We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Black Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Black Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Start your review of Old Black Lion
 Click to rate
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely old creaky venue, authentic decorated rooms, lovely modern en suite, food fresh, innovative and lush, temperature a bit too warm however, bedroom temperature we were able to control ourselves. Just had our first breakfast. Quality produce, well cooked, nothing seemed to be any trouble.....extra toast and coffee available. All in all a good travel zoo deal, but one we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hubbard78
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't wait to visit this warm, friendly, clean and understated pub with rooms again soon. I personally am not normally a fan of pubs but this is such an exception. Called in for lunch, we ordered fish and chips - absolutely delicious. The ambience was superb. If you're hesitating, don't. You won't be disappointed. I want to go and try...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann-Marie P
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much - and yes Friday Jazz is a blast!!

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was good and excellent value with Travelzoo Voucher which included a glass of wine. You must try the old. Black Beer brewed by wye valley.......that alone is worth a visit to this lovely little pub. The staff are friendly and attentive but not in an intrusive way. Overall an excellent visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shiralee3
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much. It is great to get feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived earlier than stated, but no trouble checked into our lovely room, comfortable bed, bathroom great shower, room was furnished with antiques loved it, ate in the restaurant both nights, great vegetarian option on both nights.. The food was well cooked and absolutely delicious, would highly recommend eating here, try the triple cooked chips.... The pannacotta was amazing.. Well done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley137
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Much appreciated.

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good reviews but for us we were disappointed. The service was very poor, and they seemed more interested in chatting out back than being front of house welcoming and attending to our table. The starter was ok, as was the desert. We all swopped the potato part of the meal for the triple cooked chips which were very good, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleyec
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, So sorry that you were disappointed with your cheap deal. Our a la carte menu is the same for all our customers and we are not trying to "claw back" money as you have stated.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for an overnight stay, car park is a little tight but has ample spaces, friendly reception from the staff. The room was a nice size and clean, bathroom's modern and fresh with a great shower. It's situated close the the local shops and riverside walks (take your wellies though) Only problem was I had no signal on my mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen L
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room across the way from the entry was bright and comfortable, carefully furnished, with good bedside lighting conveniently controlled. The bathroom was compact but spotless, stylish and up-to-date - especially the high tech mirror ! The only suggestion I'd make to improve convenience would be a few more hooks, in the bathroom and to hang coats in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peony42
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Take the time to continue past the famous bookshops and seek out this gem. We stayed for two nights with dinner on the first night... which was so enjoyable that we ate in the pub the second night too. A really lovely pub with superb staff who were so friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
North Wales
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have recently returned from a two stay at The Old Black Lion. We couldn't have asked for a nicer time. We instantly felt very comfortable and welcome on our arrival. We were very pleased with our room, although being over the bar, it was very quiet and peaceful at night. I'm not sure if that would be the case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarkLover
Dolan L, Owner at Old Black Lion, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It means a lot to the staff that they know they contributed to you having a relaxing time with us. We hope you will visit again.

Wirral
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed a two night stay here with dinner on the first night. It's a very old traditional building, with lots of creaks in the floorboards and huge old beams. Our room was well equipped although the bed was a bit soft for our tastes. Breakfast was good: all brought to you with a good range of choices and quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJG_KAG

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.5 km away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
393 reviews
11.4 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
561 reviews
5.5 km away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
2.3 km away
The Baskerville Arms
0.3 km away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 23 in Hay-on-Wye
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within the market town of Hay-on-Wye, this colourful 17th Century Inn exudes historical charm and atmosphere offering quality home-cooked food, luxury accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking. With parts of the original building dating as far back as the 1300’s, the Hotel subtly blends the elegance and whimsy of the past with the comfort and convenience of the present. Indeed, it is even reputed that Oliver Cromwell once stayed at the inn whilst the Roundheads besieged Hay Castle, which was then a loyalist stronghold. Sympathetically refurbished, exposed timber beams and roaring log fires help to cultivate a homely environment and a famously warm welcome.The Inn features 10 high quality en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually and tastefully decorated in a style reminiscent of the buildings historic past. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. They offer a choice of Single, Double, Twin and Superior room options.The Old Black Lion is renowned for the quality of its food and has received a host of rewards and accolades including a coveted AA Rosette. The menus, which are changed frequently, use only the best of British produce wherever possible including locally reared meat, fresh seafood from Cornwall and seasonal vegetables. The oak timbered bar with its scrubbed pine tables and comfy arm chairs is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the fantastic selection of local ales (including their own namesake ‘The Old Black Lion’).The Hotel is located in the heart of the Welsh market town of Hay-on-Wye just a short drive from the A438, it also offers free on-site parking for guests. The city of Hereford is roughly 35 minutes away and offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. For those flying in, Cardiff International Airport is about a 95 minute journey from the Hotel.The Old Black Lion is situated just a three minute walk from the centre of Hay-on-Wye. Renowned internationally as a Mecca for bibliophiles the town offers over 30 bookshops, many selling specialist and second-hand books. It is also home to the annual Hay Festival, Europe’s premier literature and arts festival. The town lies on the east bank of the River Wye and is within the Brecon Beacons National Park, just north of the Black Mountains. Offering some of the most breathtaking scenery in Wales, the surrounding area is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts with both the Offas Dyke Path and Wye Valley Walk passing through the town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Black Lion

Address: 26 Lion Street, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Price Range: €103 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Black Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Old Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Black Lion Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Old Black Lion Hay-On-Wye, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Black Lion staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Black Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A special deal made it excellent value.”
 of 5 bubbles Peony42, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in the annexe the room was terrific.”
 of 5 bubbles 643MALCOLMG, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is in a quieter area of Hay but is only a very short walk to centre”
 of 5 bubbles burtonrosie, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cromwell suite”
 of 5 bubbles Cornakey, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't opt for the coachouse - the sound insulation is awful!”
 of 5 bubbles 15nickys, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5