We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,111: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I visited this hotel during the summer and was totally disappointed with most aspects of the hotel ie the bathrooms in desperate need of refurbishing plus the shower was hardly working, my fellow travellor on that occasion had a room on the top floor with a fantastic wet room. The decor in my room was shabby, the bedding tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bee19482016
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. Most of our rooms on the third floor have brand new bathrooms and after xmas we are looking at doing even more bathrooms as I am sure you can imagine with the summer months being so busy it would be impossible to start doing these then. Unfortunately we...

Reviewed 13 October 2016

New pine bedroom furniture juxtaposes with the diarreah coloured walls and thread bare carpets. Imagine an experimental Premiere Inn in a post nuclear Chernobyl, but one with a bar that sells Pot Noodles - it's all very confused and depressing. Breakfast - anaemic bacon and fruit slopped into huge metal trays, 'fresh' from the tin. Spa water so cold customers...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Freeminds7
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Freeminds7 Thank you for providing feedback although I find it a little unjust Never have I had my hotel described in this way so this is certainly a first. But you are right we do sell pot noodles and you would be surprised to hear but we actually sell out on those weekly our lovely guests love them after...

ENGLAND
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed at the Ambassador on the 9th October for a birthday treat. The welcome at the hotel was warm an friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had a sea view room which was beautiful, very clean and interior design was fab. The bathroom was a bit small but you don't spend much time in there anyway. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LECTUREREngland
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ambassador Hotel We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and it was our pleasure to have you - I will pass on your kind words to all of my team We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Checked in late afternoon by a lovely young receptionist who also served at the bar.. Our room on the third floor was quirky on two levels with en suite on first level and down a short flight of stairs to the bedroom .. It was well fitted with good size wardrobe and modern wood furniture.. The view from the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn S Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding you recent stay with us We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and was lucky enough to get one of our brand new bathrooms We do hope to see you again sometime in the future Kind Regards

W Yorks
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Our room was on the 3rd floor and was nicely decorated and presented, nice sea view. The pool and sauna were great and we made full use of them. Breakfast was amazing fab choice and plenty of it, disappointed there was no evening restaurant available. Location was alittle bit out for us but we did have a car so not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redtyke987
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with us and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed our amazing free breakfast We do hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards

Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here as we were attending the Rotary Conference at the spa. The location for us was perfect. The hotel we found wasn't really value for money. We had a wet room which although attractive and recently updated, it had no shelf to accommodate toothbrushes or make up! Day 2 we had been left without loo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilsonbez
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Ambassador hotel Your group did have a massive discount so to say it was not value for money is a little disappointing to hear as this does include FREE breakfast FREE parking FREE use of the leisure facilities and FREE wifi as well as amazing...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed last night, Room smelt like a morgue, Was down some steps and not set out very well. went to open window to be greated by walls all around outside, seagull poo all over smelt terrible so had to close window. went out when got back to room was like an oven no air con, was woke up at 1.30am...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BMacChar
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay I am sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay with us and that some of our other lovely guests kept you awake at night. We do have a night porter on throughout the night who would have been more then happy to ask them to keep...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and had pleasant staff very welcoming but the room was very small and extremely over priced we expected a little more but overall we enjoyed it the food was delicious well presented and the dining hall was very clean too

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eleanor S
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor S Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback and the kind words regarding my team I will be sure to pass them on We hope to see you again in the future Kind Regards

Middlesbrough
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night and was very impressed. Arrived early so we could use the pool . Very nice pool area and nice and warm . Reception staff very nice and helpful. Lovely bar area with great views of the harbour. Nice room with comfy bed . Lovely clean hotel . Breakfast was really nice. Will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minicooper59
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and I am very pleased to hear you had such a fantastic stay and you found my team to be helpful to you Thank you for being wonderful guests We can not wait to see you back here in the future Kind Regards

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We visited on a busy weekend, so paid over £120 per night, and no way was it worth it. We had to pay on arrival, which in hindsight was a portent. The bathroom was so small you could't open the door properly as the toilet was in the way, the fancy sink plunger didn't work, there was no spare toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coopalex
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear coopalex Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us although it comes across a little misleading All our guests are asked to pay on check in as its much quicker then queuing on check out when most people are waiting to go about there day - I am sure you can imagine how that would feel...

392 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,139 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
324 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
577 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 km away
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Beiderbecke's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: €67 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms gave sea views best Ines are those with bay windows”
 of 5 bubbles 664maryw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room with harbour and sea view. Quiet although out of season in terms of possible traffic noise but there was no hotel noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea Views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles kathyspeedone, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The corner room with a bay is a preference,if you intend using it.”
 of 5 bubbles PHedar, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 750craige, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay