We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,137: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The whole place was lovely and clean. Staff were very helpful and on hand and breakfast was delicious. The pool and sauna were a real treat and used both days of our visit. If there was only one complaint it would be that there was no draft beer in the bar but they were still charging £4.05 for a bottle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire H, Thank you for your taking the time to leave us your lovely reviews. I am pleased your found the hotel clean and the team helpful. We are glad you had the time to use of spa facilities , not once but twice and enjoyed them. Thank you for your feedback regarding our bottled beer, this has been...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This hotel has one of the best views in Scarborough located on the Esplanade, it used to call it my "local" and would go in for a drink. However the current managemant have removed all the draught beer and replaced it with bottled beer only. So if you like a pint of Fosters I would not come to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 687alanb
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 687alanb, Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. Unfortunately we do no longer sell fosters, we do however now stock a lovely range of bottled beers for guests to choose from. Kind Regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We were greeted very warmly at reception. To our surprise, the room was spacious with a lovely view out the side of the hotel, but still allowing us to see the sea. We had booked the room on a special offer and had assumed we would be allocated something much smaller. The shower was hot and powerful, although the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra M, Thank you for your lovely reviews on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you found your room spacious and enjoyed your views, and that you found your shower to be lovely too. Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom being slightly dated, we are in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms so hopefully on your next...

Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We requested a quite room. Unfortunately over looking the back roof and the kitchen exhausts wasnt what i had in mind. Never the less. Move on. The room looked clean and recently decorated. The en suite. OMG!! the toilet. It was disgraceful. My husband lifted the loo seat. The underside was revolting with dry aged urine, and from the look...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacqueline R
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Very friendly and pleasent hotel,staff very helpful,drinks and food in the bar expensive,rooms were nice and comfortable,breakfast was nice with plenty of tea and coffee,would stay again.and would recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colinmaggie88
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colinmaggie88, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Thank you for your comments regarding our team being Very friednly and helpful, i will pass this on for you. I am sorry you felt out food and Beverage was expensive in our bar area, this is something that we will look at should we receive more...

sheffield
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Nice hotel, just a little bit tired and needs some money spending on it but I would certainly stay here again as it was great value. perfect location, comfortable bed and great breakfast. basically what you see is what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louis smith
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear louis smith, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are in the process of our refurbishment program, you may have used our newly refurbished bar and lounge area which we hope you enjoyed. This is ongoing through out 2015 so we hope you notice the changes over your next visits. We are happy you...

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

First time at this hotel & it took us a while to find as we had arrived by bus. Lovely bar area & I had booked a deluxe room overlooking sea which was really nice. Breakfast was self service & had a varied selection whether you wanted continental or english. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cc122
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cc122, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you found us in the end! Thank you for your comments regarding our newly refurbished bar and lounge area, we are pleased you liked it. I am pleased you enjoyed your deluxe sea view room and that you found our breakfast varied, we hope...

County Durham
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed one night with my partner for a concert. First impressions were it didn't live up to its website, the decor is a bit tired in the reception areas and the bedrooms. However it was clean and the room had everything we needed including a comfortable bed. The view across the bay was really lovely and it's only a five...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsJanTiggy14
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MsJanTiggy14, Thank you for review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry you feel the hotel does not live up to the website. All our pictures on our website are of the hotel rooms, we are in the process of refurbishing. I'm glad you enjoyed our stunning views across the bay and we are situated not to...

Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Lovely hotel with friendly ambience. Room was lovely and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was nice with the usual selection - dining room was very pleasant, especially if you get a window seat with the fab sea view! Tried the spa - Rasul Mud Treatment, this was good, nice couples experience. The pool and spa area is small, but perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max H
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Max H, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you found your room and bed lovely and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I am pleased you enjoyed your mud rasul treatment, I agree this is a great treatments for couples as you can make it very relaxing or so much fun! We...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

My daughter and I decided to have a last minute pamper weekend and I knew the place to go.... This is my third stay at the Ambassador Spa and again I was not disappointed. In fact the hotel has and seems to be going through redecoration so it was nice and bright being newly decorated. We were in the family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenW1965
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HelenW1965, Thank you for your review for your recent pamper weekend! I am pleased your enjoyed our new look bar and lounge area, it does feel so much more open and fresh and we love it. I am pleased you enjoyed your big family room and found the sauna and spa relaxing and clean. I am pleased your daughter...

417 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,392 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
768 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
557 reviews
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €66 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a "Seaview Room" - they are bigger and the view is good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJW_51, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a newly refurbished room and not in the basement!!!”
 of 5 bubbles samanthas545, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for what you arelooking fof”
 of 5 bubbles ivorw383, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms gave sea views best Ines are those with bay windows”
 of 5 bubbles 664maryw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room with harbour and sea view. Quiet although out of season in terms of possible traffic noise but there was no hotel noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5