We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Despite the inclement weather, namely the thick fog outside, we were greeted warmly at reception by Louise. Our bedroom was clean, tidy and airy. Noe from Maderia ensured this daily. He also was our efficient waiter every evening. The food was hot, varied and delicious. The entertainment was of a highest standard. Really enjoyable and catered for all tastes. Credit...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Janet B
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janet B what a week we had with the fog! at least it was clearer inland for the excursions. It’s lovely to read your comments about myself and my team I will make sure they all get passed on. I hope to see you again sometime hopefully you’ll have better weather.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings break. We were waiting at our joining point from 7.40 am in the morning for our feeder coach which eventually arrived nearly 2 hours late! The driver just said that he had been given the incorrect route. When we did arrive at Stretton it was to be greeted by dirty looks and rude...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank janus274
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Janus274 you are another guest who had to put up with the fog during your stay and it’s good to see it didn’t dampen your spirits. With regards to the comments you have made about your travel I will ensure these get passed to the correct department at our head office for review. It’s lovely to...

Reviewed 20 September 2014

Hotel room looks tired ... Old TV with 6 channels (we are now in the age of free view) one window that opened. Badly in need of freshening up. Very rushed at meal times ... Wife had plate taken while still eating. Minor issues but needs addressing ...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GarryandSandra
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read you were disappointed with your break. The TV’s are in the process of being replaced with full freeview sets although as you say we still have some rooms with the old style sets. We also have a selection of bedrooms refurbished each year and have the restaurant and reception being done just next week. I hope you...

Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014

I had no high expectations of this hotel.- It was an economy holiday and you get what you pay for. It has a beautiful situation high on the cliffs overlooking North Bay to the front and views of South Bay to the rear. I was on a Shearings 4 night break and it was all that I expected. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barbara F
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara F and thanks for writing your review of the hotel and your break with your friends. Sorry you didn’t enjoy the food as much as you would have hoped our chef does create all his own soups from fresh and it’s nice to see you did enjoy these, we will look at our other menu items to see...

LINCOLNSHIRE
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I wrote the following review last year in August. We returned the same time this year and again it was pretty much the same,except we looked over the North Bay this time.Our bathroom was a good size and had recently been refurbished. The room was clean and towels changed daily, We stayed for a 3 night weekend in August. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SUE24-8
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you return and thanks again for the comments you made. It’s nice you find the hotel homely, we like our guests to feel comfortable and at home when they stay with us. Maybe you won’t wait until next August and we shall see you sooner.

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My wife and I stopped this bank holiday week - end had a great time weather was hot food good put on 5ibs very good entertainment made lots of new friends won at the bingo,Staff were all great see you soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tonet2414
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It’s so good to hear you had a great Bank Holiday Weekend with us, it makes a change to have some good weather as you can almost guarantee rain when you have an extra day off! The staff were so pleased to read your comments too and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a bedroom that seemed like a relic from the past. Old fashioned television which only received a few channels, scruffy decor and a shower that only dribbled water and then was only just Luke warm. Breakfast is only served until 9.00 am even on Sundays so no rest there unless you wanted to forgo breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Susie2167
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and observations about your recent stay. You may have read in past replies we continually refurbish a selection of rooms each year replacing televisions with fully available freeview sets as we go. We are also planned to have the restaurant and reception area refurbished in a few weeks time. Our location...

Solihull
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in this place as part of a walking group for a long weekend. I had a single room, which was small but it had everything I needed; comfortable bed, plenty of storage, TV, tea and coffee and a roomy ensuite. Our package included room, breakfast and a three course dinner with coffee. The food was more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colette M
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colette and thanks for your review. Having chatted to some members of your group it was evident that a good time was had by all and you picked a really good weekend for all your walking. I do hope we can welcome you all back in the future maybe I could join you on one of your treks .

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This trip was booked via shearings coach holidays, I was a single lady travelling with a couple. First off I was charged a single room supplement as well as a Sea view supplement even though i didn't ask for a sea view. The Hotel and room was Scruffy and in a general state of disrepair, Food was very disappointing and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank pingman1958
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your break with us pingman 1958. We are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and have a selection refurbished each year. Our restaurant and reception area are also going to be refurbished later this year. I will make sure all of your comments are passed on to the team and...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was of a poor standard.. Breakfast. tomato never grilled. just half a wet tomato. today 15th august, sausage was raw. Evg. meals. main ingredient seemed to be seemed to be gravy, and more gravy. Thursday 14th. Aug. Meal was disgusting.supposed to be chef's signature meal of chicken and ham pie. cold as was the vegs. Ate a little and...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank david h
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hello David h sorry to read you were so disappointed by the food at the hotel. This will be raised with the Chef and kitchen team. Thank you for taking the time to write.

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,144 reviews
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
375 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
4.6 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: €35 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms have a sea view and has been refurbished ,I saw some friends stayed in and all good 216 had poor water pressure in shower”
 of 5 bubbles usatmattlyn, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room is not over the ballroom or disco! Friends were kept awake until 3am.”
 of 5 bubbles A8557HZpatriciah, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We paid £21 each extra for a sea view. Well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Chrismar50, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“look at a few rooms”
 of 5 bubbles peterthfc, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 202 on the second floor, was very quite and over looks the bay”
 of 5 bubbles margaretbuck, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay