We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Chessington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Chessington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Chessington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 35: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

just returned from the chessington hotel stayed for one night, I would recommend this hotel we stayed in room 2 and had everything we needed coffee, tea, hot chocolate packet of cookies the room was clean and we had garden views, the landlady is very friendly we bought a parking ticket from her for £3 we arrived 12.30ish and the...

Thank stead7
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed here before and wanted to book a front room for 4 nights. The man on the phone was very off in his attitude and wouldn't let me reserve a room at the front. His attitude was "Listen lovey, I'm not prepared to guarantee you a front room if you book as I might get someone who wants...

Thank Sarah N
KateChessington, Manager at The Chessington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, despite not staying with us, I am sorry you didn't get the response from us you wanted, but the reason we have a policy of guests not being able to book a particular room, is because we only have 4 rooms overlooking the front and if we promise a certain...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is an attractive hotel set in a crescent of similar buildings overlooking a small park. It is conveniently placed for the railway station and shopping area and not too far from the beach. My room was pleasantly old fashioned but with all the facilities you need for a couple of overnight stays. The excellent breakfast was freshly cooked to...

2Thank middlechiner
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here March 14-16th weather was not bad, stayed in room 1 which was a little small, but clean and cosy, had everything in it for a weekend stay, shampoo/shower/soap etc., tea/coffee etc., only do B & B but that was very good plenty of choice, fresh cooked to order! Unfortunately no lift so steps to climb, but would still...

1Thank rogedna1966
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been staying here for a few years now and always look forward to coming back. Everyone is really friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable (front rooms have a breath-taking early morning view) and very clean and breakfast is always good and tasty! I look forward to my next visit (pity you are not...

2Thank william s
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed over for one night, the hostess was friendly and the decor was homely and nice, the room itself was good, although not all the tv channels worked. The hotel was clean and tidy and right next to the beach, good selection of restaurants nearby and car parking was fine. The breakfast was delicious, would definitely use again.

2Thank magic_andy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2013

just returned from a weekend stay at the chessington hotel in scarborough, had a lovely stay,weather was good company was good and the hotel was really good.The breakfast was fantastic the room was was really clean and tidy with a really nice view across the park out into the bay and to top it all off the landlady was lovely...

3Thank daryl k
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great family room provided with an intercom service in the evening so the adults could have a few drinks in the bar while the children were safely upstairs. Friendly hosts, great breakfast and fantastic overall experience. Will be back!!!

Thank JintyMcG
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I had a very comfortable stay in this excellently located hotel. Arriving on the train it was a short work to the hotel which was in centrally located and very convenient for the seafront as well. The host provided soya milk in response to my request which was much appreciated.

2Thank Bee J
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned home after a weekend stay with friends. Our room was clean and suited our needs. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and attentative staff.The location is good close to the shops, restaurants and of course the beach. Parking can perhaps be a bit of a problem but other than that a very enjoyable stay.

1Thank Janet S

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (3)
Room/Suite (1)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 km away
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Beiderbecke's Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
401 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
556 reviews
0.2 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Harcourt Place
#19 of 35 in Scarborough
9 reviews
0.3 km away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#101 of 184 in Scarborough
225 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cair Paravel Hotel
The Cair Paravel Hotel
#143 of 184 in Scarborough
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about The Chessington

Address: The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Chessington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top front rooms give best view over park and south bay”
 of 5 bubbles williams510, 14 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the top front have the view downside a lot of stairs, no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles PaddyF965, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Get one at the top!”
  • Bedroom on the top floor
  • The view across The Crescent to the sea
 of 5 bubbles 652richd, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 10 if you want a family room, room 2 or 1 for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles catfriendly_2, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Wake the man up at 3pm and be nice to him.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffS692, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5