakfast was fantastic and we really appreciated how varied the menu was - I am vegetarian and Roseleigh offered a very nice veggie cooked breakfast. The proprietor was really helpful, and gave us good advice on walks and what days to go to avoid bad weather. There was enough car parking, and we never had to fight for a space. Perhaps most importantly, social distance and sanitising measures were in place and effective, with breakfasts being staggered and hand sanitiser pumps on the walls at regular intervals. Overall we had a great time, and we would definitely stay again. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Dear Elaine Thank you for your positive feedback which is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, bedroom, breakfast and our approach to Covid 19 measures (for whom we have to thank and highly recommend - Rafael Cobos of Cleaning MasterClass with whom we completed a Cleaning & Infection Control Course and applied the methodology to the Roseleigh and in the training of our staff). We would love to see you again back at the Roseleigh and the Peak District. With best regards Gerard, Maggi, and The Team
Read more
Bristoltraveller wrote a review Oct 2020
Bristol24 contributions32 helpful votes
We had a lovely few days here. We opted for a lake view room which was worth every penny - it was spacious and it was restful to sit in the comfy armchairs looking over the park. Every part of the guest house was spotlessly clean and very well organised to comply with COVID regulations. The service at breakfast service was very efficient and the breakfast itself was delicious - so much choice and perfectly cooked. Gerard was a mine of information about the area and gave lots of suggestions for places to visit. They also have laminated sheets of local walks to borrow. Bakewell, Castleton, Eyam and Derwent Valley dams were in east striking distance, as was Chatsworth (on our list for a future visit). All in all, a great stay and we hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Dear Bristoltraveller Thank you for your effusive review of your stay at the Roseleigh we are happy that you had such a positive experience. Thank you also for highlighting the efficient service which we must thank all our staff for, who are integral to the maintenance and servicing of the Roseleigh. With best regards Gerard, Maggi, and The Team
Read more
_lsteels wrote a review Oct 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Very peaceful with a wonderful view. Beautiful room with period features. Fantastic range for breakfast, and we sampled most of it. We felt welcomed and safe. Looking forward to returning in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Heelan, Owner at Roseleigh
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Dear LSteels Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your experience at the Roseleigh , and we are really glad that you found our location peaceful and scenic. We look forward to your return to sunny Buxton. With best regards Gerard, Maggi and The Team
Read more
Kerry R wrote a review Oct 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Stopped for 1 night. House is beautiful set opposite the lake/park. Very clean but our room was very small. The window led onto the fire escape, so we couldn’t leave the window open. Slightly over priced fora room with no view.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid room 12
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Heelan, General Manager at Roseleigh
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Dear Kerry We are aware that the room was booked upon your behalf by a family member , we did approach the person who booked the room at the very beginning as in our response below - "You were asking for something special - we would encourage a lake view room to be selected for something special" but received no response , thus the original booking was retained as requested. The Roseleigh was built in 1871 and we work within the remit of a Grade 2 Listed Status building. In some rooms the en suite facilities are compact, but we have tried to maximise every aspect of what we offer in the bedrooms and en suites. We also believe that all clients are always offered a professional level of customer service by all members of our staff. Being an historic building the Roseleigh offers an insight and connection back to a fascinating timeline in Buxton and its association with Chatsworth House (and beyond to Mary Queen of Scots who regularly took the Buxton Waters). The architects of the Roseleigh applied their planning of the room dimensions to the 19th century and therefore hopefully people will recognise this when they decide to stay with us and allow for its historic nature. To maximise the experience for our guests we continually invest in the Roseleigh every year. We have made a major capital investment to offer a comprehensive Free Ruckus Wi-Fi system, 43 inch flat screen TVs, and all en suite facilities were renewed in 2019. We always provide complete information to our clients of what the rooms entail by means of our virtual room tours - all our rooms can be viewed via the Virtual Tour facility on our website We are assessed by the AA every year. Their assessors provide a methodical system to all establishments – this year they awarded The Roseleigh 4 Stars’ Gold Award category, whilst we have retained for our 3rd year running our listing in the Good Hotel Guide 2019/2020/2021. Yours sincerely Gerard & Maggi
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roseleigh hotel buxton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roseleigh
Which popular attractions are close to Roseleigh?
Nearby attractions include Buxton Opera House (0.4 km), Pavilion Gardens (0.3 km), and Buxton Museum and Art Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roseleigh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Roseleigh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Roseleigh?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roseleigh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eat at No.5, Columbine Restaurant, and The Tradesman's Entrance Cafe.
Is Roseleigh located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Buxton.
Are there any historical sites close to Roseleigh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thornbridge Hall Gardens (14.4 km), Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (15.3 km), and Bugsworth Basin (9.5 km).
Does Roseleigh have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.