We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace Hotel

Save
Share
Palace Hotel Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/21
Priceline
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$116
US$97
View deal
SAVE US$19
Booking.comUS$110
Hotels.comUS$110
Trip.comUS$116
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1501)
Room & Suite (494)
Dining (64)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 10 hotels in Buxton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 186 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
4,115Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 689
  • 1,109
  • 920
  • 714
  • 683
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andy R wrote a review Mar 2021
Liaocheng, China3 contributions4 helpful votes
Don t deserve 4 stars. Maybe in UK worth of 3 Stars. EU Stars 2. Rooms are not very clean and very used look, service at reception is not helpful, WiFi cost 7 pounds per days, no minibar or AC (must for a 4 star), Hotel looks nice outside and the lounge looks nice. There are much better hotels around.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
4 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. All our facilities are stated at the time of booking under the ‘hotel facilities section’ I apologise if you feel this wasn’t made clear. You have mentioned the rooms were ‘not very clean’ you didn’t mention this during your stay because I’m sure any issues would have been resolved by our housekeeping manager. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our room and we do hope you will return in the future.
Read more
Gareth wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Although the hotel looks very grand from the outside and even in the lobby, the rooms themselves tell a different story. As I am a wheelchair user I booked a disabled room which was, to put it mildly, dismal. Small and depressing, with bare walls save for two unevenly hung pictures, and one window with zero view, we were shocked upon entering. The bed was all rumpled, the sheets were untidy and the mattress was exposed. The lamp plug beside the bed was hanging partially out of the socket and was unable to be pushed fully in as it was wrapped around the leg of the bed. The kettle could not be filled as the basin was too narrow to fit it under. Upon going to reception and asking if a member of staff could come and look at the room, we were told that this wasn't possible due to Covid. However, after insisting we were finally told that someone would come and look. When the staff member eventually showed up they were unsympathetic as we pointed out the numerous defects and, as far as being unable to fill the kettle up, suggested we purchase some bottled water from the front of the hotel. The following day we had had enough and asked for another room. We were moved to what was supposedly one of their superior suites, although we were told that this wasn't a disabled room and so I would have to transfer in and out of a bath. Upon entering the bathroom however, we discovered that the plumbing wasn't fully functional and that several inches of the previous guest's water was sat stagnant in the bath, and there was a similar problem with the basin. On returning to the reception we were told that a plumber couldn't be sent for several days so we essentially would have to make do. To add insult to injury, we had further problems involving the hotel's disabled parking spaces, as numerous times we returned to the hotel to find that every one of their limited number of disabled spaces had been taken by able-bodied guests without a blue badge. When we complained about this to the hotel we were told that there was nothing they could do about this, even when we provided them with registration numbers and photographs. The staff once again were totally uninterested and were unwilling to even allow a cone to be placed in one of the spaces so as to reserve it. As someone who is paralysed from the chest down and requires the car door to be fully open in order to get out and into my wheelchair, I found the hotel's treatment of this issue nothing short of disgraceful. When we eventually spoke to a manager, who we had previously been told was unavailable, he offered us a meagre £40 off our stay of several hundred pounds, a token gesture but all he said he was able to do. On returning home we sent a formal letter of complaint in and were offered a complimentary stay AT THE SAME HOTEL! After the hellish few days we'd just spent there, I couldn't think of anything worse than making a return visit. Instead I enquired as to whether it would be possible to stay at another Britannia Hotel, hopefully with better facilities and wheelchair access; I received no reply to this and neither Haley Cowles nor Richard Smith (the managers who I sent the initial complaint to and who offered us the complimentary stay) have been in touch since. This was meant to be a bit of luxury and a much needed break after the initial lockdown, instead it became a few days of torture.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the current coronavirus pandemic our staff will only enter a guests rooms when the guest is not in the room this is to protect yourself and our staff against the virus. After speaking to the staff I can see that they logged they would enter the room whilst you were out I apologise if you felt this wasn't made clear to you. I can see you have stated above you were moved to an alternate room again this was explained that it was a shower over the bath which we understand wasn't ideal but the other wet room you didn't want due to it been of a similar layout to your original room. In regards to the plumbing issue our maintenance team have investigated and the problem has now been rectified. The date of your stay we were fully booked unfortunately we do not reserve car parking spaces for guests it is on a first come first served basis. I appreciated that you required a disabled parking space and I will ensure to pass your comments onto the reception team. I have passed all your comments onto the management team. We do hope you will take us up on the offer for another visit so we can make your stay a memorable one for all the right reasons and restore your faith within the hotel.
