We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Argyll Hotel

Save
Share
54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (249)
Room & Suite (88)
Dining (46)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 10 hotels in Dunoon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Dunoon, look no further than Argyll Hotel.

Rooms at Argyll Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Dunoon burritos restaurant such as The 51st state Bar and Grill, which is a short distance from Argyll Hotel.

Should time allow, Dunoon Castle is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

The staff at Argyll Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
1164Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 610
  • 302
  • 111
  • 64
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynne C wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We stayed last weekend for one night on the Saturday. Have stayed here before and was surprised by all the negative comments especially the dirty toilets etc. Toilets were spotless when we were there. Hotel room was clean and a beautiful view from our room. Breakfast was fab. It was busy on the Saturday and felt sorry for the staff especially the male. He was ran off his feet and still very cheerful and good banter defo deserves a pay rise lol. I had something to eat and it was delicious so overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
katharineksw wrote a review 27 Jul
Scotland28 contributions12 helpful votes
We visited the Argyll for dinner yesterday but were so disappointed we decided not to stay to eat. The waitress was clearly busy and did apologise profusely but the place felt seedy, not very clean and although we were seated and got a drink quickly, no one appeared for another 30 minutes (by which time we had booked elsewhere). When the waitress brought our drinks she did provide menus but then gave a very long list of all the things that were off - leaving very little choice. While I appreciate they may have been busy earlier and were understaffed, the whole experience was just really poor and to top it all the woman at the next table was smoking - not technically wrong as were were outside (under cover) but with people eating at nearby tables it seemed insensitive to say the least. My advice - try somewhere else - this was not a pleasant place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gary B wrote a review 24 Jul
7 contributions8 helpful votes
we were staying nearby so decided to pop in for sunday lunch no complaints there so went back for drinks later in the week terrible service rude staff you wait an age for your drinks even longer to pay the bill toilets are a disgrace never again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good afternoon Thank you for your comments after you visits to us. We are disappointed to see that your second visit to us wasn't as good as the first. Our staff are working incredibly hard whilst dealing with strict government guidelines and added tot that the unfortunate staff shortages at very late notice due to Test and Project are causing our service to not be as spot on as we would like. We appreciate all our patrons patience while we all try our best to come our of this Pandemic safely. Our beer garden toilets are clearly sign posted as being under construction and that there are toilet facilities upstairs in the main hotel foyer if you wished to use them instead. We do wish you had notified the Manager of your disappointment at the time as i am sure they would have been happy to have rectified any concerns Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards
Read more
Kevin D wrote a review 21 Jul
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom28 contributions12 helpful votes
I have given this establishment a rating of 1 following our experience as I am unable to give it anything lower. Having written to the two Directors of SGE Hotels, listed in their Companies House entry, after our stay at The Argyll Hotel in Dunoon we expected some form of reply. However after 3 weeks without a response I have decided to write an honest review of our experience! As an Official of the Dunoon Presents Argyll Rally, representing Motorsport UK, the governing body of 4-wheel motorsport within the UK, I was booked into the Argyll Hotel by the event organisers. I was informed, by the event organisers, that I had been booked into a Superior Double Room with a Sea View.. Having looked on the hotel’s website I felt that the hotel looked fine and had a couple of interesting restaurants. We arrived on Thursday afternoon to discover that there was no area beside the hotel to park and transfer your luggage into the hotel reception area. So we drove around and found a space on the sea front. We then carried our luggage across the road and up the ramp to the steps leading up to the hotel door. As we climbed the steps we discovered that they were of varied height and depth, certainly not in compliance with and legislation dealing with people with reduced mobility! This is when the fun started. When we went to check in the receptionist had difficulty finding our booking (The organisers had booked the room under a generic name, a fact that the receptionist had difficulty understanding and figuring ou!) we were asked to pay for our stay and we were given the credit card slip. I asked for a proper invoice and was told this could be sorted when we checked out. We were advised of the breakfast time, which was later than we would have liked, but following a bit of negotiating we arranged a slightly earlier time. We were also informed that breakfast would be an additional £7.99, to which said that we were under the impression that our booking was on a bed and breakfast basis, but we were told by the receptionist that it was room only. We were than informed that our room was on the third floor, and was followed by a throw away comment that the lift was out of order and not working. So we eventually found the door to the steepest, narrowest set of stairs I have ever attempted to move luggage up. After several stops during our attempted climb of the North Face of the Eiger we reached the door to the third floor corridor. We then found our room , put the key in the lock and opened the door and experienced a real shock horror moment. When going through the door we walked into, what I can only describe as a large broom cupboard in the attic under the eaves of the roof, in which was squeezed the smallest double bed I have ever seen. When the shock had subsided, we inspected the cupboard we were expected to spend the next 3 nights. The room contained a “double bed” that when we measured it we found it was 6ft long and 4ft wide. Between the wall and the bed there was a bedside set of drawers, the position of this meant that the position of the bed did not fully coincide with the headboard that was attached to the wall. Behind the door was a small easy chair that did not look very substantial. There was a gap in the roof containing a dormer window, which meant you could stand up to look out the small window to look out over the sea. Also in this space there was a dressing table, but no chair or workspace, as there was insufficient room for these. If you wanted to use the mirror on the dressing table you had to sit on the bed. Due to the slope of the roof we were unable to sit up on the bed. I then went to inspect the bathroom. I have been forced to use smaller ones but not that often. There was a narrow step up to the shower and I suspected that the shower door would not close fully leading to the step becoming a soaking slip hazard, as the supplied shower mat did not look adequate for the job in hand. After we had sorted our clothes out and had a bit of a rest, we had left Newcastle upon Tyne very early, we made our descent to the reception area. When we tried to complain about the cupboard, saying that we had been told by the organisers that we were booked into a Superior Double with a sea view, the receptionist told us that we had been booked into a budget double room (we were being charged £80.00 per night for our cupboard, not what I would call budget price!). We were told that nothing could be done as the hotel was fully booked on Thursday and Friday night, the reception staff were just not interested in doing anything about our complaint. We went for a bit of a wonder before we were due to head to the event meeting. During our exploration we discovered that one of the hotel’s restaurant was allegedly closed for refurbishment. On our return from the pre-event meeting, we found an interesting Tex-Mex style restaurant which was able to accommodate us. So after an enjoyable meal we returned back to the hotel, thinking we would have a night cap before facing the mountain climb. Aware that due to Covid restrictions all drinks were required to be served at the table, we sat down on a pair of couches in the lounge. My wife and I are not really able to hide in a crowd, due to our height and width, however we managed to be so camouflaged that we were not sure if the staff employed by the hotel were either blind or incompetent as despite several members of staff passing us on several occasions no one came to ask us if we needed a drink. After about 30 minutes we decided to give up and then went to face our mountaineering task. After successfully negotiating the route we decided it was time for bed. The room was very hot and humid, so I decided to try to to open the dormer window further. On close inspection I found that the window and frame was not in the best condition, in fact I was concerned that if I used too much force the window would end up on the street, three floors below, with the possibility of causing injury to someone who could be passing. We crawled into bed, as this was virtually the only way to get into bed due to the roof sloping so dramatically into the room. However, due to the size of the bed and the very tired mattress, which managed to sag into the middle and feeling all the springs which were attempting to escape from the top cover of the mattress sleep was non existent. There was not sufficient room in the bed to toss and turn. So a total sleep free nigh was experienced. When I had had enough, I decided to kill some time by attempting to have a shower. I discovered that the water pressure was lower than I would have expected, but I suppose the water’s ability to get up to the third floor could be due to there being no lift available in the hotel. After a long shower, I discovered that I was right about the shower door not closing properly. The bathroom was floor was flooded, the step down from the shower was very slippery and the bath mat was totally inadequate for the job in hand. After a wonderfully choreographed series of movements, that I feel would have got us to the final fo Strictly, we were dressed and ready to face our breakfast. I had envisaged a nice Scottish Breakfast beginning with porridge followed by a plateful of cooked Scottish goods. However, again we were disappointed. We walked into the restaurant, sat down and were asked by young Asian man, whose first language was certainly not Scottish/English what we would like for breakfast. I explained that we had only just sat down and had no idea what was available, and asked to see some form of menu. There was no sign of any cereals or porridge available, it was juice, a cooked breakfast toast and tea or coffee. I totally confused the staff as I asked if I could have Earl Grey Tea, another member of staff returned to say that they could not find any Earl Grey Tea (I then realised that this establishment was totally different on the inside to what it appears on the outside). I said that I would settle for ordinary tea. Though the cooked food was adequate, I was disappointed, as I would have expected to have been served with typical Scottish Breakfast delicacies such as Square Sausage, White Pudding, Haggis and Tattie Scones. The toast arrived before the cooked breakfast and though there was plenty of butter, I was unable to make myself understood when I asked for marmalade. At breakfast I discovered why we had been gazumpted into our broom cupboard at the pinnacle of the mountain, the hotel had taken a booking for a coach party. Members of this group were escorted into a separate room, while their luggage was transferred from their rooms to the coach by a team of Asian Sherpas from the sister hotel. We were never offered anything like this service when we checked in or checked out! I also discovered later that another official of the event had been put in the “Gods” on the third floor, though there was quite a problem in that he has reduced mobility and uses two arm crutches to assist him. So he was not best pleased. When we arrived back at the hotel on Saturday evening we met him and his wife as they were departing. He preferred to drive home, to the borders, than remain for a n additional night! On Saturday morning, following a slightly better, but not a brilliant night’s sleep, we defended fro breakfast. There were several crews who were competing on the rally so me managed to stretch the staff to an earlier breakfast. It was the same routine as the previous morning, though no toast arrived. Following the end of the event we returned to the hotel, and because we were unable to find anywhere else we decided to give the hotel ago for dinner. The Haddock and the chips were hot and tasty, however I doubt the frozen peas had been shown much heat as they were very tepid. Following dinner we made, what was to be, thank God, our final ascent to our cupboard. While sitting on the chair in the room a flash of inspiration came to me! I decided to try topping and