We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Save
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good38%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beer garden”(12 reviews)
“game pie”(5 reviews)
“cullen skink”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
163
149
49
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
163
149
49
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardengame piecullen skinkgolfing weekendfriendly hotelno liftresidents loungea bit tiredthird floordinner menuan evening mealpotato sconethe main streetwe've stayedhigh streetcomfortable roomsfirst class
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We both had gammon steak which was super. Good service and a nice setting. There are also specials but we did not see them until after ordering which was disappointing as our waitress forgot to point it out.

Thank GPhillipsMBE
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Overnight stay here on Saturday 21st, 3 of us were up for a days fishing on the Tay. Great wee hotel all round. Cracking breakfast on the morning to boot. Cannot fault it one bit. Will be the first port of call next time I’m...More

Thank sgmk0
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a good stay at this hotel..friendly staff from check in to the young guys on breakfast service who despite being very busy were chatty, friendly and attentive and did a great service. Loved the feel of the hotel and while some reviews have mentioned...More

Thank Sammiejoe13
Response from royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld HotelResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. It is much appreciated and I am so glad you have mentioned the young staff at breakfast. Often youngsters get such a poor reputation these days and our young boys on breakfast are an absolute delight and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodation required for wedding, so we really solely used this as a place to sleep! Although the decor is in need of updating, it is in-keeping with the old character of the building. Bed super-comfy, the shower in our en suite was amazing: powerful! Definitely...More

Thank Shirl31
Response from royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld HotelResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for writing such an honest and lovely review. Sorry you had the room without the view. Just as well you had been at a wedding. If you come back you can always stipulate what kind of room you would like and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here at Easter with my husband, 11 year old son and dog. The check-in lady was lovely and passed on all info required. Room was spacious and clean (even though we found out it was haunted by reading info on the hotels history -...More

1  Thank chj041831
Response from royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld HotelResponded 5 days ago

I am delighted that you had such a lovely stay at our hotel and glad you were not disturbed by our non - paying ghostly residents!! We do make the effort to set up the bar area for those wishing to share breakfast with their...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Room Service
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Babysitting
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert B
9 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lily x | Reviewed this property |
We enjoyed the food at this hotel, both breakfast an dinner. very pleased with hotel. the bakery accross the road is good for a snack or packed lunch.
0
Votes
Jack M
6 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bob M | Reviewed this property |
no lift, it's a grand old stagecoach inn with a fine stair case. There is an Annex to the hotel that has ground floor rooms which are in good condition !
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms to the back."
Read review
"Rooms overlooking the beer garden/smokers area can be noisy late on."
Read review
"Look out and listen for things that go bump in the night, the hotel is said to be haunted."
Read review
"We were in room 110 - very comfortable with a great shower and comfy bed"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing