We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay New Southlands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay New Southlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 396: English reviews
Start your review of Bay New Southlands Hotel
 Click to rate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Superb 5-day Shearings trip to Scarborough with excursions to York, Whitby and Goathland (the village where Heartbeat was filmed). The hotel is one of the best in the Shearings portfolio I've tried over ten years of trips. The food was great, the chef added several nice extra touches and everything food-wise was spot on. Thanks. Restaurant management and waiter Paul...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFDGS707
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visited here at beg of February on a Shearings self drive break. We would definitely return here, from arriving at the reception deskto leaving this was good. We had a problem with the tv in our room, which only had 3 channels. Straight away the lady on the front desk came to try and sort this,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c a
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments for us. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so lucky to have a great team here and I'm glad to see that they looked after you whilst you were here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When I booked the holiday, I mentioned that my sister needed to bring an electric scooter on the coach. This was arranged, but when we reached the hotel, we found that someone, sensing that she was disabled, had arranged a room near the lift, near the entrance to the restaurant and with a bathroom with facilities for disabled. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabet2013
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review you have left for us, thank you. We will always do our best to accommodate our guests needs and I'm glad to see that the room you were allocated helped you to enjoy your stay. I will make sure your comments get passed on to my team and we hope you will come back and stay...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having just returned from a mon to fri stay in this hotel I can only say what a lovely place. Food was excellent, staff were polite, and Paul in particular having moved from another hotel he settled in and was very attentive to the guests. Will Definately go again but in the summer next time.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wenddy48
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback for us following your recent stay. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay - the summer is certainly a great time to come the seaside although we can't always guarantee sunshine. Paul has settled in really well and was chuffed to see his name mentioned. We hope to...

E. Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 day weekend break with National Holidays, hotel very welcoming, staff very cheerful and friendly. Room was impeccably clean, comfortable, and most important 'warm'. Food was very good, buffet breakfast, evening meal was served, David our waiter was great..Entertainment was very good, just wish it went on longer than 10.30pm, but overall a great weekend. Met...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank motorbike_8
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What kind comments you have left for us, thank you. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will return to stay with again in the future.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last year our group of 15 ladies went to Melrose, Scotland and thought this hotel very good but we all agreed that the New Southlands Hotel in Scarborough was excellent. The service at this hotel in all areas was very good. The decor and all rooms we had there was not one complaint. The entertainment was good especially Mark on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope we will see you again soon :)

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel nice enough but too far for evening stroll anywhere. I didn't feel comfortable walking on my own after dusk, surrounded by bedsit land and not another soul in sight. For those wanting to eat, drink and retire to bar for evening entertainment it's brilliant. Personally I like to have a wander and try different places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janiemac24
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry to see you didn't feel you were able to go out on an evening. We are in an area of town that is a mixture of town houses, hotels, guest houses, and flats (residential and holiday) which is just a short distance from the South Cliff with fantastic...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here as coach midweek break with Shearings we had a disabled room with an electric bed which was good the only down side was the shower cubicle as it was rather small for somebody who is disable and hard to get in and out of with mobility problems it would have been better to have a level access shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire E
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

What kind comments you have left for us , thank you. I am very lucky and have a great team here. I hope you do return to stay with us again in the future, and I would be happy to discuss with you the rooms etc that we have that may be more suitable for your needs.

Seaham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

great hotel,staff and food.the breakfast is highly recommended and the evening meal waitress service great,nothing is to much trouble.would definitely stay again.this was a three night stay with national holidays,a bargain!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrson
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your kind feedback for us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel staff really friendly couldn't do enough for you nice buffet breakfast &nice meals at night good entertainment over the 4 nights my friend won on the bingo on Fri night day trip to York was fine only thing I would say what was disappointed at was the driver Ian who made everyone uneasy he even upset 1 family...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alan S

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,387 reviews
2.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
768 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,245 reviews
0.8 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
557 reviews
0.8 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €104 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Littleborough, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Southport, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Bay New Southlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We can only speak of our room 119, large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabet2013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any, lift available to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles motorbike_8, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very small lift. It's easier to walk to 2nd floor than wait for the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Janiemac24, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior were very nice”
 of 5 bubbles sunseekersheffield, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When using these large old hotels we always upgrade, esp for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles J9364OQlynns, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5