We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AP England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$116
View deal
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
ZenHotels.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.comUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
HurbUS$119
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (263)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (84)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 12 hotels in Minehead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A characterful Victorian sea front hotel, with stunning views across the Bristol Channel. With a choice of rooms from family, super king sea view to fully accessible DDA compliment rooms with full wheel chair access and ceiling hoists. Positioned on the sea front and 300m from the centre of town and all the amenities. The Beach Hotel offers a great place to stay, what ever your needs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
683Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 472
  • 154
  • 40
  • 6
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Discerning59 wrote a review Jan 2023
Flitwick, United Kingdom57 contributions43 helpful votes
Having not been to Minehead previously we were a little apprehensive it might be a run down seaside resort like so many in the Uk experiencing difficult times. I've were pleasantly suprised. First view of the hotel we were impressed by its clean, fresh tidy exterior and location to the promenade and beach. We were made very welcome by Amy and shown to our large bedroom which had a super view of the small harbour and bay. Not serving dinner on a Sunday in January, after a short walk we found a pub serving food. A good nights sleep was experienced follwed by our morning tea and biscuits overlooking the bay bathed in early morning sunshine. Breakfast was well presented and tasty on both days. The social areas were very quiet due to the time of year but imagine during the summer months the location, drink and food choices would make the hotel a popular destination. Being so close to the small-town, railway and beach Is an added bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 3 days ago
Hello. Thank you for your review, it is always appreciated. Great to know you had a nice stay here at the hotel, we always try our best. Hope to see you again soon. Happy regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gnomecrusher wrote a review Jan 2023
St Austell, United Kingdom50 contributions21 helpful votes
Went in for Sunday lunch at nearly 13 pound a head we was expecting a lovely meal , it came out with the gravy boat in the middle of the plate which was already swimming in gravy , the beef was not freshly cut it was awful tough meat , we both left our plates with hardly touching the food , it left your mouth full of grease , so disappointed, nice bloke who served us ,and nice place , but if your going to sell roast dinners get it right ,with drinks it was the worse 34 quid I've spent in a long time .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Sorry to hear that you found your meal not to your liking, we always try our best so it is disappointing to know that you left unsatisfied. We also would like to think that our guests can tell us anything they are not happy with so we can try to make it better at the time. Hopefully you will visit us again and either give our roast another go or try one of our other lovely dishes. Kind regards. The Beach Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elton M wrote a review Jan 2023
Booking the Beach Hotel was unplanned and last minute but I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived in Minehead earlier than planned and after a friendly call with reception I was given an early check-in which was really appreciated. Parking, well there is indeed free parking but the spaces are unmarked and due to flooding in parts which the hotel could do little about, people were parking at angles, sideways and more. My car is brand new and I just didn’t trust it, but it didn’t prove a problem as there was more convenient paid parking than I’d ever seen anywhere on earth right next to the hotel. The parking is paid from 9am-6pm Daily. £5.90. I just found that better for me and was happy to pay. Check-in was really friendly and a bucket of ice, water, lemonade and fresh milk was a welcomed pleasant touch. The room was immaculate, bed really comfortable with nice bedding. Plenty of hot drink options, a good bathroom with good towels and more made this hotel great value from the outset given the above and location so close to the beach and GWR (Railway). Breakfast - Personally I like to see how I feel in the morning and choose what to eat on the day, especially if I’ve been out the night before. I’d just had a Carvery in the Queens Head (Was Amazing) so when I was asked to choose breakfast at check-in it threw me a little and I wasn’t a fan. I ordered an omelette which to be fair was cooked fresh the next morning and actually really good, the croissants and coffee was good too. With such a small but satisfactory choice on the breakfast menu, even an apprentice should not need to have pre orders the day before. Because I forgot to put my pre order in the next day this actually resulted in me skipping breakfast all together on my last morning as I felt I hadn’t ordered the day before and therefor wouldn’t have got anything. I went to Greggs after checkout :(. Check-out was non existent, I just got a nod from someone at the other end of the bar area and put my key on the reception area desk. In a nutshell the hotel was good value overall and pleasant, it was warm in the room but the sash windows opened easily and I liked the sea breeze. Parking was stressless and I did it my way. Breakfast well was what it was but I loathed the pre booking but to be fair what I did eat on the one morning out of two was really good. I love a bar but didn’t use it downstairs and would have liked to get to know the staff more and enjoy the facilities. They were certainly friendly enough but I found myself exploring the town and a decent Witherspoon's. I’d stay here again, if you like to explore, nearby there are breathtaking views and photo opportunities a short drive in either direction, drive beyond Porlock up the coast and find the smallest Parish Church in England over 1000 years old or the beautiful village of Dunster and it’s castle the other way. Or stay in Minehead for pubs, charity shops, the beach, railway, Butlins and probably the best Carvery I’ve ever had in the Queens Head. Blenheim Park and St Andrews church are worth a visit too. All in all a great stay. Enjoy people.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Thanks for your thorough review. It is always nice to read what our guests think about their stay with us, and it looks like we have ticked virtually all the boxes. Pre-ordering breakfast should never be felt like a draconian measure, it is really so that our young trainees can get a little bit of a heads up on what they need to prepare, also it makes breakfast service a bit quicker and smoother for our guests. I am mortified to read that you skipped breakfast here because you did not pre order the night before, any guest who forgets or prefers not too can just order in the morning when they come down. Hopefully we will see you down with us again. Kind regards. The Beach Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francis B wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
What an absolute fantastic place and the staff were lovely. they're apprentices doing hospitality training and so chatty and friendly, keen and motivated , nothing was too much trouble for them - I think one of the girls was called Ellie. The place has got a fantastic gym, far better equipped than many I've paid for and I got it all to myself on Sunday morning. I do quite a lot of work a around this region so I will definitely be basing myself here when I get chance . Can't rate it or the staff highly enough - well done guys xx
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dog friendly so take your pooches.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Thank you for your lovely review. The apprentices and ourselves always try our best here and have fun doing it too, we will look forward to seeing you again. Happy regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike wrote a review Dec 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
Stay for 1 night to attend Dunster Christmas Fair. Excellent position of hotel. Had room with sea view, very comfortable, slept well. Cold outside, but warm inside. Staff were very good and helpful. Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Railway just across road, and easy flat walk into town. Free car parking. Recomend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available and free
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Hello Mike. Thanks for your great review, it was lovely having you here and fab to know that you had a good time here in Minehead and at our YMCA hotel. Happy regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alastair C wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Very friendly staff, great breakfast, a clean room. A good location in Minehead and i would stay again. only negatives - the parking wasnt as clearly signposted and the shower ran hot and cold a bit in the morning - but i am being fussy! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 25 Nov 2022
Hello Alastair. Thanks for the review, feedback is always appreciated. We take pride in our welcoming atmosphere and great service and it is great to hear that you had a nice stay. Did you know that your Fab breakfast was most likely cooked by one of our apprentices that we train up to be Chefs? Did you also know that we are owned by the YMCA and do many good things in the community? It was brill meeting you and hope you come back again. Happy regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david g wrote a review Nov 2022
70 contributions19 helpful votes
Great location. Nice enough hotel. No lifts though. Friendly helpful staff. Bar shut before 9-00pm. No restaurant open either in the evening. Full English breakfast not brilliant. We were not told about this when we made the booking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 20 Nov 2022
Hello David. Thank you for your review. Now it is off season and because of the currant pressures on the business we have had to make some hard choices and reducing the opening times of our restaurant is one of them. We are indeed a friendly bunch here at the hotel and we would like to think that our guests can ask us anything, so if they are not happy we can try to make things better. Kind regards. The Beach Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JimmyET63 wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a family reunion. Lesso learnt that Booking.Com do not transfer the names for each room so it's worth if booking multiple rooms to let the hotel know the names for each room. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and the food was great - I had steak pie. The breakfast offer was really good. The room was amazing with fantastic sea view and whilst the hotel is on the main road we had a peaceful night even with the window open. A really lovely stay and the staff were fantastic. Well done (Great Wifi too!)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Hello Jimmy. Sounds like we ticked all the bases which is fab to hear. Great to know that you had a lovely reunion and enjoyed the food, don't hesitate in coming back to see us again soon. Happy regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flyer32430715996 wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a friendly welcome, the room was ready early too. We were shown to our room which was Bossington Bay I think. It had sea views, very clean, comfortable and spacious, breakfast was great too. Only stayed 1 night but would prefer to of stayed the week rather than in butlins which was run down and dirty. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Hello We all wished you could have stayed longer as well, it was brilliant having you here with us even for a short while. We will look forward to seeing you again. Happy regards. The Beach Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorne G wrote a review Oct 2022
Neath, United Kingdom27 contributions8 helpful votes
Cannot fault our stay we had Watermeet room facing beach and railway museum it is a lovely room nice clean and tidy Good tea and coffee and even fresh coffee with a cafertia Great location close to town Best breakfast ever especially veggie Great hosts
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Beach Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beach Hotel and Café
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Hello. It was simply a pleasure meeting you, it is great to hear that you had a nice time in Minehead and at our YMCA Hotel. It would certainly be fab if you came back to see us again. Happy regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetMinehead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BEACH HOTEL AND CAFE - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Beach Hotel and Café
Which popular attractions are close to The Beach Hotel and Café?
Nearby attractions include Weston Museum (1.2 km), Water adventure park (0.2 km), and Clip 'n Climb (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a sofa bed.
What food & drink options are available at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Beach Hotel and Café?
Conveniently located restaurants include PJ's Ice Cream Parlour, Scotty's Lounge And Bistro, and Meze Mazi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Yes, guests have access to fitness classes and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Beach Hotel and Café?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Beach Hotel and Café offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Beach Hotel and Café?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birnbeck Pier (2.1 km), Anchor Head (1.7 km), and Worlebury Hillfort (2.1 km).
Does The Beach Hotel and Café have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.