We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,938 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,928: English reviews
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

This was our 6th visit to Scarborough and the 5th at this hotel. Friendly receptionists on the front desk on arrival and a nice room with a balcony overlooking the sea. A change in chef has made a great positive on the food in the Premier restaurant. We will never tire from visiting this hotel and enjoyed so much the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pickles0522
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear pickles0522 Many thanks for your review. It always gives us great delight to read when one of our customers has had an amazing holiday experience with us and that you will be bringing your friends for a return visit. You are correct we have a new Head Chef in the hotel and continues to work on our new style...

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

i am a regular traveller with national holidays. Hotels they use are usually good but the grand was terrible the holiday rep for national sorted checkin cards quickly we had to collect our keys from reception at 2pm, 3pm still stood waiting as there was only 1 assistant at reception to see to everyone. Hotel front littered with rubbish and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tracy d
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear tracy d Many thanks for your review. Sometimes, due to the unexpected late arrival of tour companies they might be an delay in checking you in to our rooms. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your standards or expectations during your stay with us. We do our upmost to ensure our front entrance is...

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

The stay at the grand was awful from start to finish. We had to que for 1.5 hours just to check in. When we were checking in the room allocated was not what we paid for ( we booked a premier double with spa bath) they had allocated us with just a standard room. So we then had to que...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Kim B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. All of our food is cooked fresh in house daily and our menus are designed to suit the taste of the 600 plus people we cater for each and every day. We will ensure...

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Never again....no window...no wifi/phone signal...no phone in room incase of emergency...fab wkend away but definately not due to the hotel...we got there sat morning about 10.30am n we didnt chk in until mid afternoon and had to stand in a queue for an hour...only gud thing was because of the long delay they gave us and our friends free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sammi2011
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Sammi2011, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that our value for money City (internal) rooms did not meet up your expectations. WIFI is available in all public areas within the hotel, all our corridors contain emergency phones within the hotel. All of our food is designed to meet all tastes and I am sorry that...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

this hotel is running on a shoestring.need more staff and the place needs updating.the staff they have are lovely but are over worked.the rooms need a good refurbishment.they are old fashioned and not inviting.the food was terrible.hospital food is better than this.they couldnt even get a simple breakfast right

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paula D
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Paula D, Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your stay with us. Our team work effortlessly to offer a seamless service. We continue our ongoing refurbishment across the hotel which many fellow travellers have commented on. We do hope you spoke to our team during your...

birmingham
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Arrived on Saturday and waited 1.5 hours to sign in - I was on crutches so had to sit and wait for queue to go down. Room was a premier double - what a waste of money. Bedroom had woodchip painted the colour of a toilet - no pictures on walls, filthy windows (so couldn't see sea view). Room had...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Julia B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Julia B, Many thanks for your review. We are really sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations for your stay with us. Our heating has now been altered for British Summer time as part of commitment to reducing our carbon emissions, all our bedrooms have blankets within them. We will ensure that you feedback is passed...

Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Well - The Grand certainly does (for me anyway) live up to its name. I stayed here a few times in the past and it was in great need of some TLC, but I still loved it. Now it has had a lot of TLC and I love it as always. I'm so pleased that Britannia hotels plc are finally...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MasterCraftsman1
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MasterCraftsman1, Many thanks for your review. It sounds like you had amazing holiday experience with us, we are really pleased you were able to share this. We have an amazing hotel which you found throughout your stay. Thank you again for your great review. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

This place is part of what I've come to call the genre of "icky, sticky, rundown, formerly grand, seaside diva type" hotels. Britain has many of them, and this one is another very typical member of that club. The staff are super-nice, and overall, everything one might want is there - just none of it very straight, or clean, or...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ChrisEbbert
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear ChrisEbbert Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your full expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our customers, both good and bad and we do review this during our regular management meetings within the hotel to ensure we are providing the best possible experience for...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

This was once a grand old lady but time may have caught up with her She was a bit tatty the room basic but bedding was fresh and clean and we did get a jacuzzi which was a surprise We only paid £35 for the room and to be honest it was better than that. It was in the lower...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MarcandLauraB
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MarcandLauraB, Many thanks for review. We are always delighted to read when our customers found our team attentive and made your stay special. Our City rooms offer great value for money and of course you don't hear the seagulls knocking at your window to say "Hello" We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Always wanted to see inside this majestic building. Our son in law is from Essex and as it was his and ours daughter's second wedding aniversary and will soon be my birthday we decided to show him the delights of the Yorkshire coast. The two standard rooms we booked were on offer £55 per room with breakfast instead of £80....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seshenviolet
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Seshenviolet, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your full expectations during your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our customers, both good and bad and we do review this during our regular management meetings within the hotel to ensure we are providing the best possible experience for...

2,047 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1919)
Viewed
Room/Suite (386)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (368)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (881)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,234 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,362 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
763 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €33 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
115 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (115)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors with sea views - quiet and comfortable although small.”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyh497, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Possibly ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Danax4, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont go hear”
 of 5 bubbles 351neild, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room as some of the other rooms are very poky.”
 of 5 bubbles petersC5899YM, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for attic room”
 of 5 bubbles dianasR1890JC, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5