We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cumberland Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cumberland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Did not expect to share a table with strangers .not enough waiting on staff so very slow service. stayed in room 213 lovely room spotlessly clean but very heavy old fashioned quilts and very noisy plumbing in the room next door good evening entertainment

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean B
Immingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The reception were very friendly and the room was nice but was let down by the wooden windows what don't keep out the road noise and if slightly left open rattle in the wind.THE WALLS ARE ALSO THIN HEAR A FAIR BIT OF NOISE ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT. Shame as hotel looks nice and clean .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paulwilsonzz
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We visited the Cumberland Hotel again this year and it as improved so much since last time.The outside as been painted and smartened the place up, the service in the Restaurant was first class no wait with quick service and piping hot meals. The entertainment was good with the Friday night singer Joel fantastic.Bedrooms are cleaned each day and are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anthony R
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Very clean. Friendly staff willing to help with all enquiries. Bar staff very friendly/funny with good entertainment every evening. Rooms comfortable with nice en suite. Would request a fan at summer.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire G
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My friend and I were on a trip to Yorkshire and had booked this hotel as we were going to are Wet wet wet in Scarborough. The hotel is a good price, lovely views of Scarborough and well worth a visit. The bar is cheap, the rooms are clean, the staff are efficient and friendly and we had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlexandraSimpson1989
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Not sure what to expect when we realised this was a hotel for coach holidays as they don't usually have a good reputation. But we were pleasantly relieved when we got there. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room tho very clean was a bit dated with dark furniture but the bathroom was very modern and spotless. My...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank v k
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

very clean hotel room 121 was brilliant plenty room. food was also very good with a good choice. entertainment every night was also very good staff wer excellent especially our waiter Robert on table 60 would highly recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol L
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Better than anticipated. Having expected faded elegance was pleased to discover how well maintained this property is. No fancy extras but all you really need in good order. Very efficient at-seat breakfast service and very friendly, helpful staff. Caters predominantly for coach parties and senior citizens but perfectly good for all. Good friendly atmosphere with guests all very happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glen M
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

there was no internet or WiFi but good view and has wheel chair button on the lift and the staff are allays nice to talk to and ask about the ramps and the garden,ther is a nice pool there to. the food is good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chris2pherdoherty007
VeronicaGorman, Guest Relations Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Pleased that the staff and food was good, WIFI is in public areas only. There is NO pool at this hotel.

bedfordshire
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Mr Greg Penzes ask to see him four times over six days at the main desk STAFF say he is never there Just to let him know my room was dirty No loo rolls, no milk, no tea, no way of contacting main desk as NO telephones in room had to walk three floor down and back over three days...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TRUTHBedfordshire
Leisureplex, Customer Care Team at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TRUTHBedfordshire, I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed to find the manager absent from the hotel during your stay. I can confirm that Mr Penzes spends a lot of time in and around the hotel however he is often ‘behind the scenes’ in the office. I am confident that none of the reception staff would have said...

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Double And Single Room (27)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)
Viewed
Triple Room (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
09/06/2017 10/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,745 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.4 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
815 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
424 reviews
0.5 km away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: €77 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Cumberland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better view from the back of the hotel .”
Savage63, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are accessible even for wheelchairs”
paulinebP3400RB, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check facilities before you book”
  • Bedroom
  • Shower
morhafa963, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd floor (friends and my view) were super. Reliable lift.”
doreenc890, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the back of the Hotel have a good view over the Town”
715sheilam, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates