We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room

Expedia.comUS$89*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room
 Click to rate
Hull England
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Just come back from a two day break. I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the last five years or so, both with my husband and friends, and have sampled four different rooms. Again we stayed in a deluxe suite the one I call the black and white room. Was made very welcome on checking in shown the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie s
Garforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was our aniversary weekend Friday till Sunday on the way we got a text to give us a key code to get in the back door, opened the door to a dismall staircase leading to our so called deluxe room. There were no bathmats, no bathrobes which was advertised only 1 hand and bath towel, the plug in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarieTrevor
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went for an overnight stay to Scarborough and found this hotel on booking.com We stayed in the deluxe suite and really enjoyed our stay especially with the living room area. Breakfast was included with the room and was great; full English. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful - so glad we stayed here rather than any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
yorkshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed last night at the ivy house was a little concerned about the front of hotel but very quickly dismissed that when we saw our room. We stayed in room 3 it was beautiful very comfortable bed and lovely sea views. Would definitely recommend . Just a couple of points would have liked a bar of soap and the elmise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ByramYorkshire
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we try to provide an excellent stay for all. We will look into why toiletries were not filled for your visit. Thanks

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at 12 noon after a 3 hour drive, we were told we couldn't check into our room until 2pm as the rooms were being cleaned. When we eventually checked in, the room was had not been cleaned properly or if at all, the rug had not been hoovered, dust over all the furniture and carpet.. And no towels. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisg2755
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Correct, we wouldn't let you into your room until check in time which is between 2 and 6 as stated on your booking instructions, this is because the room had not been sorted for your stay as guests only check out at 11, had it been ready of course you could have gone in early. We also gave you the...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided last minute to find an overnight stay and for the location the price we got was excellent. We arrived just before 2 and we were a little bit daunted by the state of the building outside but I have to say the tea room entrance has been refurbished well. We were informed the rooms weren't quite ready but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian C
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We took over the business in July last year and a huge amount has changed for the better, we still have a long way to go and have plans to relocate the kitchen downstairs next year if possible so that will no longer be an issue as we agree that it is far from ideal....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right on the harbour front, with lovely views. Car park is a couple of minutes walk away and costs eight pounds overnight. Our room was a lovely size with separate lounge area, but parts of the hotel could do with some refurbishment as they have become a bit shabby. Good friendly welcome on arrival and in the tea room, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ianeff
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi, Please would you mind getting in touch with us and letting us know about our breakfast menu? We offer everything that can be cooked from a breakfast perspective as well as cereals and yogurts etc etc. Im intrigued on how this can be improved as i feel we offer everything that anyone would want for breakfast so i would...

nottingham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've visited Scarborough several time's and seen this lovely small hotel. So when we decided to go back to Scarborough for an Easter break we were thrilled that they had vacancies. We managed to book a double room overlooking the sea front, it was a lovely spacious room, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carole m
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. 😁

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit Scarborough on our way home . We walked down the seafront and decided the cafe looked nice it was a little chilly and we didn't want to sit out in the cold. We looked at the menu , they could do with replacing an waitress said she was sorry about them . We orders afternoon tea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gothicwax
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again soon. Although I must point out that the scones certainly aren't supermarket bought! 😂

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

right one sea front central to all amenities.room was very nice family room how every got to say some of things do need attention in bathroom toilet roll holder rusty ,shower doors very dirty empty soap containers ,tea coffee tray no sugar or sweetener.but when i told the girl in dinning room these things were put right .also there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
Gary S, Owner at The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room, responded to this review

Hi there, We do keep apologising to people about the parking however on every booking site is does state 'no parking' so it shouldn't come as a shock to people. The reason we get so many guests that keep coming back is because we are a friendly family run business with the best view in scarborough. And for that people...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
52 reviews
1.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#9 of 34 in Scarborough
88 reviews
1.5 km away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
602 reviews
0.6 km away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room

Address: 49 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €56 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Seaham, England, United Kingdom
2 months ago
8 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Ivy House Gastro Tea Room staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“deluxe suite has great views of the harbour”
308susief, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Give the family room a miss”
chrisg2755, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“The suite is a nice room.”
Ianeff, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's a quiet hotel and our room at the front was very quiet.”
carolem316, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nor Room 4”
reedyDurham, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$89
TripAdvisorUS$89
TravelocityUS$90
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates