We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Headlands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Headlands Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Headlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Just returned from the Headlands after a single nights stop over. Slept in Room 20. Bit of a mixed bag to be honest. Service was good until our departure, breakfast was nice. Unfortunately our bedroom wall was so thin that we were woken up to the sound of Room 21 urinating in his bathroom in the middle of the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dk632016
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to post it. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay wasn't entirely to your satisfaction. We appreciate your comments on the aspects that you did like that are mentioned many times in other reviews such as the cleanliness, breakfast etc. As for your complaint about not getting a...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Made to feel very welcome throughout our holiday. Room had double aspect with lovely views towards Scarborough Castle and North Bay. Our room had a cosy but modern feel and was kept very clean daily. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The standard of the English Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to your personal liking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your superb review and for all the smashing comments, we really do appreciate it. Particularly like the tag line about being small but big on quality because that is exactly what we are striving to achieve. The emails you receive prior to your arrival are a new thing for us this year and many...

Rotherh
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Enjoyed another stay at The Headlands Hotel for the Scarborough Cricket Festival. Hosts very welcoming - nothing too much trouble. Lovely clean hotel and bedroom with tea making facilities and tv. Nice modern ensuite facilities. Good choice at breakfast to set you up for the day. Car parking at hotel and also street parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and for all the smashing comments, it really is most appreciated. It was great to see you again and hopefully we will be seeing you for next years cricket match. Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Hotel is in a perfect location for the north bay with comfortable rooms and a superb breakfast. The bar is cosy and a good atmosphere Provided by friendly hosts. The views are really good and parking is no problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adowde_970896
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for taking the time to post it , we rally do appreciate it. We are so pleased that your stay with us here at The Headlands was a successful one and that you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere which we hope we create. Hopefully it won't be too long before we will...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our first visit to Scarborough was lovely and definitely won't be our last, the Headlands hotel was equally as lovely, wonderful, very welcoming, modern decor and fantastic breakfasts, which were plentiful and well cooked. When we return to Scarborough, The Headlands will definitely be top of our list when we come to book accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your super review and for all the lovely comments, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Scarborough and your stay with us. I know I am a bit biased about my home town but there are certainly worst places to be and with the current...

Reviewed 5 September 2016

The Costello family] Had a one night stay, lovely friendly little hotel, very easy to check in and out, room was clean and tidy, with lots of towels and plenty of hot water, great breakfast with plenty of choice, highly recommend, best wishes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review and for the lovely comments, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the new Alpamare water park. We are hopeful that a lot of guests will come and stay with us because of our proximity to this new attraction. Hopefully it won't be...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The Headlands was a nice place to stay. We had a family room. It was clean and had all you needed.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Near the the beach and at the quite end of Scarborough. . The breakfast was very good At the quite end of Scarborough near to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lhubbe_884074
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review and for taking the time to post it, we really do appreciate it. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you all back here again sometime soon. Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel extremely friendly staff and owners very helpful when wanting to no some were nice to go for dinner. Rooms were tidy beds were comply all in all a fantastic weekend made better by a fantastic hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathlufc90
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for your most excellent review and for all the kind words, it is most appreciated. So pleased that you had a fantastic weekend and it's great that we could help in some small way. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you both back here soon. Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this lovely hotel, Dave & Gill were very friendly and welcoming, showing us where we could park and giving us some fantastic recommendations including Giannis, a fab restaurant where we went for dinner. The hotel was clean & comfortable, breakfast was lovely. Thankyou, we would certainly visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your most excellent review and for the lovely comments, we really do appreciate it and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great to see that you would certainly visit again, we would certainly be delighted to see you. Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had an enjoyable family stay at the headlands. Our room was Immaculate and bathroom was spotless. Friendly helpful owners too. We loved it. Had a really nice breakfast too. Not a bad word to say it was fab.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smithy1181
David G, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and for the taking the time to post it, it is really most appreciated. We are so pleased that your stay was a success and that everything was " fab ". Thank you again and hopefully we will see you all again soon. Kind regards, Dave & Gill.

37 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
782 reviews
0.8 km away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
374 reviews
0.7 km away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
664 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
1.6 km away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star self classified detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €87 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Headlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms had their own charm”
 of 5 bubbles F1359RFfrankb, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any, but the sea view rooms are slightly more advantageous ”
 of 5 bubbles RichardD895, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at front”
 of 5 bubbles janedF8143UV, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 20 if you want a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles dk632016, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Double aspect rooms are great for views.”
 of 5 bubbles 187darrylc, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5