We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel Scarborough

PricelineUS$77*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$77*
US$90*
US$77*
US$90*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel Scarborough
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,322: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We had booked a Groupon two night stay, because of some walking disabilities we asked for a room on a lower floor, we were given 3rd floor. Breakfast was included plus dinner on the first night. The Dinner was cold and over cooked, sprouts looked too tired to sit on the plate..... was it any use complaining, we thought not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy f
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

My mother booked to stay here last night with my daughter and granddaughter. On first impression the room seemed a lovely family room. Oh how wrong we were !!!!! The bin in the bathroom had water and blood around it and on closer inspection an absolutely disgusting sanitary product had been left and had leaked all over the floor !!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank SCarter127
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team. Please...

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Just back from a few days at this hotel. Have to agree with a lot of the comments. In our opinion, the staffing was very poor. Just two staff front of house in the Restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Any wage they get has to be hard worked for. One could feel sorry for them, but a few were not...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Shuggycat
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team. Please...

Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

One of the worst hotels we stayed in .it does not cater for disabled people.beds really not comfortable . The room was so small stay not friendly at all one of the worst No toilets in the bar . Have to go down to pool or first floor

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team. Please...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We had a Groupon deal for a 2night B&B stay, a 3 course evening meal, bottle of wine and leisure facilities included. We read the reviews after we had bought the deal and were horrified as to what we might find. When I mentioned the reviews to the Brittannia Hotels booking staff she said that she would make a note...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank castleview63
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

My partner decided to book a two night winter break at The Royal from Saturday 22nd March to Monday 24th March 2015, to celebrate my birthday. Upon arriving at the hotel we were allocated room 116, which, upon first impression, seemed to be a pleasant room, however, when we returned to the room after a walk round town, discovered that...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Johnmoz36
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team. Please...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Worth a stay just for the fantastic stair case.Very good staff, clean and tidy if a little dated and the breakfasts are top notch.Bar prices are reasonable and the lounge entertainment was decent enough.It is part of a group, and having stayed at their Landudno location, I cant believe they are run by the same people. 100% better.My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gonzo1340
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Stained bed linen people slamming doors at all hours of the night a large fan noise outside the room constantly then woken by the fire alarm set off by someone burning toast in the machine for breakfast, Internet connection useless in the bedroom no heating in the bathroom,TV so low down it could not be seen from the bed,chips for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank robert w
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Wakefield ,West Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We had stayed here a few years ago and when we saw the Groupon deal we bought it on impulse. We made our booking and then read the reviews on here. Oh dear what had we done! Well we set off from home in the rain and were very uneasy about whether we would stay or come back in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Christine H
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Just returned from a weekend break in Scarborough....my friend and I stayed at the The Royal we were very impressed by the very friendly staff especially Paula and Wendy who looked after us and kept us well informed of forthcoming entertainment and our meal options....the location was excellent lots of options

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann B
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell

889 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (878)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (415)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,746 reviews
1.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
1.4 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,184 reviews
0.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinpointed at the centre of Scarborough and overlooking the beautiful South Bay, The Royal Hotel is in the perfect location to explore all that this enchanting town has to offer, with its fine sandy beaches only 500 metres away and stunning promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €63 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do stay, try and insist on a room with window. There are too many without!”
LeeT319, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Window rooms”
charles165, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Near the lift if you dont like walking to far to your room”
Sylviabrooks, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Do a deal for a suite overlooking the sea. Otherwise, don't go!”
Banny81, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for a suite and ask for sea view”
meggie1335, 13 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
HotelQuicklyUS$90
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates