We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ England
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1317)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 28/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Updated 28/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 29 in Luton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beyond the magnificent facade of the Mansion House which greets guests on arrival, lies a 5 star hotel, which is like no other. However, our guests quickly discover that behind the imposing grandeur of Luton Hoo, the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. Excellent transport links between St. Pancras and Luton Parkway railway stations mean we are easily reached from London or Cambridge. And as one of the most convenient hotels in Luton for accessing Luton airport, we are within easy reach of cities across Europe.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
3409Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,621
  • 775
  • 467
  • 328
  • 218
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bobo K wrote a review Yesterday
15 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a fantastic experience with Pete Lee shooting at Luton Hoo. Very friendly and funny chap who was an excellent teacher for shooting. My wife and I have become budding shooters now. Disappointed to hear the new ownership are forcing him out wihtout consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Neil C wrote a review 24 May
London, United Kingdom252 contributions168 helpful votes
Ideally located just off the M1 and warmly greeted by the knowledgeable Doorman followed by the extremely pleasant front desk staff. The Manor House is impressive and steeped in history. Golfers tend to lodge in the Country Club were the rooms are very comfortable, clean and virtually suite spacious. Amazingly Disabled friendly. The food is reasonable but not exceptional - the staff are very friendly - THERE ARE JUST NOT ENOUGH OF THEM - the wait for most things is far too long. Typically suffering a COVID hangover as with most of the industry. Drinks are seriously expensive at £15 per Gin and Tonic plus 10% Service charge added automatically. The Golf Course is long and the greens are tough ( some very scrubby ) perhaps more suited to the lower handicapper but overall a nice golfing experience. Ideal for a golfing weekend Sunday/Monday even better if you are Teetotal.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Natalie wrote a review 23 May
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The subject title says it all. £465 for an overnight spa break for two, and this venue is far from delivering a 5 star experience. It’s resting on it’s location and grandeur, but the reality is that it is tired and dated. Brasserie food was mainly edible, breakfast was shockingly inedible. Offered a replacement as the staff were shocked at the breakfast they delivered but by that point, we were totally put off. Spa is acceptable but small, and timed allocation slots remove the ability to totally relax. Yes, the grounds are beautiful and well kept but in the scheme of a dinner bed and breakfast stay, they are the least important part. When checking out, I would have happily had a private chat with staff at Reception to highlight the problems we experienced, but nobody asked about our stay. Disappointing. Wouldn’t recommend and wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear N8ATP, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you weren't able to speak with a Duty Manager at the time. Please do contact me personally at the hotel to discuss. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Fiona G wrote a review 21 May
Bedfordshire16 contributions5 helpful votes
Having arrived slightly flustered with my 83 year old limited mobility friend for afternoon tea, we were immediately put at ease by the wonderful top hatted doorman and his team who couldn't have been kinder and more efficient at welcoming us in to this beautiful venue. Our server Magda and the team were attentive and efficient. The tea presented was delicious. I asked if it might be possible to get a wheelchair to get my friend back to the car and the team flew in to action, with ramps appearing quickly to navigate the stepped exit. All done with kindness, respect and gentle humour. Luckas took us directly to our car and my friend was helped out of the chair and in to the car, clutching her ‘cake box’ of goodies to take home. She and I were treated like royalty and she has said she will remember our tea and visit to Luton Hoo for a very long time. Lovely experience, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Fiona G, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind review following your visit to Luton Hoo Hotel for afternoon tea. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the team looked after you well. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Luton Hoo again soon! Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Raks21 wrote a review 15 May
United Kingdom132 contributions156 helpful votes
My friends surprised me to a weekend stay here and what a great stay it was. The stunning Mansion House and grounds. The staff are very friendly and the spa was great too. The breakfast was great although the service was very slow. The rooms were large, clean and had lovely Moltan Brown toiletries. Housekeeping made the place look welcoming and clean. I will definitely be back - thanks for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Raks21, Thank you for much for your 5 star review of Luton Hoo Hotel, Golf and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your surprise weekend here arranged by your friends. Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
veronika wrote a review 13 May
Norwich, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was clean but very dated. Pillows and the bed in a need of updating. Upon our checking we made it very clear that we needed to leave at 7.30 the latest. We asked for an early breakfast ( 7.00 ) That proved to be so difficult and complicated but we did manage to secure some food ( we hope), for the next morning. The bar closes very early. In a 5 star hotel, it’s almost impossible to get a night cap at 11.30 They make it very awkward and difficult to just sit and sip a drink with friends after dinner. Main restaurant and the lounge is extremely cold!!! As part of the Small luxury hotels of the world, this one was by far the worst I’ve ever visited. By far! This was our second visit. Beautiful hotel and the grounds. Excellent food. Very average service. At times, below average. Such a pity as it could be absolutely amazing. We will definitely not hurry back. Especially, at times you need to watch your extras. Staff kind and nice but over all not very helpful or knowledgeable. I’m sorry to say bad things but not great imputation at all
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid the bar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Voyager27685715359, Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt that the service let us down during your visit. Thank you for your comments and be assured that these will be followed up with the appropriate managers. On a more positive note, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel, grounds and food. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Matt wrote a review 11 May
London, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
Luton Hoo is a wonderful place. The Mansion House is stunning and the grounds are huge, beautiful and great to explore. We walked for hours and still didn't see everything. It's a great place to go and relax, I can't believe it's so close to Luton and London. The staff are so friendly, very helpful and they create a special atmosphere. The Lounges are stunning and a great place to sit, have a drink or afternoon tea. I really can't do justice to the atmosphere at Luton Hoo. This isn't like any other hotel I've ever been to. It's beautiful and has a very calming atmosphere. There is one problem. Adam's Brasserie is a total nightmare. We stayed on nights when the Wernher Restaurant wasn't open, so were booked into the Brasserie for dinner both nights. The first night was bad (despite the very friendly staff). Breakfast in the morning was a disaster. I was given a teaspoon to eat my cereal with and, despite asking for a normal sized spoon, gave up waiting and ate my breakfast with a teaspoon. With the cooked breakfast I'd said yes to having toast with it. The toast arrived a long while later, I'd finished everything on my plate despite deliberately going slowly in the hope that the toast would arrive mid-meal. Eventually the toast arrived. Burnt on one side, untouched on the other side, cold and chewy, It had obviously been sat there for ages. The chaos in the Brasserie creates an atmosphere completely contradictory to the rest of Luton Hoo. There's a terrible, stressful atmosphere in there which inevitably transfers onto the diners. We spoke to other guests who'd bring up the same problems. Check the reviews of the Brasserie on here, these problems have existed for years and are still unresolved. It's incredible. Luton Hoo is great but avoid the Brasserie. On the second night we got a taxi to The Fox in Harpenden. It's 5 minutes away and the food and service are superb. You'll enjoy that more.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MF1865, Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced in the brasserie, which we are looking into following your communication directly with the hotel. We will be in contact with you soon in response. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
LondonN21 wrote a review 10 May
London, United Kingdom43 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Went as a family, all adults for a break. The hotel is traditional in its decor and layout. It’s really a getaway hotel, so TV is limited and internet signal pretty much unavailable.The restaurant decor is gorgeous, the rooms are simple but comfortable. The staff are nice and as helpful (but it got frustrating when many could not articulate or understand English so this had an big impact on service). The only reason this got 4* , and in my opinion an important reason, the options for vegetarian dishes was very very limited, ( Adam’s Brassiere at the time of my visit only had margarita pizza as an option, however the online menu today shows one other option, a gratin), so that was very disappointing. The pool, sauna, steam room facilities were great. Unfortunately due to lack of time we were unable to use spa facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: A walk in the grounds is a must but take walking shoes.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear LondonN21, Thank you for your 4 star review of Luton Hoo following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding vegetarian options on the menu. We have just changed our menus for the upcoming season and hope that you find more options available to you when you come and stay again. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
Kellyinzen wrote a review 9 May
London, United Kingdom84 contributions104 helpful votes