Read more
katie s wrote a review Dec 2020
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom166 contributions44 helpful votes
My friend and I got a great groupon deal that included dinner and access to the spa facilities. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to use the spa, so cannot comment on this. The food was good (not great, but good). There are no complaints from me in terms of the food though, as the Groupon price was an absolute steal and the service was really efficient. Buxton itself is a lovely little village with lots of independent shops, bars and restaurants. There is also a lovely park just around the corner with a play area, lakes, paddle boats, lots of dog walkers etc, so I can imagine this would be a fantastic spot in peak summer. We were there as we were hiking around the area. This hotel is so ideally situated for those wanting to explore the Peak District. Now, when staying here PLEASE bear in mind that this hotel has been standing since the 1800s. Therefore it is going to be DATED. Architecturally it is magnificent, and you can imagine it being frequented by the middle/upper class back in its hay day. It has been somewhat neglected in places, and the rooms (especially the showers) have not been modernised at all. We found that we had to leave the shower running for a good 10 minutes before the hot water came through- purely due to how many pipes the water had to travel through before it got to us (we were on the top floor). However, we weren’t really bothered by it. The beds were comfy and there was tea and coffee, which is all we were bothered about. This hotel is also dog friendly which is nice. Just let them know in advance, and there is a surcharge you’ll have to pay on arrival. Overall, we had a great stay. I will definitely stay again when I’m next exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and embraced the grandure of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Read more
Andy M wrote a review Dec 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night for my girlfriends birthday as it looks "grand" and looked like and looked like an old style hotel on the photos. we arrived and found it easy to park (plenty of parkin, for a price) and was greeted by friendly members of staff who checked us in and explained about the covid safe measure in place. Our room was dated, but was warm, the TV worked and there was a kettle. There only seemed to be a couple of plugs that takes a normal UK plug, the others seemed to be or a older era. The bathroom is my real gripe as its really small specifically the shower. The shower head leaked at the connection so there was a small trickle that came out. The cubical was small and the door didn't close properly so the water wet the floor. The hotel is NOT the worst Iv stayed in it just needs an update but keeping the classic grand hotel theme. The staff make the place, every member I spoke to were very friendly and are a credit to the company. I hope they get the credit they deserve from the uppers. You do have to pay for parkin but it is for 24 hour so you don't have to pay for parking in the town whilst you explore.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the staff were friendly I will ensure to pass your comments onto them. We are currently in the process of re-decorating some of our rooms. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.
Read more
greg p wrote a review Nov 2020
14 contributions30 helpful votes
stayed here for 3 nights used it as a base for walking in the peaks the staff where very friendly , especially the lad showing you to your table at meal times , , food was good plenty of it , the swimming pool was never to busy , overall would stay here again when out walking the peaks
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Palace Hotel Buxton, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palace Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palace hotel buxton, palace buxton, buxton hotel palace, barcelo buxton, hotel palace buxton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireBuxton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Monk Cocktail Bar (0.1 km), Buxton Opera House (0.3 km), and Pavilion Gardens (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Palace Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Herb Garden Vegetarian bistro, Columbine Restaurant, and Cafe at The Green Pavilion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Palace Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Buxton.
Are pets allowed at The Palace Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Palace Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Plague Village Museum (16.0 km), Thornbridge Hall Gardens (14.2 km), and Eyam Hall & Craft Centre (15.9 km).
Does The Palace Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.