We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 925: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Excellent hotel Dev and his staff are so helpful and friendly they are a great team, rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean, bar and restaurant have been recently refurbished and are very nice, we ate in the bar/lounge the food was lovely and great service, breakfast was delicious can't fault this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda141179
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure...

Arrochar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Stayed here nearly two weeks ago, checked in to be greeted by a nice gentleman, i had paid sixty pound for a single room and he decided he would upgrade my room to a double room on the third floor(very expensive for a single i see) apart from that, the quality of the hotel and the customer service of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceecee1231
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and...

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Staff are terrific and rooms have been refurbished well. Could do with a residents bar as 12.00pm is early when you are on holiday. Breakfast excellent again attentive staff. We did not try Spanish/Italian restaurant which turned out to be a mistake judging from what other guests said. Menu for DB&B guests is okay but could perhaps be expanded, that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry T
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure...

Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed at the Best Western Argyll hotel in Dunoon for 2 nights 12th and 13th of June 2015 and we had an excellent experience, the room was a nice size and very clean the staff were very helpful they couldn't do enough for us, breakfast and dinner were also very good with fast efficient service and it was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from BEST WESTERN ARGYLL Dunoon I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The BEST WESTERN ARGYLL It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed here in early June,only stayed one night,wish I had stayed longer. Really big comfy bed. The hotel has been refurbished very well. The food was great,staff pleasant and attentive. Great views across the water from this hotel. Best value hotel I have stayed in for a while.many thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill398
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Hotel is in great location, a bit noisy when pubs close, good bed and linen was spotless. Breakfast cold buffet was disappointing with no fresh fruit or breads. Cooked breakfast looked ok, cooked as required.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fiona g
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We...

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

had a very nice relaxing time whilst visiting relatives. The food was fresh local produce and the room where really clean. Breakfast was a pleasure and everyone was very polite I'm really looking forwards to going back there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelic38
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us recently. I was delighted to learn that you had a pleasant time with us and that you enjoyed all that our wonderful location had to offer. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Argyll...

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Fantastic Wonderful Hotel Had a brilliant stay in a very clean hotel with wonderful food and fantastic staff and had a brilliant meal and tasty breakfast in a fantastic part of the country! This was a business trip but it felt like I was on holiday! A big thumbs up from me 👍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fast F
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay at The BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel. As you mentioned we do take great pride in the genuine service and hospitality we provide all of our guests so again thank you for mentioning this. I have passed on your feedback to my team and...

Glasgow
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Booked here last Saturday and Sunday dbb family of 4 (6 yr old and 6 months) for my wife's birthday weekend when we arrived we where told room was downstairs 2 flights to be exact and no lift and no offer of help so couple of cases pram with baby in and bags for baby, the two family rooms they...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John T T
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you took to write your detailed review here on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry for all the issues you encountered during your stay with us. At your convenience, please email dev.surya@sgehotels.com so that our Guest Services staff can further discuss your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance so we...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Great hotel staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Really like the fact that you have the choice to dine in a choice of two different restaurants. Rooms clean and comfy what more can you want. There is also a leisure center just around the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from BEST WESTERN ARGYLL Dunoon I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The BEST WESTERN ARGYLL It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.0 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
169 reviews
0.4 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
631 reviews
1.3 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
222 reviews
1.2 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
445 reviews
0.6 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: €76 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland - Argyll And Bute
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
6 months ago
scotland
10 months ago
scotland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single rooms are very small.”
UkuleleFan, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview”
karind469, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take top floor rooms,”
largyc, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have a beautiful view over the bays”
irenec721, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only ate here - well, we tried to eat two courses, but the second was not available!”
johnhC7036ZV, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5