Signature Spa Day review - visited 19th April 2022 Unfortunately, my mother and I left feeling completely dissatisfied. Of the entire experience, only the 80-minute massage was of the level we expected and were pleased with. I have gone into more detail about what went wrong below. Adam's Brasserie: Terrine of pheasant was great, but not so great was the Breaded fillets of Torbay sole, which tasted no different from what my local fish and chip shop would dish up. We also hoped to try the 092 Ridgeview Estate, England sparkling wine, but was told by the waitress that she had never seen that wine stored since she had been there and it was not available. If this is the case, why is it even on the menu? That aside, I do appreciate the effort made at the end of the meal to say Happy Birthday to my mum. The Spa: What a huge letdown. The jets did not work and I think maintenance had to 'fix' it about three times whilst I was there. However, they didn't succeed. Furthermore, a family of 7 decided it was a great idea to splash, throw toys and jump around off of the jet pool and into the larger pool, disrupting other swimmers and completely dominating the area so that no one else could enjoy themselves in their presence. Almost everyone there felt forced to leave because of how disruptive they were, it is no exaggeration! And despite the fact that they did quieten down a bit after another customer had complained to a member of staff who had had a word with them, it was not without a fight that they did so, and I find it perplexing that we would have to bring this to attention before it was dealt with. So, what was supposed to be a relaxing Spa and Wellness retreat for my mother's birthday, was nothing more than a kiddie's splash pool, and now I'm £290+ out of pocket for it. When I took this up with the spa manager and general manager, I was offered a preposterous refund of £20pp, which doesn't even compensate the fuel cost to get to them from SE London where I live (and I still haven't even received the £40 yet, nearly three weeks later). Absolutely shocking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kellyinzen, Thank you for posting your review following your visit to our Spa in the Easter break. Given our offline correspondence in regard to your Spa Day, I am somewhat surprised to read your comments as the service recovery offered by the Spa Team was a fair reflection of the feedback received. None the less I am sorry you have had cause to complain and hope in time you will return to Luton Hoo to allow us to serve you better. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown, Hotel Manager
Read more
jay wrote a review 3 May
2 contributions
We went here about 10 years ago and had a fantastic stay. This visit was the total opposite. The hotel and grounds remain of course lovely. We stayed in the club house rooms, and they are spacious and well laid out, if a little 90s in decor. The spa is very nice, with 3 alloted times for us to take the kids throughout the day. However the staff numbers and training is a huge let down. There are clearly not enough. They are inefficient and inexperienced. There was no leadership in the Stables restaurant. Cue 7 requests for a cup of coffee at breakfast, wrong orders, missing things, no jam appearing till all the toast eaten...... They could not accomodate us for dinner, despite us being on a dinner inclusive deal. Why would they not cater for these bookings? The manager later told us the restaurant had been full for weeks, so he couldn't explain either. They then suggested that we go to the main hotel to ask for a table in the lounge. NOTE:they said it wasn't their job to do this - we had to walk up and sort it out. We did this. When we turned up for dinner, in the admittedly lovely lounge, all they were serving was cold sandwiches as their kitchens were shut. We witnessed lots of other people complaining as they had also been waiting up to 90 minutes to even get those! We complained - they initially suggested we drive to Harpenden to a restaurant and they would reimburse us!!!! Not even provide a taxi.... We were not doing that - after much complaining, the Stables restaurant agreed to provide us our initial menu, in our room. So, almost 2 hours later, we turned up to find all the food laid out, both starters and mains getting cold, and the icecream in the puddings getting warm...... The wine was there, but it had a cork and wasn't open. We all could have used a drink by then! There weren't enough chairs so one of us enjoyed his soup standing up before they managed to rustle an extra seat up. The manager of the restaurant turned up to check on things. He didn't want to listen to the issues about anything other than his booking service errors, saying again that he wasn't responsible for things that happended in the 'main' hotel. How can you be promoted to this position if this is your attitude? The answer seems to pervade most of the place - it has clearly been bought out and subject to personel changes - the training is now about 'this is my area and I don't care about your stay as long as I do my limited job.' Multiple management levels were spoken to and promised to sort things out from the early problems, but nothing was fixed. Only on the final check out did we speak to a manager who understood (or seemed to) the issues and reduced our bill by about 15%. But the final feeling was of annoyance and disappointment - our first trip with 9 of us since covid, 5 of them kids. Summary - until this management is changed, I would advise finding other, equally lovely country hotels of which there are so many in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: find a different hotel!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Brown, General Manager at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jayaratnamj, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us. I am sincerely sorry to hear of the issues you experienced in relation to your dinner arrangements. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed with the managers involved in order to ensure that improvements are made. I am pleased to hear that some compensation was arranged with you by way of apology. Thank you once again for your feedback. Kind regards, Jonathan Brown Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$281 - US$367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
luton hoo hotel golf luton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireLuton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
228
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Redbournbury Watermill and Bakery (7.8 km), Wardown House, Museum and Gallery (4.7 km), and Stockwood Discovery Centre (1.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Peking, Monna Lisa, and La Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Berkhamsted Castle (14.9 km), St Albans South Signal Box (12.6 km), and Shaw's Corner (9.1 km).