We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6,019: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Hotel Scarborough
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited here twice within two weeks as was already booked. The first stay was ok. The rooms are small but are very clean. They do a buffet dinner so we decided to eat there as we were hungry. Wish we hadn't bothered it was £12.50 each to eat tasteless slop. Absolutely disgusting and such a rip off. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sazmo22
Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stay at this establishment this last week 20-24 March we found the room ok but smelt a little damp. The food was good apart from the last night when they closed half the restaurant and that make queuing frightful. The food was good and plentiful and it is buffet style which suited us if you wanted more you just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel seems to polarise opinion like no other - good and bad in equal numbers. Let's start with the good. The location is excellent with magnificent views from the terrace over South Bay and the harbour. Our en-suite Standard Room was of a decent size with plenty of drawer space, a flat screen tv with remote and tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Neil B Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

room was like a rabbit hutch,terrible.we went and after 2 days we were eating elsewhere,breakfast not to bad BUT evening meals not nice at all.Tinned tomatoes blitzed, they called it tomato soup, soggy this soggy that,eat out.entertainment is pretty good on a night,hotel is in a great location,if you arnt to much bothered about the food then go,but we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terence w
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear terence w Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good start early booking made room not cleaned and much smaller than the one requested so given another much larger and better room so early booking left us an hou later premier dining booked food very overdone and dry especially breakfasts cracking bacon and sausage literally cracking too hard to cut also fried bread felt sorry for the six bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Rita D Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to this magnificent hotel because of an offer of two people for £50 for one night. Now I know why it was cheap. Scarborough is a great place with great people but this hotel is being run by incompetents. 2 hours to check in ??? Rooms were on first look clean but then found a ball of hair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank will t
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear will t Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well here goes again for the Grand hotel review again.I can only give 100% compliments and no complaints.Clean tidy and the staff top notch.From Ann (Hope the chocolate digestives haven't all gone) , Kerien , Lauren , Dale and the room cleaner who just loved to smile everyday to the staff in the Empress bar during the day who never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew D
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Andrew D How lovely for you to leave such a nice review, we do try to ensure all of our customers enjoy their time with us and it is a pleasure to read we did so for you.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hi, i had a wonderful stay at this splendid place per usual- i wonder what the name of your classical lobby music is called please? it's very relaxing and lovely to listen to. Please could you link me to this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaffronFTaylof
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear SaffronFTaylof How lovely for you to leave such a nice review, we do try to ensure all of our customers enjoy their time with us and it is a pleasure to read we did so for you.

York, UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my wife booked a 2 night stay with breakfast and evening meal in a standard double room. This is probably the worst choice we have ever made. The option we chose was very ambiguous and it transpired that the evening meal was included for the first night only but this was not made clear on the offer. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harshman
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear harshma Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading a lot of bad reviews on this hotel we were prepared for the worst, but what we found was it wasn't as bad as we thought for the price!! Our room was 602 on the sixth floor,as it was a turret room we wish we had maybe upgraded to a sea view, as the only view you got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue187048
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear sue187048 Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,276 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,498 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
781 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €40 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor room 602 is a turret room and has only a wall for a view!! Avoid if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles sue187048, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5