tailing, with my head at my wife’s feet and my feet at her head. This gave me the best night’s sleep in the cupboard out of the three nights we had the misfortune to spend in this establishment. On Sunday morning we brought out luggage down and then went into breakfast. Hurrah, I managed to get marmalade with my toast, and we had tattie scones instead of hash browns. Following breakfast I took the luggage out to the car, and after an indeterminable time, my wife came out of the hotel with an appropriate invoice for our stay. She said that it had been difficult for the reception staff to understand what she required. When we examined the invoice we discovered that, despite what the receptionist said when we checked in, we were not charged for breakfast during our stay. It is my understanding that lift engineers attended the hotel to attempt to repair the lift. After being on site for two days they managed to repair the lift, however once they left site it continued to work but then after 20 minutes, it gave up the ghost and was non-operational for the rest of our stay. I feel that I would preferred to stay at Fawlty Towers, than return to this establishment. My recommendation is to avoid this hotel like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sir We aim to respond to all customer complaints as diligently as possible. As per your letter you granted us time to investigate to ensure we could adequately respond our findings. We have done this and your response will be sent in due course. Disappointingly you have left us this review, of which we are grossly offended in your choice of words and racial profiling. Complaint aside, we have a zero tolerance to such abuse, attitude or behaviour to any member or our staff. I would like to highlight some points that your review failed to mention. 1. Your booking was made by a 3rd party and requested for you by them was a double for sole use room. Not at any point did this 3rd party advise us that there would be two of you in the room. Your room was described to them as an economy double for sole use, the terms executive or sea view were never mentioned at any point. 2. After expressing your disappointment in the room we explained to you8 that we were full, however we could transfer you to our sister hotel a short drive away. You refused this option and remained in the room that you found so dissatisfying for the duration of your stay – rather than moving to a more suitable room along the road. We are limited in what we can do given you refused the alternative offered. 3. Porterage is pre-arranged with our Coach arrivals, should you have required assistance you could have asked any member of our team who would have happily came to your aid, regrettably you did not do that. 4. We do in fact have a disabled access point for entry to the hotel, once again should you have asked our team for this we would have been more than accommodating. We have hosted and served many patrons with limited mobility. Dunoon Presents work in conjunction with local businesses and provides a service to our local diverse community. We will be taking up your review with them as you state you are a representative of them. We have never had to report such a review to Trip Advisor nor been subjected to such commentary. Furthermore we have never had to respond in such a defensive way as this today, but we stand by every employee regardless of their nationality. It is with regret that we must report your review as racially aggravated. We have zero tolerance for such behaviour and a possible bias review. We will respond to you directly within 7 working days to go further into detail to your observations. Regards Customer Services Argyll Hotel
Read more
Hospitality wrote a review 18 Jul
Glasgow, United Kingdom38 contributions31 helpful votes
I visited her with my husband and two kids. The only star I gave was purely for the waiting staff who were lovely. We were presented a pizza menu, main menu, special menu and an Indian Street-food menu. I’m unsure why there is a need. I ordered a pizza for the kids, although the menu never had pepperoni listed, it did have margarita and a pizza with pepperoni so I didn’t see a problem. Obviously I was wrong and you can’t select a topping apparently they are pre-prepared (alarm bells) I ordered fish and chips and the other half ordered an Indian spiced burger. My son also ordered chicken pakora as he loves it! The pizza was soggy, had a strong raw garlic taste and way too much greasy cheese. The fish was swimming in grease from the soggy bright yellow batter the poor thing had been dipped in, there was no salad, peas or tartare sauce. The burger was dry and just odd in flavour again no salad, slaw or sauce. I WISH I saw the bathroom area prior to eating as it was that bad I felt sick that I had paid good money to eat in an establishment that was in severe disrepair and filth!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning Thank you for leaving your review after your recent visit with us. We are sorry that you had such a disappointing time. We do wish you had approached our Manager or a member of our team at the time to allow us the opportunity to rectify any issues you and your family experienced. We would have been more than happy to have replaced any meals at the time. However as we are only being made aware of this now. we have passed your comments onto our Kitchen Team to be looked into to avoid such issues in the future. Our toilets are cleaned throughout the day as per our cleaning policy and we are saddened to read that they were in such an apparent state of uncleanliness. This is not our normal standard at all and I'm sure as soon as it was brought to our team's attention it would have been dealt with immediately. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dunoon
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Argyll Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeCowal PeninsulaDunoon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Argyll Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Argyll Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Castle House Museum (0.3 km), Studio Cinema - Dunoon (0.3 km), and Deja Vu Ladies Clothing Agency & Vintage Tea Rooms (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Argyll Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Argyll Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Argyll Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Livingstone's, The 51st state Bar and Grill, and The Swallow Cafe.
Is Argyll Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Dunoon.
Does Argyll Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Argyll Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tower Hill (6.4 km).
Does Argyll Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Argyll Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.