We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Mountview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mountview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Mountview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Oxford
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Comfortable room. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Good location and base for Scarborough cricket ground and visiting surrounding countryside. Clearly revisited by regulars and not all back just for the cricket.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Room was clean but very small and sink was in room not in en suite. TV far too small for room or should be moved to wall at end of the bed. Room not very warm as heating only came on and off you had no control over heating. We only seen the B & B owner when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jojos994
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. To clarify some of your comments, guests who book online are asked to pay on arrival once they have looked at their room and are happy with it . This is because although you are asked for your card details by the...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The hosts could not have been more charming and welcoming on my arrival. The breakfast was superb especially the scrambled eggs !! It is wonderfully located in a quiet street but very accessible to scarboroughs delights. I thoroughly reccommend this guets house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Hi Tracy Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Graham and Michele

Halifax
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Booked in at The Mountview as a last minute 4 day trip before the close of the Summer school holidays. Located in a nice, quiet area and a 10 minute walk into the town centre. We found it clean and welcoming with a fabulous breakfast which caters for every need. Nothing too much trouble for Graham and Michele. Would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackjet
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Great hosts, very welcoming and friendly. Room was comfortable and very clean, breakfast was wonderful. As we were using it as a base for a few days away, the location was ideal. We would be more than happy to go back if we are in the area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We booked this hotel on the spur of a moment and couldn't have been more satisfied. The hotel is in a good area not noisy, except for seagulls, in easy reach of all facilities beach etc. Michelle, the host, was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms are clean, bed comfy and good shower. If we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnulyatt
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks John for your kind review, its means a lot to us that you had such a nice time, hope to see you again soon , Graham & Michele.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Booked after reading reviews but very disappointed. Room very small and dated, clean but cobwebs above the bed and hairs in the shower. No wardrobe in the room, sink was in the room rather than in the ensuite which isn't great and wasn't stated when booking. Parking is all on road and although its free its busy and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjf82
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

We are surprised you are now stating that you did not enjoy your stay as nothing was mentioned when you were asked if everything had been alright for you. The room you stayed in is one of our most popular with first time stays and our regulars. Our hotel is kept within the Victorian theme so perhaps that’s why you...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Mountview on a lovely sunny August weekend. Lovely small and friendly hotel with a very welcoming feel . It is located in a quiet street with plenty of on street free parking yet is a very short walk to the seafront and the Spa ,where i was attending an event during the weekend. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suethedriver
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you had a great weekend in Scarborough, especially for the rock and roll at the Spa. See you again in February for the Valentine Rock and Roll weekender, Graham & Michele.

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed at the Mountview for the first time in August 2015. Absolutely everything about it was perfect. The location is excellent being just a short walk from the seafront. There is ample free on street parking. Graham and Michelle are the perfect hosts. The breakfast is the best you will ever have in a Bed and Breakfast and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DEJohnson
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review. You stayed in our newly refurbished room 2 and we are glad it and the breakfasts compared favourably with the more expensive hotels. Hope you will both be able to stay again in the future.

Norwich
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Location is five minute walk via lift to the Spa complex on the seafront and a further five minutes walk and you are in the middle of town. A warm welcome on arrival from Michelle the proprietor who explained the way everything works. We were shown to our room which was number two. This was a lovely very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0353

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 km away
The Waves
The Waves
#32 of 184 in Scarborough
51 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay House
Bay House
#47 of 184 in Scarborough
105 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#21 of 184 in Scarborough
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
574 reviews
0.2 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#44 of 184 in Scarborough
208 reviews
0.6 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#46 of 184 in Scarborough
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountview

Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €63 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mountview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite location.”
 of 5 bubbles Pjrails, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 for me and the wife”
 of 5 bubbles bobr340, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the top floor which didn't have wifi, but that didn't bother me.”
 of 5 bubbles Jojojustso, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Various rooms to suit different needs, just ask for your needs/requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles 571joannec, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Our room was No. 1 on the side of the hotel, so quite quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewsC5587DI, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5