We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen's Head Hotel

Save
Share
High Street, Buxton SK17 6EU England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal small hotel in Buxton does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Queen's Head Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Close to some of Buxton's most popular landmarks, such as St. Anne's Church (0.1 mi) and The Green Man Gallery (0.2 mi), The Queen's Head Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Queen's Head Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The small hotel features baggage storage. Plus, The Queen's Head Hotel offers breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While visiting Buxton, you may want to try some surf and turf at one of the nearby restaurants, such as The Lone Star Cafe Bar.

Should time allow, Pavilion Gardens, Solomon's Temple, and The Devonshire Dome are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

The Queen's Head Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Buxton.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Darts
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
250Reviews3Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 86
  • 17
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
suesalford wrote a review Oct 2020
Cadishead, United Kingdom381 contributions155 helpful votes
The Queens Head is situated at the top of the hill and the centre of buxton, i.e. The market place is just down the road. It's an easy walk down the hill to the Pavilion Gardens, the more modern shopping centre and the brand new fancy hotel in the Crescent. The pub doesn't necessarily look like it has such modern rooms which are tucked around the back, although very easy to get to. We were in room 1, clean, with a good bathroom and plenty of tea and coffee. Very comfortable and a good sized bed. We walked into town for a meal but the breakfast was very good, as we were carefully distanced in the pub and staff operated very efficiently around us. Well organised, they phoned up to say we could check in at midday instead of 3pm if we wanted to, very thoughtful. A good base for the town and the area We parked the car in the market car park overnight, but I guess you could use the streets around the market place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Howarth, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised when you were taken to your modern comfortable room tucked around the back of our traditional pub. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed a good breakfast and that you were able to check in early! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
B1678 wrote a review Oct 2020
United Kingdom56 contributions23 helpful votes
Had a short 2 night stay in rooms 1 and 2. Rooms spotless clean with everything you would expect; tea/coffee making, great shower, Sky TV etc. Accommodation is located at the rear of the pub and check in was prompt and the staff are great. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was superb and this place is ideally located near to Buxton centre and other pubs and restaurants. Would have no hesitation staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 excellent
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Howarth, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Thanks so much for your review, I'm so glad that your rooms were spotlessly clean, had everything you needed including a great shower and that you enjoyed a superb breakfast! We hope to welcome you back to The Queens again soon.
Read more
suemalc2016 wrote a review Sep 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom32 contributions19 helpful votes
Just returned home after a very enjoyable break. The room was very nice and clean. Room 14 was ideal just for the two of us. The people who work there are very approachable and helpful. They cannot do enough for you. Check-in was very prompt. The young gentleman helped us to find a safe place to park our car. Breakfast was lovely. The cleaning staff are very cheerful and do a great job. Ian the landlord must be very proud of The Queens and the great team who work with him. We would definitely stay here again. We found the local people of Buxton very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Howarth, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Thanks for you review, I'm glad you had a very enjoyable break, and I'm so pleased to hear such lovely comments about the staff, I have passed those on! You're right I am very proud of The Queens and our staff and we all hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
SamRobbo1988 wrote a review Sep 2020
Redcar, United Kingdom185 contributions62 helpful votes
We arrived around 12 to this hotel, from first impressions I thought - oh god I didn’t think we booked a pub, not gonna get much sleep here!.. We were very wrong, out the back there was a number of small rooms, connected to a court yard/beer garden. (was a car park but changed due to Covid) Our room has a small out house on it, which was ideal to keep our bikes in. The rooms were not massive, quite small, but exactly what you expect for the UK in the Peak District- we only slept, washed & changed there!.. so ideal. Very clean, very tidy, everything you needed. And looks newly built or renovated.. As we had expected a car park, the owner let us park our car near the side of the pub, which was ideal. And very helpful of him. The breakfast in the morning was great, pretty much everything you could want, usually a buffet style continental then order your hot. But due to Covid was changed to order only.. (some menus would of been ideal, but not a major issue).. The staff were great every morning, worked very hard to keep everything running well, and really nice and polite. On our last night we went for an afternoon of drinking, unfortunately when we got in that night I dropped my engagement ring down the bathroom sink :( - i cried myself to sleep and hardly slept a wink, waiting for the bar to open to ask for some help.. The girl I spoke to couldn’t of been any nicer, she called the maintenance man to come and take the U-Bend off and retrieve it.. it took all of 10 minutes, and I couldn’t of been more grateful to them both.. It was appreciated so much!.. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone. Nothing was any trouble, lovely stay. Thank you guys very very much! xxxx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Howarth, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Thanks for your review! I'm glad we got you parked up even though we are lacking a car park at the minute. Lovely to hear how helpful the staff were and I'm so glad we retrieved your engagement ring promptly! I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and I have passed your kind comments on to the staff. We hope to see you both again soon!
Read more
Walking Man wrote a review Sep 2020
Totnes, Devon, England1 contribution
Arrived to find small, clean rooms above a dingy, tired pub on the high street. Very surprised, given the good reviews we had seen. Decided instantly not to stay as this was not what we were looking for and seemed overpriced. Talked politely with the manager who EXPLICITLY agreed to allow us a full refund on cancellation with booking.com. When we attempted the cancellation, he refused to refund £50 of our £75 booking claiming to booking.com that he had to turn away other customers, despite having many other rooms available online at the time. He then claimed that he would have to do a full deep clean of the room as we had stood in the doorway. Called to ask for the promised refund, and he told me he had never offered it. It is very insulting to be lied to repeatedly and no doubt he will continue to lie in his reply below. Very disappointed with the experience, due to the poor situation of the premises, but mostly because of the dishonest attitude and actions of the owner. Small Rooms Bad Location/Situation Overpriced Dishonest Managment
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Howarth, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Hello Walkingman420. The events described above don't seem to match the memory of my staff or myself. To start with, you booked a room on booking.com for £80. On arrival you seemed unhappy with your choice of hotel, you were checked in and shown to your room (not above the pub). A few minutes later you came to the bar to advise that you weren't happy that the room overlooked our small beer garden and that you were concerned that people outside would keep you awake on a Saturday night (to clarify it was a Thursday, the temperature was barely above 12 degrees C and not a single person was sat outside). You also advised that the bed had springs in the mattress and there was no way that you could sleep in a bed with springs in it (we are still not sure how you know the bed has springs when you had only stood in the doorway). At this point you chose to check out early and I was called to confirm your departure. You did ask for a refund and I advised that because your booking was with booking.com that any price alterations would have to be negotiated with them. Later that evening and after an exchange of conversation with a booking.com agent a £30 refund was accepted by yourselves, unfortunately this was followed up by a phone call to the hotel from you where you threatened that if we didn't give you £50 that you would write "trashy reviews" about us. I advised that "I wouldn't be threatened or blackmailed by you". Just to clarify the room was exactly as described, you and I were both contracted by booking.com, me to provide the room as described and you to pay for the reservation through them. I honored my side of the agreement yet you chose to write "trashy reviews" after "accepting" an agreed refund.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Queen's Head Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Queen's Head Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Buxton Opera House (0.4 km), Pavilion Gardens (0.4 km), and Buxton Museum and Art Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Queen's Head Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Queen's Head Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Queen's Head Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Queen's Head Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eat at No.5, The Herb Garden Vegetarian bistro, and Columbine Restaurant.
Is The Queen's Head Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Buxton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Queen's Head Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thornbridge Hall Gardens (14.2 km), Arbor Low Stone Circle & Gib Hill Barrow (15.2 km), and Bugsworth Basin (9.6 km).